Filthy logo

Lock Down

The Night I Welcomed the Darkness

By Kerri MiLLsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Lock Down
Photo by Junior REIS on Unsplash

Lock Down- Day 1.

I sit here like the kitten on the window ledge, purr, like the dead rose, slanted over, withering, I sit. Its leaves are browned on the edges, what use to be pink now lifeless, slanted, hunched over, waiting for death, if death has not come upon it already, purr.

Lock Down-Day 3.

We haven't really had too many cases here actually. We had it better than anyone. I was grateful, I am grateful. We are getting the virus under control before it hatches. We will fight into the trenches we go, into the darkness we fight. Ahoy, man overboard.

Purr, she sits, she stares as the plants grow. They are all around us. Cover your mouth. You are safe. The sun will shine, every day they bloom, spring is upon us, purr. Come off that ledge little kitty, you are safe, it's warm in here. Come off the ledge. Purr.

***

The sea was rough that day. They maned the boats all day, constantly filling up pales, throwing the water back into the ocean, purr. They sailed on. Don't breathe. Don't cough. Don't sneeze. Purr. Where your mask! They fought. For these ships have been through everything together, they will persevere, purr.

Man overboard.

***

Lock Down-Day 4.

Locked up for days? Months? Years? I can't remember. We had it pretty good here for a while. For awhile. The mind plays tricks on the weak, the strong, the vulnerable, where am I? Purr.

***

They were never away from each other for too long. Married forty years, they fought, they sailed on. They sailed to the ends of the lakes, the seas, they saw the horizon, they would not give up. They fought. As the men tried to keep the ship afloat, they fought. Together forever they sailed into the trenches, into the waters crashing down against them they fought into the darkness we go.

"Ahoy, man overboard."

Lockdown-Day 5.

The sun kept shining, the plants kept growing, its leaves slanted, tall, growing, red, yellow, and green it grew. The sun kept it going, kept us sailing, we fought. Man overboard. Man overboard. We fought.

He stood tall. 40 years he sailed until he met a battle his sails could not withstand. The seas were rough that day. 40 years they sailed, side by side, they sailed until they could sail no more. To the ends of the skis, they sailed, ahoy.

Lock Down-Day 6.

He stood proud and the plants grew. Neil's ship sailed no more. But we grew. The sun came out again, like it always does, red, yellow, and green, the leaves grew. The soil kept them strong. To the edge of the earth we March. Into the darkness, we go. Kaka Kaka, Come off that ledge little kitty, we will sail again. Purr.

Lockdown-Day 33.

Lockdowned for days. My minds in a haze in a fog in a bottle in a daze. Pass me a joint. Get to ur point. Can’t listen. Get me christened. I feel the holy water from my daughter I cry. Say bye-bye to today. Locked down for days. I need a raise from this shit. Can’t pick one right for tonight I’m losing. I’m betting and I’m boozing. And I’m crying and I’m dying and I’m hiding who I am. Hiding from the man. And the pain. I quit this game. Hello, I’m done this use to be fun but I’m outtie. Give me a shouttie. To get me through the night, to get me through the day, stop by and say hey, yo what’s up? Can you give me a cut of your glory? Take me all Lordy. To the bed and the sheets and I’ll scream and I’ll weep. Till I feel you inside. Take me for a ride. Send chills down my spine. And I’m fine. Tell me I’m yers and you're mine. Tell me I’m one of a kind. And I’ll pay the tip if you get the tab. Oh look it’s ur dick oh boy ain’t that sad, and I’m mad. Wild and crazy I’m bad. I’ll give you a lick if you give me a bite, I’ll suck you so hard you won’t know what’s right and I’m tight. Ready to fuck you all night. Now go ahead hand me a light. And I'll smoke and I'll toke and I’m done with this shit. Gonna get up, gonna get lit, take me some hits and I’m wired. Go ahead call me a liar. I'll light your blood on fire, just to get higher, just to admire you, confess to you, obsessed with you, I'm less with you. Oh, what a sin, what a shame, gave her a ring, now she's outta the game, and I'm not saying, that you just playing but I said it. Shit. Playa. This shit ain’t love. And I’m done. Better run.

Lockdowned for days.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Kerri MiLLs

*Love thyself*

#CapeBretonrProud

“Ooo baby, baby it’s a wild world” ❤️😉

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.