Futurism logo

Being Taurean'ish

Change averse, stubborn and tending towards the possessive? Not a sunny side this bull recognises.

By Tammy WakefordPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
1
@thatvirgomoon

Each star sign, or sun sign as it's often referred to, is said to have its blend of positive and negative traits. Each a collective, overall summary of the expected characteristics of all born under that time of the year. Nobody likes to identify with the grubby bits; always easier, reassuring even, to see yourself reflected in the happier, nicer, much more acceptable adjectives.

ATYPICALLY TAUREAN

As far as being a Taurus girl goes, I’d decline stubborn yet embrace tenacious; snub possessive while wholeheartedly embracing the connotations the word loyal brings; although cooking is not a favourite pastime, I most certainly enjoy the sensual pleasure of eating food. Each may be a slightly nuanced version of the other. Depends from which angle you’re choosing to look at it.

"They tend to be characterized by warmth, kindness and generosity."

https://www.starslikeyou.com.au/your-astrology-profile/the-sun-in-taurus/

Even so, as much as I can relate to some descriptions of what a Taurean is supposed to be, others read like a stranger, like someone else I know. My close friend has never seen me as a Taurus. You’re far too adaptable for that. I once walked into a mystical shop – you know the type: incense, wind chimes, books on the occult – the guy behind the counter asked me what star sign I was, while I paid for my books. I did not have you down as a Taurean he said. That frank analysis has never left me, and I can often see, or feel, exactly what he meant.

Us bulls are said to be practically plodding, unforgiving home makers who are good with finances and keeping plants alive. Nope. Not this one. I’m more often to be found existing on some abstract realm, being far too forgiving than is ever good for me, while killing off the so called 'easiest plant to grow’. I warn friends against ever gifting me plants and when it comes to financial speak la la la la la. As much as I love my home, as a sanctuary in which to recharge my batteries, I see it much more as an expression than a nest; a springboard rather than a cave; an extension of a story, rather than the bricks and mortar a Taurean would be banking on.

LIBRA ON THE HORIZON

Many moons ago, when I first became curious by astrology, I caught onto the idea that although we may be born under the same sun sign, we cannot all be the same, as our place and time of birth would be different. I learnt about positions, houses, aspects and how each of these influence each other and our response, approach and experience of the world around us. As a consequence of this exploration, I had my birth chart done and discovered front of house is the rising sign, or the ascendant; which for me is sitting in the balanced sign of Libra.

"They have charming smiles, a gentle approach with others, and an easygoing image."

https://cafeastrology.com/libra_ascendantrisingsign.html

I liken the ascendant to our ‘meet and greet’ persona. I always say there’s the side we present to the world and the side we keep for ourselves. There’s the part of us you’ll see when we first meet each other but the real us will begin to emerge only once we truly begin to relax. Often the two can seem at odds with each other. Yet for some of us, it makes sense that there’s a time and place for each intricate facet of our personalities and, ultimately, our souls to be revealed.

I expect when you first meet me I’ll come across as friendly, gentle and I have dimples in my cheeks. This expresses my Libra ascendant just right it seems. I always wear perfume, enjoy decorating my home and love nothing better than hosting a themed house party – after all the Libra is known to be, or at least aspiring to be, the perfect host. Yet that socially superficial side I’ll present is not necessarily the whole me, the private me, the me you’ll eventually get to know and understand after a time. That’s of course where my moon sign kicks in.

THAT VIRGO MOON

Lunar energy presents itself at night. It is the darkness, the shadow side; the side rarely seen. It is intricate and shy. It lingers on the subconscious, seeping out in emotion, in instinct, in reaction. Its expression is raw, real, when we have no need to remain hidden. Either an unencumbered gift to be nurtured or as an unrestrained truth, seeping from the depths of that which holds real value. Perhaps it is the moon that represents us really; if only during moments when we are free to be ourselves.

"Virgo likes to cut through the noise and get to the good stuff"

https://www.tarot.com/astrology/planets/moon-in-virgo

Let’s not beat around the bush and let’s strive to make this the best it can be. Improvement motivates me. With this tendency to want perfection in my personal life, I can come across as overly analytical, at times intense; I recognise this in myself and it is always something I am working with. It’s simply that I need integrity; both in myself and in others. Let’s not waste each others time. In return you’ll get genuine intention and my absolute devotion.

I’ll use my intuition to see the finer detail in a situation; often reading between the lines and noticing much more than the run of the mill. Give me a puzzle and I’m like a dog with a bone. Give me a tantalising concept and I can explore it to extremes. Always striving for mental clarity, I’ll be hard on myself until I get it right or until it makes sense.

In combination with other chart placements, I see a little bit of myself in both my Libra Ascendant and Taurus Sun. Even so, when we get down to the nitty gritty, it’s the lunar energy that feels to be more of a fit to me. As I’ve learnt more and more about astrology over the years, I can see this pattern is prominent too in the people I meet; with their moon sign representing much more of what I learn about them, the longer I've known them. For this, I would tend to look here each and every time, if I wanted to get a sneaky insight into what makes a person really tick or perhaps what it is I'm really getting myself into.

Originally written for the 'In the Stars' challenge 2021. ©

astronomy
1

About the Creator

Tammy Wakeford

Mother to a teenager, three cats and a dog. I nurse by day; but writing is where my heart truly lives.

X, Instagram and Tripadvisor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.