Futurism logo

Danger in His Eyes

Just Another Dream

By PaigePublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Danger in His Eyes
Photo by Natalia Tabarez on Unsplash

I was lost in a maze. This was not your typical, grassy hedge maze or building full of winding corridors and staircases. This was like an outdoor fun house or circus type place. Maybe a family fun center type area that you take your kids to, with the ropes and different types of obstacle courses they can jump around and climb. I wandered through doorways and up hills, through tunnels and hatches. It was a very brightly, fun colored place on a bright, comfortable day. A lot of reds and yellows and neon greens all around.I would pass by the random person every now and then as they also made their way through the paths. I didn't feel scared but had a sense of concern and determination. I felt as though I needed to find something. I didn't know what exactly I was looking for but whatever it was, it felt important, so I continued to wander.

After what seemed like forever, I came to a large opening in the middle of all the chaotic twists and turns. All of the paths seemed to lead to this area with what looked like open tents and tables and such. And there were many people gathered in this opening. They crowded about towards the outer edge of the circle, talking or just standing around in groups. I walked around watching and stopped by a smaller group of people and asked what exactly was going on. They couldn't answer. They seemed just as confused as me, though less concerned. Then I asked if they knew where the thing that I was looking for was. They didn't know that either, nor what it was I was even looking for. It didn't help that I couldn't explain it well either.

Suddenly, a tall man seemed to appear out of thin air in the middle of the circle we were gathered in. He walked about confidently, standing tall and proud, speaking loudly about something to everyone around. I was so busy asking others about my own confusion and problems to make out or even pay attention to what he was saying. The person I was talking to at the moment pointed him out and told me to look at him or ask him. As I turned, I was a bit frightened at what I saw. The man was much taller than me and thin. He had a darker complexion and was wearing a black shirt, jeans, and a solid black top hat. He might remind one of a more modern day, real life Facilier, but with a not as deep voice. Which would be odd to see but seeing as we were in some kind of circus maze, I suppose it fit the aesthetic. His hair was short and dark, barely visible under the hat. But what stood out the most about this man, and absolutely shook me to my core, were his eyes.

I hadn't noticed at first. I struggle with making eye contact with most people but after focusing on him for a moment his gaze drew my attention. The whites of his eyes were solid black and his irises where a blazing golden, orange-ish red. It was as if he had burning coals for eyes. He looked straight at me and approached, stopping only a couple feet away. He gave a slight smirk and reached out his hand as if he wanted me to take it. I did not. I simply watched him, untrustingly, my eyes not leaving his. I didn't want to be anywhere near him, but I didn't have the urge to run. I just stood there. No one else around us seemed to be bothered or even noticed anything was wrong. The last thing I remember before waking up, was the feeling of dread as his gaze burned through me and he kept his "inviting" stance.

I may never truly know what he wanted or what I was searching for. But I know life is always going to have those inviting moments I need to ignore so as to not fall into a worse position or fate. I will continue to search and continue to watch others, always cautious of anyone's intentions.

opinion
1

About the Creator

Paige

💖Trying to turn dreams into a reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.