Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 30

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

A few more years passed.

Security hadn't lightened, but they soon were invisible to us unless someone was in trouble, the most inappropriate incident being a male student pleasuring himself in the square.

I continued to do my own thing, attending classes and spending time with old and new friends.

Kade and I worked through some of our differences. We still had a ways to go, but progress was progress, no matter how long it took.

Elys and I discovered a few more perks of our Gemini bond, one being our synergetic strength grew with physical contact. We figured out hand holding was the easiest way to do it.

Another was I could communicate with other members of his pack, leading me to meet them.

At first, they were weary of my presence, but I was accepted quickly enough, learning a great deal more about gargoyles, such as their ability to have more than two alphas in their packs.

Taryn also became a more permanent member of our group, much to the dismay of her dreamwalker buddies. She didn't seem to care though. Maybe she was tired of their judgmental attitudes. About damn time.

And for the most part, I was happy with my presence life and had moved passed what happened to me.

Except for one thing.

Tarek decided not to return to the Academy, no explanation, no goodbyes, just disappeared.

After Owen announced it, I went to the arena and unleashed all my emotions on the simulated opponents, unable to let my shadows loose.

My heart ached over his choice. I couldn't even bring myself to be angry anymore. I understood completely.

But no more relationships until after I graduated.

"Kaelum to Kyrell." Fingers snapped in my face. "You with me?"

I blinked, "Sorry, mind wandered."

Gabe leaned back. "You do that a lot."

I shrugged, "Only when I have time to think."

"Well, you must have plenty of time to think then."

I chuckled. "I guess so."

Like me, Gabe had been deep affected by the incident, although for different reasons, but he slowly worked through it and was almost the same person I first met a few years ago.

The incident ultimately drew us closer as friends, one silver lining.

Watching students walk by us, we enjoyed our time off, eating our lunch. The other members of our friend group weren't so lucky. I only felt slightly bad.

Solara was kinder to us today, although we both wore long sleeve shirts and pants. Even my Gemini bond with Elys couldn't protect me from my worst enemy-sunburn.

"To be fair, aren't we encouraged to think for ourselves?" I sipped my kona, grinning.

Gabe shook his head, "Not when you're thinking about him."

"Is my face that obvious?"

"Yes."

I blushed a little, "You have slip ups too."

Gabe opened his mouth, but people started running to the main gate. What the divine? What was happening?

We shared a glance, then migrated with the crowd. I tried figuring out what the commotion was about, but no one answered me.

Gabe behind me, I pushed past the bodies until the sight made me freeze, my friend gasping by my ear.

Glorious as ever, Tarek stood by the gate in his training clothes, clearly waiting for someone.

Was this a dream? Was I hallucinating? He didn't look at me. If anything, he seemed to be avoiding my gaze, ignoring the commotion caused by his sudden appearance.

What a jerk, pretending I didn't exist. I suppressed a growl, all the anger I'd forgotten surging to the surface.

"Holy divine," Gabe sighed, "he actually came back."

I turned my head, a lump in my throat. "Yeah, it's terrific."

"So you're mad?"

"Oh, I'm way past mad, my friend." I wanted to punch Tarek in his attractive face. "I need to leave."

Gabe followed me as I fought my way out of the sea of angels, their presence suffocating.

How dare he! Did he really believe he could just show up and pretend everything was normal? Well, Tarek was in for a world of shock and hurt.

I stormed to the vacant training arena, grabbing my whip. I turned on the sims, immediately taking them down. Gabe held a sword, back to back with me as we fought together.

"You don't need to be here."

"I am leaving you alone right now."

"Why not?"

"I don't trust your thought process." He sliced through a sim. "And neither Elys or Kade are here, so I am."

"I appreciate your concern, but I'm an adult."

"No one's arguing that."

Finishing the simulation, sweat rolled down my face and I panted for air. Although I shook and my heart pounded, some of the red dissipated from my vision.

"You done with your tantrum?"

"For now." But there no way in hell Tarek wouldn't answer for what he did to me.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.