Futurism logo

Another Realm.

My Dream Home

By Lauren Jane RPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
Child-like wonder seeps into adulthood.

My dream home. Where do I begin? I could lie and tell you all about the lovely house with modern furnishings I desperately long for.

However, that's a lie I couldn't write with any ounce of conviction or a convincing tone.

My ultimate fantasy is not of this human reality and not confined by its laws of science. It is a place founded by childlike wonder and a formidable imagination that has survived the hardships of adulthood. It is the realm in which the fae lurk.

My dream is as follows.

Enter the Portal.

Barefooted, I walk with an ever so slight skip to my step. Picking berries in the Scottish forest of Pitlochry, as a blinding gleam catches my eye. I swivel my body around, to find sparkled whisp-like creatures surrounding the trees behind me. I cautiously walk towards this congregation of creatures, the crunch of leaves underneath my toes becoming a blanket of moss. An intense feeling of belonging and comfort engulfs my body as the soft feeling of the moss intensifies becoming the feeling of Egyptian cotton on my skin. I close my eyes and continue to walk towards the whisps until I am suddenly submerged with them. I feel my body begin to levitate and swirl around as if I am as light as the air carrying me. When my feet reach the ground again, I open my eyes to find the mythical realm of the fae I've always dreamed of.

The Realm.

The sound of the cascading waterfall falls on my ears and I am home.

I am surrounded by melodies of chirping birds and hums of bumblebees.

Evergreen trees as tall as skyscrapers sway in the summer breeze.

There is no industry here, no smog or oil, just nature free of turmoil.

My human form is no more, I am as light as a feather, I am a winged creature. A fairy if you will. With my human form, my illness vanishes. My eyes no longer water and my lungs tire of wheezing and allow me to breath with the strength of a warrior. On the bridge in front of me, the faeries and animals of the realm stand to greet me. The part to either side, welcoming smiles illuminating their faces as I walk through them. When I reach the end, shes is waiting for me. My faery guide.

By Anthony Tran on Unsplash

A grin forms on her face as she reaches out her arm, with trepidation filling my heart, I take her dainty hand. It feels like silk. Almost as soon as my hand touches hers, we are in the sky. As we soar through the clouds, all my doubts and fears fall to the ground.

"We are here," she says as she points at the cottage below us. We begin to descend until we reach the front door. Tears leak from my eyes.

"This is it, I am home" I cry.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

ok! now that I've told you my dream, which statisticaly is unlikely to happen because you see the fae don't tend to reveal themselves. Let us dive into some interior design.

If you want to put my dream home into words other than a mythical realm, the cottagecore aesthetic is the next best bet! Cottagecore being the internet trend where young adults and teens fantasize about owning a cottage, baking bread and maybe owning a few cats. In my cottage, I would love to have a rustic feel overall especially in the kitchen.

By Anna Syla on Unsplash

The Kitchen.

Hanging pots and pans!! They are a must-have, Like the image above I would have a wooden panel from which to hang the pots. This panel would be placed above my fully gas hob and oven. I would want my oven to be a dark emerald colour. This colour would be matched by other utensils such as my teapot, tea towels, and cutlery. As well as the hanging pots, I would dry my own herbs and hang them all around my kitchen, to be taken down anytime and used in my daily meals. Each herb stirred into the meal bringing different things to my day once eaten. Basil for good luck and cinnamon for success. oh! sorry, here I go talking about the magic properties of herbs, back to interior design!

The kitchen floor would be real dark wood planks, with a large log table placed in the middle. The kitchen cabinets would be a dark hickory brown, slightly darker than the floor but the same as the table.

By Alex Rodríguez Santibáñez on Unsplash

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The Living Room.

The number one thing in my living room would be a woodburning fireplace. I can just picture the many moons I would spend reading novels about different worlds, on the couch by the fire. The warmth wrapping around my body like a shield from the mischievous Jack Frost. Although, I hear the rumors about his diva attitude are fabricated and he is actually quite shy!

Anyway, enough about jack, the flooring would be a dark chocolate-like brown, the same as the kitchen. Plants in every corner, shelf and even hanging from the ceiling.

By Jonathan Howard Kemp on Unsplash

By DeMorris Byrd on Unsplash

The Bedroom

The bedroom, when compared to the kitchen and living room would be colourless. A grey hue on every pillow. A plain white wall, light bouncing from every side to illuminate the greys of the bed. However, the colour would pop when looking at the bookshelf on the wall adjacent to the queen- sized bed. Every book a hardback antique, each one a bolder colour than the one before. Each one with gold and silver pages, sparkling when the light hit.

By Aliona Gumeniuk on Unsplash

The Garden

The Garden would be a small landmass yet bursting with life. For a more sustainable way of living, I would grow and harvest my own fruit and vegetables and use them as often as I can. Therefore, avoiding giving my money to unethical supermarkets thriving off of the backs of others. Plus food always tastes better and has a homely feel when grown and prepared with love.

Achievable?

Will my dream ever become a reality? I fully believe the cottage of my dreams will be my home in the future and I will spend a happy life there.

As for the whole realm of the fae thing...

That's a secret.

fantasy
2

About the Creator

Lauren Jane R

I’m a 20 something performance graduate with a passion for writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.