Futurism logo

Plutus Playground

This short story about a mysterious nobody who receives an even more mysterious package will begin to make you question: How far are you willing to go for money?

By People! Just say Something!Published 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Today, someone left a strange box on my doormat. Encased in black cellophane with rings of duct tape binding it all together, this peculiar package looked challenging to open. At first, I was excited, I loved getting deliveries, but the more I thought about the details, the more suspicious I became. Questioning its origins made me hesitant to bring the abandoned package inside. I couldn’t recall actually purchasing anything that would serve as an explanation. Being estranged from my family and having not made any meaningful connections with another human in recent years led me to guess that this was not some pleasant, surprise gift. I decided to bring it inside; standing in the cold wasn’t going to answer any of my questions. The package itself was no bigger than a footstool, but whatever it was, it wasn’t light!

I hauled the parcel into the centre of my crumbling living room. After fetching a pair of old scissors, I started tearing into the cellophane, cutting through the thick silver tape until I eventually unwrapped a white metal box. A little black book sat on the lid framed in duct tape. The word ‘Welcome’ was imprinted on its cover in gaudy, silver lettering. I quickly realised that the more I uncovered, the stranger the whole situation became. I ripped the book off the box and tore away the remaining tape before flipping open its first page.

Greetings.

You have been selected to participate in Plutus Playground, a high-stakes survival game with a grand prize of $500,000,000 cash.

The aim of Plutus Playground is to complete every task within this notebook successfully.

Enclosed in the accompanying box is precisely $20,000 cash–

I paused and re-read the third line. Was this little book being serious? I wondered, glancing from the page to the box in front of me. Cautiously flipping the latch open, I peeked inside. Sure enough, there were stacks of tens, twenties, and one-hundred-dollar bills lining the inside of the box. I threw back the lid to reveal the money in its entirety! I never thought I would see so much cash in one go, it was more than I made in a year, and for whatever reason, it had just been given to me? Baffled by the bizarre income, I returned to the book for an explanation.

–such would be used by you if you choose to compete.

So it wasn’t just some generous gift; they were paying for expenses. I questioned what I would be doing that would cost this much.

Plutus Playground is organised annually by a private, independently funded psychological research company that use this game to examine differing perseverance levels between various individuals. All data collected is confidential and is immediately erased upon the game’s end.

We researchers would communicate to you through this handbook, a highly advanced digital device we developed that can display the content of millions of documents, books and show messages between other handbooks. Tasks would be assigned one by one; we would reveal your next task on a new page as you complete the last, but only if it is completed to our satisfaction.

The whole situation had gotten beyond dubious; now it was down-right sketchy. I kept looking back at the cash stacked inside that oversized moneybox, thinking about all the things I could do with it. Looking around my cramped living room surrounded by peeling wallpaper and its series of damps patches, I considered what would happen if I just kept the twenty grand. This seemed more realistic since the money was sat right there, but then my greed started to imagine life with $500,000,000; I would never have to work a day in my life again. Life could be simply exciting. No need to worry about being chased by debt collectors or even paying my bills! I could buy a place anywhere in the world and just live peacefully, and no one would know who I was. Everything would be perfect again.

Suddenly the game had become much more enticing. How difficult could it be to complete a series of tasks? From what I gathered, the candidate with the highest level of perseverance would win. I just needed to stick it out until everyone else failed. It sounded straightforward enough, so with my curiosity peaked, I turned to the next page.

Before the main event, you would complete a series of simple exercises which help us gather data on the type of individual you are. From there, we would personalise each task to best fit you. These tasks are designed to challenge your mental capacity and push you to persevere, gradually getting more complicated and challenging to complete at a satisfactory quality.

As these tasks become riskier, you would have to do your best to avoid drawing attention to yourself; this includes law enforcement. Plutus Playground is a clandestine event that exists outside of conventional society for the sake of scientific discovery.

If you find yourself the winner of Plutus Playground, the grand prize would be delivered within the same day. Previous winners of Plutus’s Playground have gone on to enjoy life to its fullest, using the prize money to invest in themselves, start their own businesses, even going as far as funding their own foreign aid for poverty-stricken, war-torn countries around the world. Few have used their fortune to rise to fame, but many prefer to remain anonymous.

I wasn’t sure how to feel in this situation; a part of me thought this was all one big elaborate prank, while another part was shaking with adrenaline; this was one of the most obscurely exciting things that had ever happened to me. Because if this was a real event, it was an illegal one. Their little handbook literally stated that they didn’t want the police to get involved! But whatever this company’s aim was, they didn’t seem like they were too smart giving out $20,000 to random people. What stopped people from running away with the money? I continued onto the next page, and as if it knew what I was wondering, it gave me an explanation.

