Fiction logo

X-Men: The New Age

Part I of IX

By Eric C. JacksonPublished 2 years ago 29 min read
Like

"Only a power greater than mutant abilities can save us."

____________________________________________________

Five years earlier, humans and mutants were on the brink of World War III. Each side would have sustained heavy losses. As the mutant population began to grow faster than anyone predicted, an agreement was made. The war was averted.

Now, after a few years of consistent peace, the X-Men have been disbanded, living as ordinary citizens. As Presidential Elections are held around the world, one final victory is needed to secure the future for human and mutant alike.

Is this the end of the X-Men?

____________________________________________________

FADE IN:

EXT. OUTER SPACE - EARTH

In outer space, the sun comes over the edge of the Earth. The Earth is moving slowly as sparkling lights can be seen covering huge land masses.

PROFESSOR XAVIER (V.O.) The world is changing. Once, humans feared mutants and mutants feared for their lives. Military forces tried to tip the scales and rid the Earth of mutants. The mutant race was on the brink of extinction before Charles Xavier’s X-Men turned the tide.

EXT. THE CONTINENT OF EUROPE - NIGHT

Clouds pass by, buildings are seen across the Lights illuminate from the windows of several

PROFESSOR XAVIER (V.O.) They stood against government agencies’ anti-mutant agendas. Other mutants looked on at their bravery and chose to stand with the X-Men. As more and more mutants came out of hiding and began to fight for their own freedom, the anti-mutant forces became overwhelmed.

EXT. THE CONTINENT OF ASIA - NIGHT

Land mass. Buildings.

Across Asia, people are walking through the streets, looking like small ants from the sky above.

EXT. THE PACIFIC OCEAN - EVENING

The Pacific Ocean is dark, brooding, as the moonlight reflects off of the water.

PROFESSOR XAVIER (V.O.) The heads of the anti-mutant organizations lost their jobs and were replaced by mutant-friendly leaders and actual mutants.

EXT. COAST OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA - EVENING

The Pacific Coast Highway is in view.

PROFESSOR XAVIER (V.O.) The United States, along with other countries around the world, made a law which protects mutants from discrimination, segregation, and oppression around the globe.

EXT. LAS VEGAS, NEVEDA - EVENING

The lights shine bright over Las Vegas, NV.

EXT. COLORADO MOUNTAINS - EVENING

The Colorado mountains are covered with snow, the wind swirling through the area.

PROFESSOR XAVIER (V.O.) It’s been three years since that time. Mutants live in peace with the rest of the society.

EXT. NEW YORK CITY, NY. - DAY

The glare of the skyline is reflecting on the Hudson River. Human and mutant alike walk throughout the city.

PROFESSOR XAVIER (V.O.) The Morlocks have been freed from being forced to live underground as well. In a special session of Congress, the law was upheld which allowed mutants to keep the right to vote.

EXT. OUTER SPACE - AVALON

The enormous base slowly orbits the Earth.

PROFESSOR XAVIER (V.O.) Magneto and the rest of the Brotherhood had been disbanded. Magneto has found a place of solitude, having lost the will to fight. He finally wonders whether I, Professor Charles Xavier, have been right all along.

2.

INT. AVALON – LIVING ROOM

Avalon is massive. Several rooms are spread out in the structure. Large windows throughout the place allow dim natural light to come in from the stars, moon, and sun.

In the shadows, MAGNETO stands in tears, next to a table, fumbling over an article in his hands. The room is vast, consisting of metal and asteroid rock. However, it is practically empty, save a couple of large comfortable couches and a few tables about the place. He seems deep in thought.

QUICKSILVER and SCARLET WITCH stand at a distance behind him, signaling at each other to be the next one to speak.

QUICKSILVER Dad, you should think about coming home?

MAGNETO This is my home.

SCARLET WITCH It must be lonely, being up here by yourself all the time.

MAGNETO I don’t belong anywhere else. I’ve talked to you both about this before.

QUICKSILVER I don’t want to argue.

MAGNETO You’ve come to visit your old man? I am glad.

SCARLET WITCH We want to be a real family again. We want normal lives!

MAGNETO This is normal life! (calms himself) I will never be one of them. You ask too much of me.

Tears fall from Scarlet Witch's eyes. QuickSilver walks over and puts his arm around her shoulder.

3.

QUICKSILVER We wanted to see how you’re doing. We still care about you.

MAGNETO I know. I...

