Futurism logo

From Me to You

If this, meaning everything else, then why not Anime

By Jasmine S.Published 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Adult Swim, do you remember, because I sure do. Late nights sneaking to the living room, dead at night while the world is sleeping, to catch my favorite anime movie or episode. Heart racing, hands clammy, the television turned to the lowest volume possible so as not to wake my mom. If I’m caught being up so late on a school night, extra chores would have been the least of my worries.

Every individual, unbeknownst to them at the time, their first introduction to their favorite genre of music, movie, book and everything in between, starts at a young age. For me, my love for anime started with a visit to my father’s, at the time of my sisters and my arrival, Dragon Ball Z was playing, also known as DBZ. Imagine my surprise at seeing something so different from what I was used to. The scene, I would later come to know as one of the most iconic battles throughout DBZ, Goku vs Frieza, Goku’s first transformation into a Super Saiyan, the catalyst, the death of his childhood friend.

As a child I didn’t grasp the significance of the moment, the grief (which I assumed was anger) displayed to solidify such an event. It wasn’t until years later as a pre-teen did I fully understand the emotion and how the two incidents were linked. The point, that one afternoon, that fifteen-minute glimpse I received had an impact, it stuck with me into adulthood and my love for anime has not dwindled in the slightest. But as adults, we all know life can get in the way of things we love.

For me, with a child and a full-time job, it is difficult to find the time to sit back and enjoy a good series or movie. Still, any spare moment that I have, even if I only watch one episode a day or the first fifteen minutes into a movie. Hence, there is a shortlist of recommendations that I think you might enjoy watching and have stayed with me over the years

Here are five anime you might consider:

1. Akira 1988 (Based on the manga of the same name) 2h 6m

Akira, Image from Pinterest

Though this anime was before my time and the graphics were not as crisp and sharp as they are today or even when I watched it years ago, it was different. Set in a post-apocalyptic world with limited modern conveniences, the main character Kaneda sets out to help his childhood (Tetsuo) friend after a motorcycle accident that lands him in the hands of the government. As featured in most apocalyptic stories, there is hardly any law and barely has a governmental entity. In this case, the government is fully functional but allows lawlessness and violence to run rampant. As the basis of the story revolves around one friend striving to save the other, there are action, emotional, informative and enlightening scenes that touch on the human psyche.

Warning: This is very graphic, a heavy amount of gore and blood, so if you have a tender stomach, this one might not be for you.

2. Princess Mononoke 1997, 2h 14m by Hayao Miyazaki

Princess Mononoke, Image from Pinterest

The main protagonist, Ashitaka, is the last prince of his tribe, after sustaining an injury, known to his village as incurable, he is banished from his home forever, never to return. His travels lead him to a remote settlement, where he meets the perceived antagonist, whose goal is to capture the god of the forest. This propels the story forward, man vs forest vs gods ensues. This was a cinematic masterpiece and the highest-grossing film of its time. Though the film is action-packed, a love interest is established, however, expect heavy emphasis in this regard.

Warning: While graphic, this is no Akira (as mentioned previously).

Note: Hayao Miyazaki has numerous outstanding movies under his belt, I recommend checking those out as well.

3. Wolf's Rain (1 Season, 26 Episodes) 2003

Wolf's Rain, Image from Zerochan

Kiba, a lone wolf on the hunt for ‘Paradise’, along the way he picks up three stragglers. All with their own backstories (which are touched on throughout the series) and circumstances that lead them to be at the same place to meet Kiba. Just so you aren’t under the impression that you will be following the story of actual wolves, which they are, but they have the ability to appear human to the general population who are ignorant of their existence. Along the way, you will encounter determination, resilience, the will to live, depression, hope and the loss of all hope and of course action. Though slow-paced, it doesn’t distract from the progression of the story.

4. The Garden of Words, 2013, by Makoto Shinkai

The Garden of Words, Image from The Odd Apple

A 46-minute film, so detailed and vibrant, I haven’t seen any other anime drawn so meticulously before that factor will catch your action and the story will keep it. Takao Akizuki, a 15-year-old aspiring shoemaker, routinely plays hooky to design shoes. On one of his excursions he encounters an older woman, she also skips work due to emotional reasons. Takao fully opens up to her while she in turn only shares her company. We learn both characters are exhibiting feelings of loneliness in their respective lives, but eventfully without meaning to, helps each other to move forward. If you are looking for something quick nut meaningful this would be the story for you.

5. A Silent Voice 2016, 2h 10m

A Silent Voice, Image from Zerochan

Shoya Ishida, during his youth, bullied a deaf girl to the extent that she suffered injuries and had to move away. Expecting support from his friends, instead, the tables were turned, later bullied and ostracized him. Years later in high school, he seeks redemption for his past actions, reconciles with past friends, sheds his bleak outlook on life, develops a new one and mends past wounds, internally and externally. Personally, I didn’t expect this one to touch intense feelings while I watched it, but boy did I cry, I hope you're ready for all the feelings that go along with watching.

Warning: Depictions of suicide, depression and bullying.

So, there you have it, five animes that I've constantly thought about or go back to watch. You might even be thinking that a few of these are pretty heavy in the graphic department, however contrary to what is depicted, these anime are packed with elements that hit deep on an emotional level, at least for me anyway. Maybe a few may work for you, in regard to adventure, fight scenes, or any other element you might perceive while watching.

I have found that Japanese anime films are packed with a lot of components that are missing from other movies being put out lately. A lot of people, I’ve come to understand, don't give anime a chance because what could they possibly have to offer? Thus, anime I feel does not get the recognition it deserves. I hope my list helps to break that barrier.

I have found that Japanese anime films are packed with a lot of components that are missing from other movies being put out lately. A vast majority of people, I’ve come to understand, don't give anime a chance, because what could they possibly have to offer? Thus, anime I feel does not get the recognition it deserves. I hope my list helps to break that barrier.

With that spirit in mind here are a few honorable mentions to add to your list;

Escaflowne, 2000, 1h 50m/The Vision of Escaflowne (Series), 1996

.hack//Sign (Series), 2002 - If you're familiar with SAO, this would be the anime for you.

The Secret World of Arrietty, 2010, 1h 35m

Big Fish & Begonia, 2016, 1h 40m

Flavors of Youth, 2018, 1h 15m

anime
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine S.

Born: The Bahamas, Grand Bahama

Trying my hand at short stories, I always liked to read but never thought I could write stories. It's never too late to start. I appreciate any reads or comments.

Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.