Before committing to this opportunity, you are advised of the following:

- The accompanying $20,000 is to cover the expenses you may encounter along this game; there would also be tasks that require a certain sum of money to complete. If the money is used for your own gain or spent outside of Plutus Playground needs, you would be eliminated

- You are entitled to deny this invitation to Plutus Playground. However, once the opportunity is accepted, you cannot bow out; tasks are expected to be fulfilled until researchers deem the participants incapable of completing the game to satisfaction.

- Refrain from disclosing your involvement in the game to non-participating civilians; outside involvement can potentially threaten the outcome of the game; if this occurs, involved participants would be eliminated.

- Refrain from seeking outside contact with researchers once the game begins; if unauthorised contact is made, involved participants would be eliminated.

So, if this was a real invitation to participate in an illegal orienteering tournament, what were the consequences? What would happen if I got caught with this crazy amount of cash but no reasonable explanation of where it came from? Maybe I could try bribing the police with it? Would that count as an expense? Countless questions were running through my brain simultaneously. I groaned and put the handbook down. Was I actually considering accepting this freaky invitation? It would undoubtedly bring a bit of spice to my life, some abnormal energy to rip me away from my disgustingly mundane everyday. I needed more information, so I searched for the next page of the handbook.

To accept your place in Plutus Playground, text your first name, followed by the number sequence: 023, to 555-9251-334.

To deny your place in Plutus Playground, text ‘DENIED’, and the number sequence: 023, to 555-9251-335, then store this handbook inside the box with the $20,000 in its entirety and return the parcel to the location you found it.

That was it?! I flicked through the remaining pages, but they were all blank. That was all they were going to show me of their fancy little handbook until I accepted the invitation! These researchers seemed incredibly cocky to think that someone they chose to invite wouldn’t just report this whole ordeal to the police. I didn’t know if that was what I was going to do quite yet, but there was a chance. I just wanted a little more information; maybe I was looking for the one thing that would convince me to take this chance.

“Give me some more details at least!” I groaned to the little handbook out of frustration. I don’t know what I expected from my outburst, but nothing happened. I clapped the handbook closed and tossed it into the money box amongst the neat stacks. “You really can’t tell me anything else?!” I sigh and lean back against the seat of my sofa, staring at the ceiling. Suddenly I hear a notification ping and pull my phone from my pocket—no new notifications. Then what was that? I looked over the top of my phone to where the handbook lay on a toppled tower of tens. The silver typography on the cover of the book had changed and now read ‘New Message,’ but in the same curly font. I tucked my phone back in my pocket and reached for the little handbook again. I flicked through the first couple of pages to see new text had suddenly developed on a new page.

Congratulations on discovering the verbal command feature of the Chremylos Digital Handbook; we can provide additional information that may help sway your decision:

This thing was listening to me now?! Maybe my privacy was at risk for letting such an advanced piece of technology in my house; it could probably log into my computer and phone. These freaky researchers could be collecting my search history, gathering blackmail material if I refuse to compete in their little game. Getting caught for my mistakes was one thing, but having to relive the shame and humiliation again was something I definitely wanted to avoid. I figured that this had made up my mind: I would deny them. I couldn’t risk it. What could they even offer me to change my mind?

If you win Plutus Playground, all legal infringements are expunged from every existing record worldwide, including infractions occurring before the game begins.

They were offering me a ‘Get of out Jail Free’ card if I won. As if nothing ever happened. All of a sudden, my skin prickled with excitement; I had a chance to escape the things I’ve tried so hard to forget: immunity and money sounded like a much more enticing deal. This could be my chance to start my life over. All for completing a few tasks for some secretive scientists. I hesitated for a moment before searching for my phone. I circled back a page to the contact numbers and re-read their instructions. I held my phone up beside the handbook, typing in the number with clammy fingertips. Hovering over the ‘Send’ button, I took a short breath and pressed it. The message sent, holding my breath as if waiting for something to happen. The seconds passed, and I let out a pressured sigh. Then I heard a familiar ping of a notification. Looking back to the handbook, the pages had turned blank. I flicked back and forth through the book before finding a single line of text on the first page.

Welcome to Plutus Playground, Cairo.

literature
1

About the Creator

People! Just say Something!

Quirky Writing created by Artistic Creativity and the power of AI with the goal of learning something new every day!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PeopleJSS

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PeopleJSS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.