QUICKSILVER (walks to Magneto) Look at yourself. You know you need to change with everybody else. It’s time to forgive them, even if they are unforgivable!

Magneto keeps his back towards him.

MAGNETO Forgive them?

QUICKSILVER It’s in the past. Those people are dead. Mutants actually have a chance to be normal.

SCARLET WITCH You can help them, Dad. You can help us have the freedom you fought for without starting a war. It’s the best solution to --

Magneto turns around and holds up his hand.

MAGNETO Son, daughter, you make me proud. Go. But I cannot go with you. Magneto feels his emotions stir.

QuickSilver and Scarlet Witch see the few metal objects in the room bending and twisting around them. They look at each other, then hug their father tightly.

Magneto backs away, turns, and floats to another level in Avalon.

Scarlet Witch looks up after him.

SCARLET WITCH The elections are next week. You have the opportunity to Vote.

4.

QUICKSILVER This guy seems like he genuinely cares about us. We haven’t been able to tell if he’s a mutant or not, but people are wondering.

SCARLET WITCH Your presence there, voting, would make a difference. Think about it.

QuickSilver and Scarlet Witch begin to walk away.

INT. AVALON - ELEVATOR

QuickSilver and Scarlet Witch head for the elevator and take it down to the Ground Level.

QUICKSILVER I wonder if he’ll come.

SCARLET WITCH I’ve never been able to read him very well. He might. There’s always a chance, right?

QUICKSILVER Yeah. Getting him outta this metal rock would be a start.

SCARLET WITCH As long as he knows where we stand, maybe that’ll help.

QUICKSILVER Like it always has?!

SCARLET WITCH Pietro, come on! You have to help me! Stay positive. Alright?

QUICKSILVER Yeah, I got you.

The elevator door opens. The head for the Teleport Machine.

INT. QUICKSILVER'S RESIDENCE - DAY

The machine teleports them to QuickSilver’s den in Europe. They head for the foyer.

5.

EXT. QUICKSILVER'S RESIDENCE - NIGHT

SCARLET WITCH See ya ‘round, big brother?

QUICKSILVER Unlikely.

They laugh, then hug each other.

QUICKSILVER Maybe I’ll come to see you this weekend, Wanda.

SCARLET WITCH Are you finally getting a car?

QUICKSILVER Ha! With gas prices these days, insurance? For what?!

SCARLET WITCH Had to try.

Scarlet Witch drives off in a stylish convertible sports car across the countryside surrounded by mountains.

INT. NEW YORK CITY DINER - DAY

The wind is swirling between the tall buildings of New York. SCOTT SUMMERS and JEAN GREY are reflecting over cups of coffee on stools at the front counter.

CYCLOPS I can’t believe it. I just...can’t. Can you?

JEAN GREY No! Two years! It’s practically a miracle.

CYCLOPS We never thought about the day we wouldn’t have to fight anymore. I don’t think it crossed our minds.

JEAN GREY And now --

CYCLOPS -- I get to see your beautiful face at lunch time everyday.

6.

JEAN GREY (smile) I love you Scott.

CYCLOPS I love you too, Mrs. Summers. Oh! --

The Diner's owner comes from the kitchen.

OWNER -- Hey, isn’t the honeymoon over yet, lovebirds?!

CYCLOPS Sorry --

JEAN GREY (laughing) -- I think it just hit him though. Gosh, look at the time!

Scott and Jean get up from their stools.

CYCLOPS I wanted to watch the sunset with you this evening.

JEAN GREY I know! Well, hey, I’ll work it out, okay. Call me to make sure.

CYCLOPS I will tell Sam to let you go. Don’t make me come up there!

JEAN GREY Oh, Scott. Jean begins to walk away.

CYCLOPS I see how he looks at you, too! I’ve got my eye on him!

JEAN GREY You’re a comedian.

Scott turns his attention to their left over cups.

CYCLOPS (laughs) Hey Louis, lemme get the bill.

7.

OWNER For you, it’s on the house.

JEAN GREY No, not again --

CYCLOPS -- We couldn’t.

OWNER Are you serious? Wasn’t for you guys, my business would’ve burned to the ground! Take off. And remember, we’re having the special tomorrow, cherry pie. Mom’s own recipe, you don’t wanna miss that!

CYCLOPS Oh, I won’t. It’s the best!

Scott and Jean head for the door.

JEAN GREY You and pie. (looks back) Bye, Louis!

OWNER Tomorrow!

