Fiction logo

Write to Harry Hsia

Thoughts are like dreams gone. Remember, I think of you as a brother

By Saanvi TaniyaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Write to Harry Hsia
Photo by Bill Eccles on Unsplash

smile at you, and pull your ears, I like the way your ears stand up.

  I'm hungry and eat cookies. You stand in front of me, staring at me, licking your lips. I put the cookies in your bowl and you lick them before you eat them, rather like me. We both ate the bag of cookies and neither of us was full. I went to cook instant noodles, separate to serve, two half bowls, you are too hot, lying in front of the bowl, guarding their rice bowl, waiting for the rice slowly become cold. I finished eating, you have not eaten, I tease you, make a gesture to eat your rice, you woofed, stingy guy.

  You have been sleeping at the head of my bed, why are you sleeping in your mother's room again, she asked you to come out why so disobedient? She hit you, but not too hard, why did you scream so much, she got angry and hit you again, why did you try to bite her, she hit you with something, why didn't you run out, I had to call you before you came out. That day you were beaten, I was heartbroken, Harry, when I was a child, my mother also beat me like this, I ran, and it was fine.

  You woke up early in the morning, I was still sleeping, and when I opened my eyes, you are lying on my pillow, staring at me, seeing me wake up, excited, with a smile at me. When I touched your head, you squinted your eyes, a very intoxicated look. I talk to you, and I say good morning, Harry, good buddy. You seem to understand as if you are very happy.

  You have a bad appetite in the morning and are as lazy as I am. I watch TV and you start sleeping, or lying on the floor in deep thought, with a very sad look, like a poet. Did you miss your siblings, so did I. When you were very young, the guy who carried you, was my brother, he went into the army, do you remember? He always rode his bike to buy you liver to eat.

 So easily the sun came out, you were so happy you couldn't stay at home anymore. I went out to play with you, you ran in front, sniffed the wall, sniffed the dirt, and ran to a little boy, let him touch your back, more people, more cars, I called you, you ignored me, I was angry, stood there and did not move, a while you panting and ran over, look at me in a circle next to me, do not know how to admit fault, forget it, I forgive you.

  I am very angry that you forget about me when you eat, I told you to ignore it, and keep on eating. Then I thought that love to eat is your nature, and can be considered a gourmand. It's not easy for you to get fat in this section, your belly is round, you have reached middle age, and a little fat is good.

  When I was leaving to pack my suitcase, you were watching, very curious, and jumped into the suitcase, I wanted to close it and take you away, but the school explicitly forbids pets, in my eyes, you are not a pet, but a person, you and I live together, sleep on the same bed, accompany each other, never leave each other.

  The morning I left, you woke up early and saw me carrying my things as if I was going out, you were so excited that you jumped and jumped, thinking that I was taking you out again, you stood at the door, waiting for me to open the door and then rushed out. I knelt, stroking your head, and you licked my hand with your warm tongue. I say, Harry, I'm leaving, be good and don't be naughty. I put the bread in your bowl, you run to the bowl to eat, I pull the door open, go out, and shut the door heavily, I heard you scream twice, you were cheated again.

  Sitting on the train, I think one of the things I regret most is not protecting you that day. That day we went out to play, happy to return, who knew that halfway to kill a black dog, it scampered up a bite unsuspecting you, it pressed you to the ground, you can not fight back, looking at me pitifully, I can only scream, not dare to come closer. In the end, the owner of the black dog arrived to rescue you. The hair on my spine was bitten off a large handful, and I felt guilty that day. At night, when you were asleep, I lay next to you and looked at you, Harry, I'm sorry, are you in pain?

  Sometimes I wake up in the morning and think it's time for Harry to wake up, to stretch, to walk around the house. Even wake up in the morning, in tears, think we have two months to see the above, you want to go back to you must find a companion, Mr. Harry so handsome, always can not be alone in life.

  One night Mom called and said she was going to Fujian and would be there for a long time and Harry was sent to Grandma's house. I know you'll go to someone's house and not eat for days, Harry, don't do that, I'm over here and it's hard.

  You must live well, don't have any accidents, wait until I come back, wait for the day when my brother visits his family, Harry.

  Thoughts are like dreams gone. Remember, I think of you as a brother.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Saanvi Taniya

I work with intention and initiative, am down-to-earth and careful, can withstand large work pressure, and have a strong sense of responsibility! I have strong language and communication potential.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.