Futurism logo

Closed Doors: Part Deux

L.A. Moore

By L.A. Moore - NashPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was aroused faintly at first by tinkling bells. Then the noise grew louder and louder as I came to. I finally opened my eyes only a slit.

Then, as I saw what was making the noise, I opened my eyes wider. It was faeries. They were giggling at me. I looked down at my body quickly and saw nothing out of place. Nothing was out of the ordinary... Except I was not wearing hardly any clothing at all.

The gremlin crawled up to me with something tucked under one arm. It stared at me for a moment, then put down his stick. It moved to grab the thing under its arm to hold it up to me. I suppose it was for measuring purposes because then it said in that raspy voice, "Put on now. Queen coming."

I did. After I was done, I looked down, and I was barely covered in what seemed to be leaves, moss, and other kinds of plant material. Then after a turnaround, I realized where I was. I was still in the forest; only it was much brighter now. It was just barely night when we had entered the forest. Why was it so bright now? Even stranger, things seemed to be a bit bigger in this part of the forest. Maybe it was supposed to be like that?

I went over to a giant oak tree and stared at it for a while. I moved around it several times to get a better understanding of this glen I was in. I do not remember anything. I stepped back and fell over into a stream near the giant oak tree. The moss on the floor was soft and slightly damp. I hurried back out of the water and pushed up against a hardened surface, and found myself up against a guard fully clothed in some armor. I stood up and looked straight into the helmet and was met by a face. Then it spoke. "My lady, if you wish, I will take my helmet off so you may see me better."

In absolute awe, I shook my head up and down in agreement that he should do so. And when he did, my jaw dropped. He was gorgeous. He had dark hair, almost black. The elf stared at me in confusion. His jaw was square and firm like a father's jaw when they get in a fatherly way. His eyebrows were soft. Lips full and kissable. Not that I would... For all I knew, he was a human-eating elf.

At that very thought, at that moment, he laughed in a loud low tone. And I saw his teeth and looked away, turning redder than I had wanted to in my life. This man was not going to eat me.

The gremlin came and tugged on my faery-issued clothing and pointed me back to where I had awoken.

The Queen had arrived in the glen where I had awoken and motioned me forward. 'Come here, my child. Do you know why you are here?'

I shook my head 'No' as I was in awe of her voice which sounded exactly like light tinkling bells on the wind. She was almost excruciatingly tall as I had to arch my head back to look her squarely in the face when she spoke. I was slightly deaf and had to do this.

She bent down closer to me as if she read my mind so I could hear her better. She then picked me up and cradled me as she walked through the forest and spoke to me loud enough for only me to hear. Or maybe she was saying these things in my mind as I did not see her lips move.

I spoke in my mind to test it, and she smiled at me when I did.

"Why am I here?"

She spoke to me quickly and gracefully, saying each word in precise articulation.

"I have asked Grendolor to bring you back here for protection, my child. You see, he was protecting you from a terrible fate behind your closed door."

I sat silently in her arms and listened.

"Behind that closed door was going to be your untimely death. So, I have brought you here to live with the rest of the Fae Folk and me. We've known you for an exceptionally long time now, and I wish you to know us."

And with that, we vanished behind the misty veil beyond the fae wood where I will never grow old, hunger, and never be hurt. "As it should be," said Dianthe.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

L.A. Moore - Nash

Mom of two great small people.

https://lamoorenash.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.