EXT. NEW YORK CITY DINER - DAY

As Jean and Cyclops walk out of the diner’s door, Jean feels awkward.

JEAN GREY Whoa...

CYCLOPS What’s wrong? Jean --

JEAN GREY -- I, um. Whew! I’m fine. You should really stop worrying about me so much, sweetie.

CYCLOPS Hm. I’ll ask Professor Xavier to check on you if --

8.

JEAN GREY -- Scott, we’ve talked about this. I’m not a child, okay. If something’s wrong, I can handle it.

CYCLOPS I know! It’s, I only want to be with one person, Jean. No one else. No one can replace you. Okay?

Jean calms down and begins to notice some people's glances.

JEAN GREY I’m sorry. I, Why don’t we just go now? I guess I need the break anyway.

CYCLOPS Jean, you’re a strong woman. That’s one of the things I love about you. You can take care of yourself and you don’t need me all the time. But, I don’t mind protecting the love of my life.

JEAN GREY You always know how to say the right things. Ahhh, what are you doing?!

Scott picks up Jean Grey, carries her across the street towards her work place. They both laugh.

CYCLOPS Don’t worry, Mrs. Summers, I’ll take you to safety!

JEAN GREY Scott, no, stop!

Cars slow down, people passing by stop to look. They began to clap, people in cars honk their horns, cheering. Scott puts Jean down on the other side of the road. Her face is red from embarrassment.

JEAN GREY You are so silly!

They kiss. The crowd reacts.

PASSER-BYERS Get a room!

9.

Jean hurries in, gets her belongings, comes back out. She and Scott walk arm in arm as they walk to the water.

EXT. NEW YORK CITY HARBOR - EVENING

Scott Summers and Jean Grey are holding each other, watching the sunset, hair blowing in the wind. No war, no stress, no mission to save the world. Just a normal, peaceful day.

EXT. CANADA – WOOD CABIN – 5:00 A.M.

In a sparse forest, near a beautiful lake, a dim light flickers inside a cabin.

INT. WOOD CABIN - BEDROOM

An alarm clock buzzes annoyingly at the strike of 5 a.m. Three blades of adamantium steel claws slice through it like butter into a wooden night stand.

LOGAN, rarely going by WOLVERINE anymore, sits up drowsily, but intently. Gathers his thoughts and jumps from the bed.

BATHROOM

Brushing his teeth, washing up.

BEDROOM

He puts on some comfortable clothes, jeans, shirt, and jacket, he heads out the door.

EXT. WOOD CABIN LAWN

Hops on his motorcycle and takes off down an empty highway.

EXT. CANADIAN MOUNTAINSIDE - MORNING

Emerging in the snowy mountains, beginning of sunrise. Logan sits in the snow overlooking the valley covered in white. Eyes closed, he hears a sound, but knew BOBBY DRAKE, the ICEMAN, was already there.

WOLVERINE Came to check on me?

ICEMAN I wanted to know how you’re holding up. You need to talk or...

WOLVERINE Nothing to talk about.

10.

ICEMAN Look, man, I know we aren’t best friends, but I’ve fought with you long enough to care.

Logan gets up, fighting emotions, not knowing what to say. Iceman walks next to him as they look over the cliff.

ICEMAN Almost outta wood, huh?

WOLVERINE Yeah.

ICEMAN I’m off to the Arctic. The coolest snow is out there.

WOLVERINE There’s a difference to you?

ICEMAN ‘Course! (pause) I do carry my phone, you know.

WOLVERINE You miss it too, huh?

Iceman walks to the edge of the cliff, looking over the valley.

ICEMAN I don’t miss fighting, no! But, well, you guys are like family now. I didn’t realize --

WOLVERINE -- You were a part of a family. I know. I’m always ready for the fight though.

ICEMAN (laughing) Yeah, we busted up some Sentinels in our time. I ice ‘em, you dice ‘em.

WOLVERINE (smile) You had skill, I’ll give you that.

11.

ICEMAN Well, I gotta go, man. The ice is calling me.

Iceman walks off.

WOLVERINE Hey.

ICEMAN Yeah?

WOLVERINE How about a few practice shots before you go?

ICEMAN I don’t know, Logan. It’s been a while since you’ve felt the heat.

WOLVERINE Bring it on, bub.

ICEMAN Whatever.

Iceman walks a good distance away. His hands light up as he creates sharp ice cycles.

ICEMAN One fast ball coming up.

