Futurism logo

Bel Air Baby

"I still kept the pieces"

By Rose DovePublished about a year ago 3 min read
5
Image sourced from web

Bel Air is hot tonight. I couldn’t tell you how many days it’s been, after the global pandemic, law and order collapsed, parliament was on fire and the world that we once knew turned into a dystopia. The future was bleak and man-kind was ceasing to exist. Covid had evolved, and the vaccines that were feverishly created to eradicate it were now deemed useless.

Among the eerie echoes of the sirens, I could see the palm trees softly swaying in the light from my hotel balcony, I wondered if you had been home. I had returned to Bel Air in hopes of seeing you one last time. However that just seems so long ago now.

What was only meant to be two week quarantine had suddenly turned into four weeks, and then proceeded to one month and then finally a total lockdown. This was when the city began to fall, and mankind began to rebel. I can still hear the screams and the gun fire.

CDC roam what’s left of the dystopian streets in bio-hazard suites. They’re usually seen dragging behind them a feral diseased creature who once used to be a functioning member of society. That person looks more alien than man now, where the person’s nose and mouth used to be, now looked like a flesh colored surgical face mask had morphed in with their skin. And when they spoke, nothing but a muffled gurgling sound was heard.

Image sourced from web

The dark clouds in the morning sky casted a tinge of grey over its surroundings as I stood out the front of your gate. The stone gargoyle perched on the top looking down at me as though telling me to wait. But I didn't want to wait.

I pushed the little hidden knot at the base of the silver Initial and watched the gate come alive as it slowly opened for me. I began running like mad down your drive way, passing the now old and broken fountain in the center. It felt as though the pathway itself were never ending. The already long driveway seemed to get longer and longer, pushing me further and further away from your door.

The days went by slowly without you; my days seemed to be filled with nothing but sorrow and darkness, rage and hatred all written in blood on the walls of my mind.

If covid didn’t kill me first, my own mind would. Despite crushing up my pills to take my thoughts away, I was convinced that these feelings were waiting to evolve into something much sinister. Like a bully taunting its victim, it enjoys making the weak feel this way and wants to make it last for as long as it can before striking.

Image sourced from web

I’ve become a different person, I know that. I’m no longer that bright and charming girl you once loved. My eyes no longer sparkled like sapphires, those same eyes that always seemed to make you melt when you looked into them, now they just seem lifeless. Like an empty vessel.

Was that why we had both overdosed on our rage, turning it into some kind of violent love that no one will ever know but us? And even though you ripped that golden heart-shaped locket from my neck, I still kept the pieces.

I’m clutching them in my hand now as I write this to you, not knowing if you’re still alive or where you are, and not knowing if this letter will make any sense.

I know this will not reach you, but I write this in hopes that it might. I don’t have long left in this world, I’m destined for a foreign place now, and I hope that I can come back one day to tell you that I’m okay….

fantasyfuturefact or fictionscience fiction
5

About the Creator

Rose Dove

𝐿𝒾𝒻𝑒 𝐼𝓂𝒾𝓉𝒶𝓉𝑒𝓈 𝒜𝓇𝓉; a curation of personal pieces and poems that carry glimpses into my past and present.

🖤🪬

IG: @thehausofdove

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

Rose Dove is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.