Filthy logo

5 Books for People Craving A Smutty Fantasy

A List for those of you who love a good steamy romance as much as I do

By Allison Schafer Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
5 Books for People Craving A Smutty Fantasy
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

Like so many people, my heart belongs to the words on a page. If I’m not writing, you can find my nose in a good book. After all, how can I become a better writer without reading what I love?

My reading tastes honestly don’t range too far from what I know I love. Unlike most people I’m extremely picky about what type of books I will pick up and which ones I won’t. But what I do love more than anything is the Fantasy genre, which includes YA, New Adult, and Adult.

Lately, I have been on an Adult Fantasy kick, specifically ones that are heavily consumed with smut. Being stuck at home, in quarantine, a girl has to get her fix somewhere right?

So, for those of you who also love a good smutty fantasy or for those of you who are looking to add some new books to your TBR, I have some recommendations you might be interested in.

1. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah. J Maas.

If you’re a lover of high fantasy, this is definitely a series for you! I started reading this first book years ago, around the time Sarah was becoming a popular YA novelist and I was blow away by this concept! The first novel is very loosely based of a retelling of beauty and beast, but with hot Fae instead of magic witches.

In my personal opinion, it has everything you could want from a series: Love triangle, enemies to lovers tope (which is my favorite trope), a high concept YA fantasy world that hasn’t ever been seen before, and of course, some steamy scenes for those of you looking for something a little more out of YA’s usual range.

There are currently five novels in the series, but the author has just recently made the switch to a full time Adult author, so if the first book isn’t giving you all the smutty scenes you want, trust me when I saw by the time you reach book 5 you won’t be disappointed.

2. From Blood and Ash by Jennifer Armentrout

Another fantasy series, this differs from most of what’s on the market right now simply because the author does an entirely new take on what the world has come to know as the “vampire” trend. Honestly, I was a little skeptical at first when I picked this series up because the idea of reading something involving vampires was a little questionable for me since I wasn’t looking to read another “ Twilight”.

But, I have to admit, within the first few chapters, I was hooked on this series. It’s new; refreshing take and world building are phenomenal. And no, this series is not your usual vampire love story. Trust me when I say if you like Sarah J. Maas, you’ll love this series too.

Amrentrout well known for her smutty adult content, so there is plenty of that within these books, while also having a storyline that grips you from the first page and doesn’t let go. These books took me on a wild ride and I am ecstatic about the next installments she has in place.

3. Kingdom of The Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

This series is more in the YA category, which differs ever so slightly from the first two I listed. While this first novel doesn’t have too much of the normal smut I’m looking for, Kerri does a great job by adding in all the sexual tension necessary for creating a steamy romance.

The novel is another fantasy series, following witches and demon princes, which is a steamy concept alone. This book follows the seven deadly sins, as real life princes of hell; can you think of anything sexier than that? Because I can’t. This novel was great and gave me all the sexy, sinful vibes while still leaving something for readers to look forward to in the next installments.

4. A Strange Hymn by Laura Thalassa

If you’re a fan of the author I listed as number one on this list, then this series will be perfect for you. A mix between sirens and fairies, this series will give you all the sexy vibes you love in a fantasy novel while delivering an interesting plot and characters you’ll fall in love with.

As a reader, I tend to gravitate towards books that put a lot of emphasis on character development along with differentiating personalities and this book gave me everything I could want in these characters, and a very hot prince.

I know when I’m reading a smutty, fantasy romance novel I look for the usual tropes in my male characters, which is usually a witty character with elusive secrets. If you’re anything like me and gravitate towards those kinds of male characters, then I think it’s safe to say you’ll enjoy this book.

5. A Touch of Darkness by Scarlett St. Clair

This novel snagged my attention simply because as a child one of my biggest obsessions was Greek Mythology. I can still name every Greek God/Goddess and all the accompanying stories around them. Greek Mythology has been a passion of mine since I was in the sixth grade, so when I saw this release, to say I was thrilled, is an understatement.

A Persephone and Hades romance story? Yes! This has been all I’ve wanted for years. And I have to say, the book didn’t disappoint either. Not only does this novel deliver an intriguing plot line, loosely based off the original story, but Clair also writes some extremely steamy scenes that will not disappoint. Not only that but the way the author writes Hades is…well I couldn’t imagine a better way to write the God of Death. All I will say is that he was wonderfully delicious.

So, if you’re a fan of Greek Mythology like I am, I would highly suggest giving this book a try! If only to read about Hades being this super hot, enigmatic character that you can’t help but fall in love with.

I hope you found this list helpful and try reading the books I’ve listed. Some of these are my favorite books and I can’t seem to put them down (and not just because I’ve been in quarantine). I love a good fantasy and a world I can get lost in, so I hope some of you can get lost in these as well!

Happy Reading!!

literature
1

About the Creator

Allison Schafer

Harry Potter/Marvel/Disney enthusiest. Cat lover. World traveler. Book lover. Alway baking. Hopeless Romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.