He fires ice cycles at Wolverine, which Logan dodges and cuts with his claws into pieces.

ICEMAN Not bad for an ol’ man!

Iceman fires a beam of ice and Logan leaps out of the way.

Seeing Logan bear down on him, Iceman turns his hands into ice picks, swiping at Logan.

Logan cuts them away; Iceman creates an ice piece which juts out of the ground; Logan steps back, leaping...flipping backwards landing on his feet.

The two trade several swipes and kicks at each other. As Wolverine’s claws come at his face, Iceman shoots a beam of ice directly below him, propelling him into the air.

Wolverine gives him a smile as Iceman backflips out of the move landing on his feet.

12.

ICEMAN Not bad at all.

WOLVERINE Learned some new moves?

ICEMAN My powers seem to be growing, I don’t know. I’m going to the Arctic to check ‘em out, see what else I can do.

An awkward pause floats in the air, Iceman walks up to him.

WOLVERINE Thanks for the stretch. I needed it.

ICEMAN Stretch?! Okay. Um, take care Logan.

They shake hands.

ICEMAN (laughing) Let’s not do that again sometime, I don’t want you to kill me.

Wolverine nods with a small smile. Iceman makes an ice slide as he jumps off the cliff and Wolverine calls to him.

WOLVERINE Hey, Bobby!

ICEMAN Yo?!

Wolverine gives a short wave .

ICEMAN Don’t mention it. Be Cool!

Iceman takes off on his ice slide across the valley.

13.

EXT. GERMANY – CHURCH - NIGHT

Lights illuminate from the interior of a large church in Germany.

INT. CHURCH LIVING SPACE

In a rather nice den, NIGHTCRAWLER (KURT WAGNER), ROGUE (ANNA MARIE), and GAMBIT (REMY LEBEAU) are having a chat with Kurt acting as the host.

NIGHTCRAWLER You will love this, Anna, my favorite dessert and tea.

ROGUE I had a great time, Kurt. You were amazing. The whole show was great!

NIGHTCRAWLER I’m so pleased you enjoyed yourself. I was surprised by your visit.

Gambit walks into the kitchen area.

GAMBIT I’ve never seen a high-flying act like that. Looks dangerous, even to me!

NIGHTCRAWLER Ack! It’s nothing. I rather enjoy it! Some of the best times of my life are found in my performances.

ROGUE It’s better now that it’s all over, right? I mean, the X-Men aren’t even together anymore.

Gambit comes back in the den.

GAMBIT Best vacation we’ve ever had, huh chere?!

ROGUE Remy...!

NIGHTCRAWLER Come. Sit. I actually have a television.

14.

LIVING ROOM

Nightcrawler flips through the channels and they all sit in a living room area, illuminated by a beautiful fireplace.

They sit back and listen to the telecast on a European news station. The TV Host speaks with two guests.

GUEST I think this is all mere speculation. You have no proof. The inspectors themselves, found no evidence of an anti-mutant program. The U.N.’s investigation came up with nothing --

GUEST #2 -- That’s because some of the U.N. investigators are involved!

GUEST The treaty has been signed! The Brotherhood has not been seen in over a year! And no one knows where Magneto is, some people say he’s dead!

Guest #2 sits up in his chair as he looks into his own camera.

GUEST #2 This is the quiet before the storm. They want you to think this war is over, but it isn’t. It’s only a matter of time before mutants try to take over the entire planet. They’re numbers are growing astronomically and some scientists believe Mother Nature is evolving more humans into mutants sooner than anyone could have predicted!

The Guest stays calm as he looks into his own camera.

GUEST There is no threat. These “scientists” are coming up with their own theories to cause fear in the general public. Do we want to keep the peace or not?

15.

GUEST #2 Peace will only be a reality when humans take back control of this planet. I feel this is the beginning of a new age. Mutants will rule the planet, take over through this system of democracy, “our” democracy, unless we stop them.

The Host finally hears in his ear-piece that the time of this segment is up.

HOST Gentlemen, gentlemen, we’re out of time. Thank you both for appearing on the broadcast tonight. Very interesting subject. What do you think as citizens of the world? Are mutants trying to take over or are they simply trying to be accepted like everyone else? Send in your answers to our blog and we’ll post some of your responses in our next broadcast. Thank you, and good night.

Nightcrawler turns off the television.

ROGUE There’s only a few of them, Kurt. Most people aren’t like him anymore.

GAMBIT I agree with Anna. I can actually walk downtown without a disguise and not get harassed! People ask for my autograph!

