Futurism logo

Stranger than fiction

The truth is often more profound than anything you can make up.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Stranger than fiction
Photo by 金 运 on Unsplash

It all started with a $20.00 bill in March of 2004. My husband and I decided to walk to a hardware store that was about a mile away and stop at the nearby McDonalds on the way home. When we got there I realized that I was missing a $20.00 bill. I had put the money in my coat pocket because when I’m walking I don’t want to carry a handbag. I was distraught and my spouse pointed out that I should have put a change purse in my coat pocket.

As we were heading back home we came to a hillside about a block from our house. It was a grassy area near some new townhouses. At the top of the hill I saw something moving in the wind and when we got closer I realized it was my $20.00. It was being blown around but was not blown away but. I was. I was amazed that no one else found it because neighborhood children were always walking in this area. We had been gone for at least 40 minutes so I counted this as Divine intervention and Supernatural favor.

By 金 运 on Unsplash

Shortly after becoming a licensed/ordained minister in 2009 I was asked to perform a wedding. I decided to only charge the couple $20.00. When I showed up at their apartment they were not home and I never heard from them. I told my husband and brother that God would see that I got my $20.00 and later that night He did. I was walking back to my car from a convenience store and found a $20.00 bill near the gas pump. One Sunday I was broke and my youngest son asked for a big bag of potato chips that cost $3.50. I reasoned to myself that any adult should be able to purchase a $3.00 bag of chips but I could not. I prayed for a way and as I was walking to my car I found $5.00 on the sidewalk. I gave thanks then bought those chips for my son.

Once when I lived in an apartment complex, I had a strong inner feeling at 8:50 AM that I should walk down to the newspaper box which was next to the row of mail boxes. When I got there I saw a $5.00 bill on the ground. I found dollar bills randomly while living at this address. On two other occasions, one when I was in the downtown area of the city where Inlive and the other when I was at a convenience store I looked down and found $20.00 bills on the sidewalk as I was walking back to my vehicle. Each time Infelt like I did as a child when real prizes were inside a box of Cracker Jacks.

One morning in 2011 I felt led to walk to the local Sheetz at 7:30 AM. On my way home I was at an intersection waiting for a light to change when I heard one word in my spurit, “Tribune”. People call their inner voice different things and I was raised that it’s the Holy Spirit talking. At this time I wrote for a local paper The Roanoke Tribune and received a free subscription. I knew the convenience store just up the hill opened at 8 and they sold the Tribune. I walked up to the store which had just opened and encountered one man exiting the building. I walked into vet to the rack where the newspapers were sold and a$20.00 bill was on top.

By Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

One Sunday I was heading to Wendy’s and I said to my Higher Powrr that it had been a long time since I’ve found a $20.00 bill. I was about to pull up to the drive through as I usually do when I suddenly felt led to go inside. I’m standing in the line looking out the window when my eye catches 3 items on the ground. They looked like pieces of paper but I was not sure because of how far away I was. I felt compelled to check them out and Inleft the line and went outside. As I got closer I noticed that the middle item looked like it might be money and I reached down to find it was a $20.00 bill.

About a year ago I was praying and mentioned that Inhaf never found any money on my walks in a particular area. Over the years I have found $1.00 bills and fives on the floor of various stores. I once found a 10 near a gas pump. I cannot begin to say how much change I’ve found lying on the ground over the years. This is why I was frustrated to not have found a dime in this particular area where I walked frequently. A few days later I was taking my afternoon walk and found a $20.00 bill on the ground. They say truth is stranger than fiction and sometimes you can’t explain the unexplained except to take it by faith. At times some things must be accepted as is.

religion
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.