Futurism logo

Everything Will Change

Chapter 9

By Kate GraftonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Everything Will Change
Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

Vixok led Karen to his office and offered her a drink of water. Karen sat quietly, staring at Vixok. The silence lingered for a minute more until Vixok was the first to speak.

“You seem troubled.” Vixok stated.

“I don’t know who you are,” Karen said sternly.

“I assure I mean you no harm.”

“I will need proof until I can trust you.”

Vixok smiled kindly at Karen.

“I will prove to you that I am an ally,” Vixok spoke confidently, “I know you are a mutant, and only one man knows how to create mutants.”

“Zark.” Karen growled.

“Precisely!”

“How do you know him?”

Vixok stood up and walked to the door.

“Come with me, please.”

Karen slowly got up and followed Vixok outside. They could see the tall grass sway in the wind. The wind blew through Karen’s hair and she purred with content.

“Many years ago, Zark lived on Turnog. Me and Nerok knew him when we were children.” Vixok explained kindly.

“You grew up with him then.” Karen stated.

“He is my brother, as is Nerok.”

Karen’s face changed from curiosity to shock. Vixok smiled weakly and the thought of his past.

“So you are my enemy!” Karen growled.

“No, I am not. Zark took a dark path, and no one else would follow.”

“You stand against your own brother?”

“Zark has always been fascinated with genetics, and some believe it drove him insane over the years.”

“He is a cruel man.” she stated.

“He wasn’t always so cruel. He is the eldest of us all, and Nerok the youngest. He was always so protective of Nerok. You couldn’t tell by looking at him, but Nerok once had a condition that limited his energy. If he overspent his energy, he would risk his heart bursting.”

“Sounds awful.” Karen said softly.

“It never stopped Nerok from exploring the world. It was Zark who could not stand that his little brother was plagued by this condition. That was when he started researching genetics. He wanted to cure Nerok permanently. Without telling anyone, Zark experimented on Nerok to cure him.”

“Nerok is a mutant then.”

“Indeed. He has been given the ability to come back to life after a brief moment of death. I believe you Earthlings have a creature you call a phoenix.”

“It’s mythological on Earth. I think it would be amazing if such a creature lived on Earth.” Karen smiled lightly.

“Nerok is immortal, thanks to Zark. When our family learned of his experimentation, they banished Zark and he has been at war ever since. He wants an army to destroy and conquer any who oppose him.”

“He has an army, and even after the mutation process he still tortures them.”

“I know you are immortal too. Nerok found you out in the plains amidst a destroyed spacecraft.”

“It’s my curse.” Karen growled.

“Karen, it is no curse. It is a gift, you just need to use it positively. However, if you truly see it as a curse, we have a cure for mutations. It will restore you to a normal Earthling.”

“How do you even know I’m from Earth?”

“I visited there once, many years ago. It is quite mesmerizing there. However, the Earthlings themselves are rather rude. There are some that are kind to aliens. I have a few allies there.”

“You are just full of surprises aren’t you?” Karen asked.

“We are simply learning about one another, Karen. I am your ally and I do wish to help you fight against Zark. He must pay for his crimes against the universe. Few are brave enough to stand against him, but you have stood your ground against him. I believe that if we team up, we can end this once and for all. No more innocent lives tortured for his amusement.”

“I will take it under consideration.” Karen said.

She walked away, but hesitated for a moment.

“Take all the time you need, Karen. I will await your response.” Vixok spoke.

Karen continued walking down the corridor.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Kate Grafton

I love writing poetry and fantasy stories. In high school I wrote my first novella and continue to write more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.