Nightcrawler gets up and walks towards the end of the room. Rogue turns on the couch. Gambit's stare follows Kurt from a single couch.

NIGHTCRAWLER I know. It must be exhilarating to walk among other human beings unafraid. The anti-mutant laws are not legal anymore. However...

ROGUE What?

16.

NIGHTCRAWLER This man, along with a few others, still believes the worst of us. They publicly admit it despite the unpopularity of their beliefs. How can they be so bold against so many? (pause) I wonder if they have someone helping them.

GAMBIT Backing them up?

NIGHTCRAWLER Yes.

ROGUE Who would do that?! Everybody’s been investigated!

NIGHTCRAWLER I am not sure.

Gambit puts a hand up. Nightcrawler faces them.

GAMBIT Don’t over-react. I need a little more vacation.

NIGHTCRAWLER I’m sorry friends. I do not mean to disturb you --

ROGUE -- No, it’s just, it’s not like we can check it out like we used to.

NIGHTCRAWLER Exactly.

An awkward silence in the room.

GAMBIT Let me guess. You wanna talk with the Professor, heh?

NIGHTCRAWLER I don’t want to alarm him. Not unless I have proof.

17.

ROGUE This is a gut feeling?

NIGHTCRAWLER As you would see it.

ROGUE Great.

GAMBIT Great.

NIGHTCRAWLER (a faint smile) You two have been together for a while.

They smile and briefly gaze into each other’s eyes.

ROGUE Hey, you should come with us!

NIGHTCRAWLER I am not prepared to --

GAMBIT -- Kurt, you brought it up. Let’s go, eh? The quicker I get this off my mind, the quicker I go back to vacation.

NIGHTCRAWLER Very well.

They prepare to leave for the United States.

INT. RUSSIA – UNDERGROUND FACILITY

In dim lighting, GENERAL WINSTROM walks down a long corridor made of steel with a shiny grey floor. He comes to a steel door.

SCIENCE LAB

There are scientists, doctors, in white long coats, going over information on clipboards. The General walks up to one of the lead SCIENTIST.

GENERAL WINSTROM How much time?

SCIENTIST Hours. We are almost completed with "Phase Two" of the process.

18.

GENERAL WINSTROM Anymore setbacks?

SCIENTIST No sir. We have completely realigned his cables and integrated them into the new system.

A light blue glow covers the General's face as he walks passed the Scientist.

GENERAL WINSTROM Excellent.

SCIENTIST We’re prepping for the final stage in the process. We have to be sure he can withstand anything throw at him, literally.

GENERAL WINSTROM Can you create more?

SCIENTIST No, sir. Unfortunately, we still haven’t been able to duplicate the process on another subject. The technology is too unstable.

The General walks next to a glass case with frozen ice on its surface, staring at what the container holds.

GENERAL WINSTROM We will have our revenge. They will suffer for what they did to us. To all of us!

SCIENTIST Sir, your grandfather would be proud.

GENERAL WINSTROM (tears well up in his eyes) Do what must be done. There can be no failures this time.

The General walks off and the Scientist quickly and intently resumes his work. He gathers the group of scientists.

SCIENTIST Gentlemen, this is our finest hour. Let us begin our legacy here.

19.

INT. NEWS BROADCAST - NIGHT

TONY RICHARDS and TIM MICHAELSON watch a news in an office.

HOST In a stunning turn of events, Republican Senator-Elect Tony Richards and Democrat Senator-Elect Tim Michaelson both lost to a man not officially on the ballot. That is correct ladies and gentlemen, in overwhelming numbers voters in” John Donaby, a popular spokesperson for the mutant community who declined from in this election. Officials scrambling to figure out if can award a seat to a citizen who hasn’t actually ran for the office - -

RICHARDS (turns off the television) -- How could this happen?!

MICHAELSON It’s out of our hands.

RICHARDS “Our” hands?! This is “our” country Michaelson! Not theirs! We built this country from the ground up, shedding our blood on the battlefields! Now they want to tell us how we’re going to run it?!

MICHAELSON We don’t have many options left.

RICHARDS No! I will not be backed into a corner by a bunch of animals pretending to be humans!

MICHAELSON Jim Steinberg lost. Macullum lost. Grenich lost. Horner lost. They all stood their ground and now they’re out of office. France. Germany. Russia. The Middle East.

20.

Tony Richards turns away, reluctant to surrender to the truth.

