Futurism logo

How Sci-Fi and Fantasy Have Gotten Me Through the Pandemic

Because Sometimes Reality is a Little Too Dystopian

By sleepy draftsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
13
How Sci-Fi and Fantasy Have Gotten Me Through the Pandemic
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Life has been looking like my favorite dystopian novel, lately - and that is not something I am particularly stoked about.

Once upon a time, my favorite sci-fi was the kind that paralleled life - I liked seeing the scripted ways things could go wrong, and the planned-out methods that the characters survived by. There was a sense of comfort knowing that the evil on-screen, or within the pages of a book, were not the same evils waiting outside my door.

That is why, as of 2020, I needed a different kind of sci-fi.

I needed to plunge into a world that looked nothing like my own, even if just for an hour.

I remembered the way I used to pour over Young Adult (YA) novels as a teenager. When the world got to be too much, there was always some romantic, fantastical world I could escape to.

I wasn't exactly ready to dive back into my Twilight days (although, I still might!)

I did, however, need a hit of nostalgia, sci-fi, and fantasy.

So, I threw on Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Trailer, No Spoilers

Buffy came out in 1996 - the same year I was born. The special effects, outfits, and lingo place you in a different world, beyond the supernatural creatures.

The costume and make-up choices within Buffy the Vampire Slayer are incredibly fun and detailed. Reportedly, "getting into vamp-mode (...) took about an hour and twenty minutes" in the make-up room. The amount of time and dedication committed to making these vampires as creepy as possible is admirable.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 1, Episode 1

More than anything, though, when I watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer, I am reminded that I am stronger than my fear. No matter what might be waiting out there, I remember what is important: being brave in the face of evil, protecting each other, and always asking questions about the world around us.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer hasn't been the only sci-fi/fantasy series getting me through this time, though.

Now, I may not have reached for Twilight just yet, but I did flip on The Vampire Diaries.

The Vampire Diaries - Season 1 Trailer, No Spoilers

It might sound silly, but I initially put this show on because I remembered how much I liked the set. When I was younger I would watch the show and use the image of the tidy rooms to motivate myself to clean.

After a bought of especially bad depression, I decided to try this method out, once again.

Although the sight of clean rooms did motivate me to do some dishes, I found myself absolutely engrossed in the supernatural town of Mystic Falls.

Contained in this town were horrific, otherworldly acts of devastation - but there was also the power of humanity.

Even when things get rough, I remember that it is always better to feel through the pain.

Caring about each other and the world around us is what allows us to connect with one another.

When we try to outrun our emotions, we never win.

The Vampire Diaries gave me a place to experience the full range of emotional catharsis within the confines of a completely supernatural world.

The world I got lost in wasn't real, but the emotions I let out certainly were.

While being in lockdown, we've all experienced an emotional rollercoaster. In Ontario, we are still in full lockdown as of May 2021 - after so long in isolation it can be easy to lose sight of who we are.

As I continued through my list of sci-fi and fantasy series, I finally threw on iZombie.

iZombie is the show that reminds me, that who we truly are, shines through, no matter what.

iZombie - Season 1 Trailer, No Spoilers (1 minute 40s long)

Even when our protagonist, Liv is under the influence of someone else's brain, she remains the same compassionate, resourceful, and creative character we know.

Sometimes we can get lost in the cycle of our own versions of ourselves. It is important to remember that the person you love is still there, underneath it all.

This show will keep you guessing, laughing, and crying all the way to the very end.

Fans of Veronica Mars will appreciate the extra layer of V Mars easter eggs that are within iZombie, as well. The creator, Rob Thomas is the mastermind behind both Veronica Mars and iZombie - the many crossovers and references between the two shows are a true delight for fellow "marshmallows."

Because at the end of the day, don't we all have a squishy little center? If we didn't, then parts of life wouldn't be so hard - if we didn't have compassion, we couldn't appreciate the loss. If we didn't care about the world we live in, we couldn't inspire change within it.

Our vulnerability is what makes us strong.

Give someone you love a phone call, write your best friend a letter, or do something kind for your partner or housemate. These tasks might be more difficult than others some days, but they will remind you of the beauty that is being human.

We may never be supernatural hunters, vampires, or zombies - but that doesn't mean we are any less capable of magic.

By Vero Photoart on Unsplash

Note from the Author

Thank you for reading my article! I appreciate you taking the time to consider my words. If you enjoyed this article, you can let me know by adding a "heart," or by reaching out to me on Instagram at @emkeels or on Twitter at @sleepydrafts!

If you want to support my writing, check out my author profile for more articles, thoughts, and short stories. Tips are never an obligation, however, they are always deeply appreciated!

Thank you again for your support. I hope this piece made your day a little brighter.

scifi tv
13

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.