Futurism logo

Shadow Academy, chapter 14

The Nyght Tales, book 1

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Hours later, I sat in my room, on the edge of the bed with my head in my hands. Gabe had invited me for our nightly flight, but I politely turned him down. I needed some time alone.

What Maeve said zoomed around in my mind still, my stomach churning and chest heavy.

It wasn't my fault I had it easy growing up. Ma always made sure I had everything, even doing the work I knew I should have. It wasn't easy convincing her I had to do it.

Like with the Academy.

Although an angel wasn't required to go to the Academy, you were awarded with knowledge, independence, respect, and you learned how to think for yourself.

It was why I begged Ma to give me her blessing, which had a daunting task. She did all she could to keep me from leaving, even bribing me with tutors, which I refused.

Va, on the other hand, had practically shoved me out the door.

I chuckled lowly. Va had always been there for me, but allowed me to fail and learn for myself. For that, I was forever grateful.

After all, I had great friends I could count on, something I would've missed out on if I'd stayed at home.

A knock on the door pulled me to the present.

Sitting up, I walked to the door, pressing the button which opened it, blinking when I saw who it was. "Hello."

Tarek lifted his head. "May I come in?"

I stepped to the side. "What are you doing here?"

"Well this is my building too." He walked in, arms behind his back. "I wanted to check on you."

"Why?"

"Because you are my student."

I narrowed my eyes, not believing he didn't possess ulterior motives. "Physically, I'm fine."

"Your physical wellbeing wasn't what I was concerned about." Tarek crossed his arms. "Maeve really got to you, didn't she?"

"Well of course she did!" I fisted my hair. "I've lived a privileged life before here, while people like Elys, Lyra, my brother, even you had to struggle."

"Yes, being a half blood isn't easy, but I wouldn't trade it for anything."

"I saw your reaction earlier!"

"Never said it didn't hurt not having a House because neither family wants me, but I'd rather be alone and my true self than with people and hide aspects of who I am."

I opened my mouth, but nothing came out.

"You're not the only one who's felt this way here." Tarek smirked, "Kalen had a similar wake up call when we were here as students."

"Really?"

"Yes, although he was a lot like Lyra in many ways, he was much more narrow minded when we first met than her."

I shook my head, "What?"

"Kalen was a nameless until he married Seyler." He laughed. "I never understood that pairing."

I stumbled a bit. Neither one had told me that. Although now that I thought about it, Va never talked about his House. Explained a lot about my childhood.

Tarek lifted a brow, "And I assume you didn't know until now."

"No clue."

Tarek stepped closer, my stomach feeling fluttery. "You will be all the wiser for this experience."

I swallowed, my heart speeding up. "I guess."

"But that isn't the only reason why I came here."

I remained silent, not trusting my brain and mouth to be on the same page.

"I like you, Kyrell, and I know you feel the same." His hand moved up to my face.

I didn't move, watching him closely. "You do?"

Tarek nodded, "I wasn't looking for this, but there's something about you that pulls me in."

It took all my strength to keep from leaning in, secretly enjoying his warmer touch. "But I'm a student."

"There's no rule preventing us being together."

"Why not?"

Tarek made a strange expression, but didn't pull away.

"I mean, this is a school."

He smirked, "You've never liked anyone before." It wasn't a question.

"No, and it freaks me out."

"Because I'm male?"

"What, no, that has nothing to do with it." I wiped my palms on my pants, noting the change of blood flow down there. "I just don't how to handle it."

"We can go slow."

I relaxed a little. "Why now?"

"Hmm?"

"I've been here for several years, why tell me now?"

Tarek pulled his hand down. "I wanted to be sure."

I let my head nod, both relieved and disappointed when he backed away. "Okay, I suppose slow is best."

Tarek grinned, then left me in my room alone, the door closing behind him.

My legs gave out and I fell back onto my bed, keeping my breathing deep and even as I stared at the ceiling. What did I just agree to?

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.