RICHARDS Alright --

MICHAELSON -- You have to back off, at least for now, until we can find a better solution for --

RICHARDS -- Kill Xavier.

MICHAELSON Tony, we --

RICHARDS -- Kill McCoy!

MICHAELSON It’s not --

RICHARDS -- Who do we have to kill in order to get our country back?!

Tim Michaelson is fed up with the discussion.

MICHAELSON It’s too late! There are too many of them. We don’t even know how many of them there are and where they could live. We don’t know who to trust anymore. If we leak information to the wrong source, they’ll come after us, Tony.

RICHARDS Arrest us?!

MICHAELSON Put on trial for hate crimes against the mutant race. It’s practically a law now.

RICHARDS The vote hasn’t taken place yet.

21.

MICHAELSON Look at the news. Every trial case. The judges are on the other side now. It’s too late. Everyone wants to keep their jobs.

RICHARDS I will not sit idly by and watch this world fall into the hands of...

Tony Richards clings to his last hope.

RICHARDS Get Johnson on the phone.

MICHAELSON But Tony --

RICHARDS -- Now.

INT. JOHNSON HOME - NIGHT

In a small, quiet town in the suburbs, SHAWN JOHNSON is speaking on the telephone to Tim Michaelson, a secured line, in the basement of his house.

SHAWN JOHNSON I hear you have another job for me. I actually expected this call sooner.

MICHAELSON We didn’t think, I didn’t believe it would come to this.

SHAWN JOHNSON I told you! I told you over a year ago that this was coming and you completely ignored me! Now look at what’s going on.

MICHAELSON I know, I know! I’m sorry Mr. Johnson.

SHAWN JOHNSON You’re sorry?

22.

MICHAELSON I don’t know how you do it. I just know you’re the best. Are you sure you can help us?

SHAWN JOHNSON Please, do not insult me. I’ve done my job well for the passed 10 years without a hint of evidence. I have never failed a mission and I will not let this one be the first. Transfer the payment into my account.

MICHAELSON I imagine you’re going to be a wealthy man once this is all over.

SHAWN JOHNSON Wealth? I simply enjoy killing mutants and these Benedict Arnolds who support them. Getting paid for it is icing on the cake.

MICHAELSON Fine. And Mr. Johnson...

SHAWN JOHNSON Yes?

MICHAELSON Good hunting.

SHAWN JOHNSON Always.

Shawn Johnson hangs up the phone and turns to see his wife, HEATHER JOHNSON, waiting with anticipation for the news.

SHAWN JOHNSON We have another job.

HEATHER JOHNSON Finally. I was getting bored.

SHAWN JOHNSON I have new gear for you.

A wall slides to the left to reveal armor, weapons, including swords and energy shields. Heather Johnson looks over all of the new gear.

23.

HEATHER JOHNSON One of the reasons I love you so much. You know what I like.

SHAWN JOHNSON (gives a rare smile) This armor’s been upgraded. It will link into your neuro-system. Your mind can adjust the shields to charge any weaknesses in the metal caused by damage. The weapon fires an energy pulse --

HEATHER JOHNSON -- How long will they be helpless?

SHAWN JOHNSON A full five seconds longer ”and” it’s a few pounds lighter. No ammunition packs needed.

HEATHER JOHNSON Perfect. It’s not my birthday, is it?

Shawn completely ignores her remark, though Heather has grown use to thinking out loud more than talking to him.

SHAWN JOHNSON New sword. Closest metal we could find to adamantium. In order to compensate, we’ve charged it with a similar energy pulse used in the hand weapons.

HEATHER JOHNSON Nice..!

SHAWN JOHNSON Be careful with that. When charged, it’s actually sharp enough to pierce your own armor.

HEATHER JOHNSON What?!

SHAWN JOHNSON Yes.

HEATHER JOHNSON Where did you find this metal?

24.

SHAWN JOHNSON Do not ask.

HEATHER JOHNSON Shawn?!

SHAWN JOHNSON Heather, it’s classified. There are some questions even I don’t ask.

HEATHER JOHNSON Don’t lie to me.

SHAWN JOHNSON Here. A shield. They won’t know what hit ‘em.

Heather is finally annoyed by his lack of direct responses to her questions, but becomes distracted by the new toy.

EXT. X-MANSION FRONT DOOR - DAY

Rogue rings the door bell as Nightcrawler and Gambit stand close by. It opens automatically. PROFESSOR CHARLES XAVIER approaches in a new gold-tone wheelchair hovering off the ground. He can't hide the huge smile on his face.

