Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 25

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

After what felt like hours sitting in one spot as we were individually interviewed, then all the cult members together, my attackers finally emerge from the headmaster's office, guards hauling them away.

Maybelle shot one last death glare at me before disappearing. Like it was my fault her brain didn't function correctly.

One guard lifted Lyra off the floor, carrying her away. I hoped she received the help she needed, but didn't see a future friendship. The damage was already done.

I stood as the headmaster entered the lobby again, maintaining level breathing. What was he going to say?

My group surrounded me, even Kade partially blocked me from view. I scoffed quietly. What a complicated relationship we had. One moment, he would pummel me, the next making sure no one touched me.

He smirked, "None of you students are in trouble."

I swallowed, glancing at Ry'anne and Tarek, who kept stoic expressions. What did that mean for them?

Only Wren relaxed, resting both hands on her hips, "So, what do you want from us?"

"To make sure my students and faculty are alright." His body language opened. "Your mental and emotional wellbeing is my top priority."

Taryn raised a brow, "What about physical?"

"That is what your instructors are supposed to teach you." He paced a little. "But mental and emotion health are trickier and harder to heal."

Guess he had a point.

"So what now?" I peered around my ba. "We can't exactly pretend this didn't happen."

"Which is why I'm hold an assembly as soon as possible." The headmaster crossed his arms behind his back.

My stomach twisted. No, I would not be exposed like that! Nobody needed to know what happened.

The headmaster waved his hand. "I wasn't going to give names."

"Stop hearing my thoughts!"

"If only I could."

Taryn approached him. "You're using a device to counteract the dampeners."

"Indeed."

She narrowed her gray eyes. "I'd say it's unfair, but you need that candor magic." she backed away. "I'm impressed."

Kade rolled his eyes.

"But you are excused except for my workers and you, Kyrell."

Uh oh. "Okay."

Both Elys and Kade lingered a few moments before exiting the lobby.

"Owen, I-"

The headmaster raised a hand. "I'll get to you, Tarek, but I will speak with Ry'anne first."

She straightened, trailing him back into his office. How much trouble was she in? She had kept that cult group a secret.

Tarek faced me, "He's not pleased about us."

"Yeah, I figured."

"But I don't care of he thinks." He quickly pressed his mouth against mine. "I care about you too much."

"So romantic."

"I have my moments."

I smiled, "I care about you too."

"I would hope."

I rolled my eyes, smirking. At least he had a sense of humor still, feeling good to laugh about something.

Within minutes, Ry'anne stepped out, body language tense.

"What happened?"

She looked at me, "Don't worry, I'm not fired or anything, just got a stern lecture about keeping secrets."

"That's a relief."

Ry'anne's mouth curved, "Thank you."

Tarek grabbed my arm, dragging me back into the office, Headmaster Owen eyeing us. "So, what am I going to do with you two?"

I said nothing.

"Clearly, this relationship is a conflict of interest." he tapped his chin. "However, I do have a solution that will benefit everyone."

"What would that be?" Tarek bit out.

Owen chuckled, "I'm bringing another weapons instructor to lighten your load, and to match with Mr. Nyght's ability to learn."

True, I watched Tarek's struggle to keep up with me. "Who is it?"

"Merah Sereday."

Tarek held back a laugh. "Maeve's gonna love this."

"She already knows."

I pressed my lips together.

I wasn't sure how to feel about it. But as Maeve's ma, I would give her a chance. After all, Merah Sereday was one of Khysfyre's fiercest warriors.

"Your new schedule will be sent to you tonight." Owen leaned on his desk.

I nodded, having nothing to say as I walked out alone, leaving them to discuss things over.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.