Futurism logo

Discover My Digital Art

Relaxing with fractals

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 2 years ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
7
Discover My Digital Art
Photo by sergio medina on Unsplash

Last year, I came across Amecylia Digital’s blog and fell in love with fractals.

I knew fractals existed but they had never really caught my attention before.

On the spot, I decided that I would challenge myself and learn to make my own fractals. After some research, I came across Apophysis, an open source fractal flame editor that was recommended by many members of the fractal designing community because of its easy learning curve.

(Apophysis is free, by the way! You can check it out here.)

Fractals: A Short Introduction

Fractals (from latin ‘fractus’, meaning “broken” or “fractured”) are patterns that repeat for ever. The word was coined by mathematician Benoit Mandelbrot in 1975.

Fractals are all around us, especially in nature. They are used in computers, math, 3D modeling, etc. The most common fractal is the Mandelbrot set.

Fractals are beautiful and so relaxing to look at! Creating them is a magical experience as well.

Examples of Fractals

When it comes to describing complex images or abstract concepts, language is often limited. I can neither draw nor paint; and as much as I love photography, a camera can only do so much. It cannot capture things that do not exist.

With fractals, I am now able to manifest many of the images that my mind conjures up.

So far, I have designed dozens of fractals and would like to share a few examples with you.

Space by Cendrine Marrouat

Little Worlds by Cendrine Marrouat

Dream by Cendrine Marrouat

Rose by Cendrine Marrouat

Like every other artist, a fractalist has his or her own style that becomes recognizable after a while. After more than six months creating fractals, I see an unmistakable pattern in mine: space, stars and galaxies. It’s very similar to the way I used to write poetry before taking my long break from it and starting my own literary forms.

Tipping Point: My Fractal-Based Project

Last year, I started talking about my passion for fractals with several of my online friends. When I showed them a few of my designs, they encouraged me to make them available online. They also decided to try and make their own!

Now, a few months later, I have seen what they are capable of. Honestly, they creativity blows me away! I am also pretty sure that they are more knowledgeable about Apophysis than I am!

A little while ago, while discussing the current events in the Ukraine, I felt the urge to re-read an old poem of mine, titled "Monologue VII". I turned the piece into a video, which I then published on Vocal.

The poem led to more interesting discussions with people from all walks of life. And of course, the topic of Ukraine came up again.

As an artist, I have always felt that it was important to leverage my skills to trigger awareness. So, I thought: "Why not use fractals and poetry together to create an inspirational project?" Tipping Point was born shortly after.

Tipping Point is a mini-exhibit and a conversation on war and its impact on the world. It is my hope that my images and words will inspire you to do your part, no matter where you are, to ensure that the world becomes a better place.

Here is an extract:

Silence: A Vardhaku – Cendrine Marrouat

Here,

among the grass,

we lie like wilted petals

with our hearts spread open and unbeating—

yet, fire does not burn us any longer.

©2022 Cendrine Marrouat

Interested in checking out the Tipping Point Exhibit? Visit the link below.

(Important links are included.)

That's it for today!

Thank you for reading this post. I hope you enjoyed it.

May I interest you in one of my books?

art
7

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.