PROFESSOR XAVIER My goodness, look at you all!

ROGUE Hi, Professor.

PROFESSOR XAVIER A pleasure to see you again, Anna, to see you all.

GAMBIT Home sure looks bigger than it used to.

PROFESSOR XAVIER Of course, Remy, you spent less time here than the others.

GAMBIT I guess I’m just a wild card, eh?

25.

INT. X-MANSION FOYER - DAY

The Professor backs away allowing the trio to come inside.

NIGHTCRAWLER Greetings, Professor.

PROFESSOR XAVIER Kurt, this is a surprise! I heard you returned to your high-flying events.

NIGHTCRAWLER Yes, I suppose I missed the stage more than I realized.

PROFESSOR XAVIER That face you make, what’s wrong?

NIGHTCRAWLER Well...

PROFESSOR XAVIER I rarely have to read your mind to know when something’s troubling you, Kurt.

Gambit walks between them heading towards the living room.

GAMBIT I hope it’s nothing.

ROGUE We wanted to ask you about the elections, Professor.

PROFESSOR XAVIER Ah yes, I’ve been following them very carefully. It seems the tide has steadily changed in our favor.

Professor Xavier turns following Gambit down the hall towards the living room.

LIVING ROOM

GAMBIT It’s good news to me.

PROFESSOR XAVIER But...

26.

GAMBIT Kurt’s worried ‘bout a secret plan to take us all out again.

ROGUE We don’t have any proof.

NIGHTCRAWLER I’m sorry, my friends. Maybe, the “peace” is hard for even me to accept.

PROFESSOR XAVIER Indeed. Most of our lives we have fought and sacrificed for the good of humans and mutants alike. Today is a new day. Through democracy, not bloodshed, mutants are taking their rightful place in society.

ROGUE Any chance someone could really tear it all apart?!

GAMBIT Better not be.

Gambit crashes on the couch. Rogue stands attentive in front of the Professor as Nightcrawler drifts around the room.

PROFESSOR XAVIER Unfortunately, there’s always a chance. Although we have made great progress, it only takes one event to make things worse than they’ve ever been before.

NIGHTCRAWLER This is what I fear, Professor.

PROFESSOR XAVIER I know, Kurt, but we must not give up hope. Besides, I finally realize, we can’t fight forever. There has to be an absolute end to this conflict. One side has to win.

GAMBIT Look, I would rather do something now than wait ‘round for somethin’ to happen. If there’s a chance the elections will be postponed because of some attack, we need to stop whoever’s behind it “before” they strike!

27.

PROFESSOR XAVIER Agreed, Remy. However, the X-Men have been more closely watched by the government for the passed five years. If we move first, we will be blamed for any consequences that follow.

GAMBIT Knew that was coming.

Rogue begins to circle the floor.

ROGUE So, what are we supposed to do? Where do we even start to look?

PROFESSOR XAVIER Kurt, what’s on your mind?

Nightcrawler continues to look out of a window, putting his thoughts together.

NIGHTCRAWLER If there is a threat, they have to have ways not to be discovered by U.N. Inspectors. Cloaking devices of some kind to hide their weapons, the technology needed to achieve such feats --

PROFESSOR XAVIER -- In Europe?

NIGHTCRAWLER Yes, maybe in other countries as well. This is a worldwide problem, Professor Xavier. Even if we did know where to look first, we wouldn’t have the power to stop them by now.

PROFESSOR XAVIER These are your true feelings?

NIGHTCRAWLER Yes. I’m sorry.

28.

Professor Xavier glides his wheelchair to the window, staring outside, looking at the beauty of the world. Rogue and Gambit become more concerned at his silence.

ROGUE I don’t wanna fight anymore! We don’t wanna fight!

PROFESSOR XAVIER I’m not suggesting we will have to.

GAMBIT All of this “peace” can’t be a lie. Is that what you’re saying?!

PROFESSOR XAVIER I’ll contact Ororo first. She is the furthest away.

ROGUE She went back home?

PROFESSOR XAVIER To Africa, yes. Have her join us here at the mansion. We must discuss this together, as a family.

Gambit slams back on the couch.

GAMBIT I don’t believe this.

Professor Xavier turns and heads back towards the foyer.

PROFESSOR XAVIER Make yourselves comfortable.

ROGUE Cerebro?

PROFESSOR XAVIER No...

