Futurism logo

Little Black Book

An inspirational short story about the magic of writing

By Bohemian BirdPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Little Black Book
Photo by Eugene Chystiakov on Unsplash

It was dangerously cold. Too cold to be outside long for anyone, but I didn’t care. Being at my wits end, the chill didn’t bother me. Strolling through the woods always soothed my mind, and I was no stranger to pushing the limits.

Trudging through the trees, I couldn’t help but determine my life was nothing like what I envisioned it would be. I felt stuck, underappreciated, and a slave to the system.

How did I let myself get here? I promised myself I would never end up like all the sad, longing, and broken-spirited adults I saw as a child, but here I was. Feeling the walls close in and the shackles weigh down my soul.

The familiar path was beginning to tighten and fade out. I was almost there. Just a little farther.

My breath was visible in front of my face. I could feel the redness on my cheeks and nose. I stepped over a broad fallen tree and braced my feet against the rocks as I descended towards a frozen river. Grabbing random rubble and roots for support, I reached the bottom, taking a moment to catch my breath.

A smile crept across my lips. Just around the bend and I would be there. My secret spot.

As I rounded the corner, I stopped in shock, and my smile vanished as my eyes took in the sight of a small black object sitting on my boulder.

Rage swarmed through my mind. Someone had been here!? Someone had found my spot! I couldn’t even enjoy a secret spot!

I let out a defeated sigh and slunk over to the rock. Surprisingly, the small black object was a notebook. It looked brand new. How strange. I picked it up and as soon as I did, everything seemed to freeze for a moment. It felt as if the entire forest was holding its breath, watching me. I looked around to see if anything or anyone was.

Nothing.

I turned my attention back to the book. It was velvety to the touch and felt warm, as if it was alive. I opened the front to discover enchanting handwriting. I was never much for writing because of my scatterbrained thoughts and undesirable penmanship, but this script was captivating, crisp, and confident.

Follow through with what you write and you will have the means to make your dreams a reality…

Huh?

What a cheesy intro for a notebook. Thumbing through the rest of the lined pages, it was like nothing I had ever felt before. The empty spaces seemed to encourage me to mark them up.

Before I knew it, my legs were taking me back home. My depression lifted, and I had a drive once again.

I reached the front door of my tiny apartment with the notebook in hand and quickly slipped through the door. I flicked on the lights and glided over to the dining room table and plopped down.

For the first time in a long time, I wanted to write. I needed to write, but what should I write? Grasping my most treasured and under-used pen, I opened the book to its first blank page.

I took a hefty breath and reminded myself to stop getting in my own way.

Taking inspiration from the note in the front of the book, I filled it with a plan for manifesting my deepest desires and wishes.

The page seemed to welcome my vision, and the pen flowed with ease across the embracing surface.

Before I knew it my dreams of a better life had taken up nearly the entire book.

I reread what I had filled the lines with, and my eyes swelled with tears as my chest grew tense. The way the text took up space, I could see how much I yearned for the words to become my reality.

I filled my narrative with love, adventure, creativity, nature, magic, and human connection.

Everything I had written would require so much time, focus, and courage.

Was I capable of manifesting any of those qualities?

I harnessed and utilized them in my youth, but as I became aware of the harsh realities of the world around me, and what it truly meant to be an adult, those fires had diminished.

Although, seeing the personally crafted symbols on the page gave me a newfound power and realization.

If I was going to live my best life, then I had to rediscover those characteristics and bring my dreams to fruition.

“I am going to do all of this!” I proudly proclaimed to myself, “I will follow through and I will make my dreams a reality!”

I let out a thrilled giggle as this newfound determination and power overwhelmed my brain. The elation was intoxicating. I could feel my mind and body become committed to the new adventure.

Clutching the book, I realized it had become hot to the touch, and it was glowing!?

I released it to the table as it shuddered and flew open! From beginning to end, the pages pulsed and fluttered. It rested for a moment then with a final heave it erupted with small slim pieces of green paper bursting out between the marked pages.

One slip came to rest between my feet. I picked it up and couldn’t believe what I was holding in my hand. Benjamin himself was smirking back at me.

“What!?”

My jaw dropped as I watched the cascade of bills in complete disbelief. Finally, the shower came to an end and the exhausted journal closed itself with a solid thud.

I was completely surrounded by hundred-dollar bills.

Slowly, the shock ceased, and my senses came to me. I began gathering and counting. $1,000. $2,000. $3,000. $4,000. $5,000… and so on until finally I had all the bills in twenty piles. Each totaling $1,000.

This book just gave birth to $20,000!!!

Gawking at the wealth filling my living room, I came to the unique realization that I literally now had the means to make my dreams a reality. The only thing that could get in the way was me.

That was some time ago, but the experience is still fresh in my mind to this day. Now, I am traveling this fascinating world with the love of my life, discovering adventure at every turn. Immersing ourselves in nature and exploring the magic of creativity every single day. All the while spreading positivity wherever we can. All thanks to that wonderful little black book that found its way into my life in the most unexpected way.

I no longer have that same little black book. However, it taught me something vital.

To write every single day even though money doesn’t come flying out at me. I suspect that little notebook has found another soul to bless the same way. Someone ready and willing to write for the better, and inspired by the same influential message inscribed in the front...

Follow through with what you write and you will have the means to make your dreams a reality.

fantasy
1

About the Creator

Bohemian Bird

I create here and there.. 2D and 3D forms.. Ultimately, I am striving to enjoy my existence here in this garden of earthly delights & hopefully I can inject some satisfaction for others as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.