Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, Chapter 27

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Sitting in the auditorium was something else, waiting for Owen to show. I'd never seen so many students, or angels for that matter, gathered in one place.

It almost overwhelmed me, keeping my arms crossed to created a semblance of personal space, the air growing hotter by the minute.

Luckily, Elys and Wren sat next to me, keeping a few away from our group with their mere postures. Taryn and Gabe sat behind us, saying nothing, while Kade sat in the row in front of us.

I hadn't seen either Ry'anne or Tarek for the last few days, although no one had attended class, as the instructor list was changing and having an influx of newcomers.

Not to mention they were probably grounded or something along those lines. And yet I wasn't.

At least it gave me time to mentally prepare myself for being taught by Merah Sereday.

I'd read some the file Owen sent me, and it was something else. No wonder Maeve protested her arrival.

I glanced up, seeing Joanna, Maeve, and a couple other instructors standing at the back of the stage. No one looked comfortable, but my combat teacher frowned, unusual for her.

I supposed I wouldn't be happy if my mother decided to teach at the Academy either.

'How much longer do you think we'll be sitting here?' Taryn asked through the group mind-link she hadn't disconnected.

I turned my head, 'You tell me.'

'They like making us wait,' Kade sighed, 'So annoying'

Wren growled, bouncing her leg.

Elys reached across me, placing his hand on it. She relaxed slightly as they eyed each other. Must be using their pack-link to communicate.

I leaned back, my Gemini's body heat touching my stomach. I released some of the tension within my body. He was the only reason any of this was bearable, his steadfast emotions calming. A true leader.

Ry'anne bound on stage, standing with her fellow reps behind the instructors. She looked no worse for wear, posture proud.

Still no Tarek though. Should I be worried? It was unlike him to ditch anything. I exhaled. No, he was fine. He had to be.

Then Owen finally showed, walking to the center of the stage.

the entire auditorium fell silent. Amazing how one person carried so much power and presence with them.

"Greetings, Academy students," his voice boomed, "since most of you have never met me, I am Headmaster Owen, and I'm in charge of this institution."

Gasps and shocked expressions made me smirk.

"I have called this assembly because we've had a rather disturbing incident with several students."

I gripped the arm rests.

Owen dove into what happened, leaving names out. Why would he do that? Seemed an odd move for an angel who couldn't lie. And the Academy didn't create much privacy for anyone outside their sleeping quarters.

Nevertheless, several students I shared classes with eyed me. I ignored their gazes. Wasn't their business anyway, or else Owen would have said my name already.

"We have taken appropriate actions, so rest assured, you are all safe." Owen crossed his arms behind his back. "You are all dismissed."

Maeve raised a brow, glancing to the side, but kept her mouth shut as people began leaving.

And still no sign of Tarek.

I quickly stood, breaking Elys' grip from Wren.

"Why the rush?" Taryn tapped my shoulder.

"I don't like being here."

"People are irritating."

Elys rose slowly. 'No one's gonna hurt you.'

'That's not what I'm worried about.'

Kade faced us as we slowly migrated to the aisle, but not me. What emotions did he sense?

I turned my head, Gabe's body language defeated. He'd barely spoken since everything occurred. I didn't blame him.

Kade rubbed his chest, eyes watering. Did no one else notice this? Kade broke away, rubbing his eyes. Hmm, would I enjoy being an empath when it happened?

Others kept staring at me while I made me way outside. Great, it was my first few days at the Academy all over again. How frustrating. I gritted my teeth together.

"Don't worry, we got you." Wren wrapped an arm around me.

I smiled down at her. "Thank you."

"That's what friends are for."

"Yes they are."

She snarled at a couple students, who scurried off quickly. I snickered. At least I wasn't alone this time, nodding to my group, even Ry'anne, who stood on stage still.

Yes, I would be okay.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.