Professor Xavier pushes a button on the chair panel. A door slides open, revealing several dials. He pushes one, it flashes and the light fades away.

29.

Gambit walks over to Nightcrawler’s side, whom is staring out a window.

GAMBIT You’d better be wrong about this, Kurt. You’d better be wrong and we won’t have to go back to the way things used to be.

Nightcrawler stays silent.

INT. NEW YORK CONDO - EVENING

Scott Summers is pacing the bedroom carpet in a tank shirt and some shorts. An unsure, almost distressed, look on his face as he talks to Jean, who is still in the bathroom.

CYCLOPS I know something is wrong. But you’re not telling me. Whatever it is, I can handle it.

JEAN GREY (from the restroom) Scott, it’s okay. I know. Scott walks to the master bathroom door.

CYCLOPS Then talk to me. Don’t shut me out. (pause) What is it?

Silence. Cyclops walks away from the door and stands next to the bed, not knowing what to say next. Jean opens the bathroom door, stands in the entrance, Scott’s back is to her.

JEAN GREY Scott, I know what’s wrong with me.

Cyclops turns to look at her. Jean holds up a pregnancy test and begins to cry. Cyclops freezes in place.

JEAN GREY I’m pregnant.

CYCLOPS You're..?

JEAN GREY Yes.

30.

CYCLOPS We're..?

JEAN GREY Yes...

Cyclops’ knees buckled for a moment. He rushes to Jean, picks her up, turning in the middle of the floor as they kiss, laugh, and cry, letting out screams of joy.

CYCLOPS A baby!

Suddenly, a familiar BEEPING sound is heard, they both stop, motionless.

JEAN GREY The emergency comm-link signal.

CYCLOPS It can’t be. It better not be!

They stand in silence as the red light under the black “X” flashes. This happened when the X-Men were called upon to fight.

CYCLOPS (whisper) No.

JEAN GREY (whisper) No.

EXT. X-MANSION - EVENING

In the clouds, suddenly a silver figure flies by at a great speed. The wind blows, pushing her along. ORORO MUNROE, also know as STORM, descends to the front lawn. She walks up and rings the door bell.

ROGUE Hey, Ororo! How’ve you been?!

They hug on the porch.

STORM Anna! Amazing. I have so many stories to tell you! (looks over to Gambit) Remy, you’re here! (pause) What’s wrong?

GAMBIT “Nothing” I hope.

31.

INT. X-MANSION FOYER - EVENING

Storm enters as Gambit comes forward.

STORM Come here, give me a hug. (hug) I haven’t seen you in so long. You’re taking care of Anna, right?

GAMBIT She’s keeping me outta trouble.

ROGUE He’s been here. It’s been better since...

STORM Since we split up.

ROGUE Yeah.

Storm puts her hand on Rogue's shoulder.

STORM We had to carry that responsibility. Otherwise, the day would not have come.

ROGUE Kurt came with us!

STORM Where is he?!

Nightcrawler enters the room and the group slowly makes their way out of the foyer.

NIGHTCRAWLER Greetings, Ororo.

STORM How have you been?

NIGHTCRAWLER Very well.

STORM I planned to see you on your next opening!

32.

NIGHTCRAWLER Ah yes, that would be wonderful!

STORM I’m hoping there’s no real “emergency.”

NIGHTCRAWLER No. I cannot say that there is.

STORM Then why the --

PROFESSOR XAVIER -- I need to speak with everyone as soon as possible.

Storm freezes as she sees Professor Xavier, then walks to him. They hug for a while.

STORM Professor.

PROFESSOR XAVIER You are..?

STORM I’m fine. (pause) There’s no emergency?

PROFESSOR XAVIER No. There "is" something I need to bring to your attention and get feedback from as many X-Men as I can.

STORM What about?

PROFESSOR XAVIER Nathan and Lucas are in the field. They can’t make it. Hopefully the others will be here by tomorrow night. For now, rest, relax. I actually thought they would arrive before you got here.

STORM It has been a while.

PROFESSOR XAVIER Yes. It has.

33.

GAMBIT We’re having dinner together, like ol’ times?

They head for the kitchen area.

PROFESSOR XAVIER Precisely. I think it would be the best environment to have this conversation.

...To Be Continued.

Fan FictionScript
Like

About the Creator

Eric C. Jackson

Sharing my passion for an eclectic group of Subjects including Fiction, Photography, and Gaming.

Reader insights

Good effort

You have potential. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.