Fiction logo

Write In The Middle Of It

A Love "Story" 22

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Write In The Middle Of It
Photo by Kat Stokes on Unsplash

Brett flew out of the alley and sprinted the seven blocks back to the room. He was half hoping that Sadiah was there lying on the bed, but he knew that she wasn't. When he rushed in the door he saw what he feared, an empty bed. Brett threw himself on the floor and gathered all of Sadiah's belongings and threw them on top of the bed. He then grabbed the trash can and dumped its' contents on to the floor replacing it with Sadiah's belongings. He didn't even lock the door when he left and barreled down the stairs. When he reached the door to go outside he ran smack into Erik.

"Damn dawg." Brett frowned.

Erik pushed him back forcefully, "Damn yourself. Slow the fuck down already."

Brett a little stunned from the knock changed his expression because now was not the time for bullshit.

"You right, my bad." He attempted to keep walkin when Erik grabbed him by his shoulder.

"Yo, have you seen Mekayla."

Brett frowned again, "What's it to you?"

"Look mothafucka, I was just lookin for her that's all." Erik growled.

"Yeah well, I saw her. We were at The Basement, then I walked her home." Brett said as if he accomplished somethin.

Erik's expression changed from disgust to concern. "She ain't answer her door."

"Maybe she don't want to see you!" Brett said growing some balls again.

Erik sucked his teeth and balled up his fist and clocked Brett right in his jaw. The blow sent Brett flying backwards, scattering the contents of the trash bag all over the street. Erik saw Sadiah's underwear, make-up and her left over drug paraphernalia. He picked up a pair of panties with the spoon and straddled Brett, who was propped up on his elbows holding his jaw. Erik threw the spoon at Brett's head.

"I knew you were a bitch, but damn man, panties?" Brett went to get up but Erik pushed him back down on to the sidewalk again.

"Nah don't even try it. And stay the fuck away from Mekayla." Erik stepped over Brett,

“Damn freak." he said as he continued to walk down the street kicking the contents of the trash bag as he walked.

The fuck if I will. Brett thought. As a matter of fact, as soon as I cleaned up this garbage, I’m going to go see her before Erik gets to her.

"What did you just say to me?" Mekayla blurted out between sobs.

The cabby looked at her via the rear- view mirror and softly smiled, "I asked you if you wanted a napkin to wipe your face." He handed her a napkin over the seat.

"I usually keep tissues in the cab, you know for situations like this."

Mekayla took the napkin and sighed. She didn't notice the cabby when he first drove her to Kevin's because she had more pressing issues on her mind. But when she looked at him now she noticed the brother had really kind eyes framed by stylish glasses. He wore a light brown leather coat with matching skullcap. His slight smiled accented by a meticulously groomed goatee.

"You have a lot of situations like this?" She asked wiping away at her eyes.

The cabby smiled a little wider showing his gleaming teeth.

"Sweetie, I have worked the late shift on this cab for about three years now. I have seen it all." He seemed to know where he was going without taking his eyes off of Mekayla.

"That your man?"

Mekayla nodded, "So I thought."

He took his focus off of her to concentrate on the road. "So you think you caught him? See that's why I tell my woman to never come over unannounced. What looks like ain't always."

Mekayla huffed, "Well if you are gonna cheat on your woman, I guess that's the best advice to give her."

The cabby laughed, "No, no. You have me all wrong. I would never cheat on my lady. She's a good woman, has a head on her shoulders and she loves me to pieces. I'm sayin sometimes a man gets himself in situations that look worse than they really are."

"Yeah well, that wasn't the situation in my case." Mekayla shrugged now wishing she never entertained this conversation.

"Oh yes it was." The cabby said unveiling his full, beautiful smile. "Did you notice how that man ran after you? He wasn't messing with that girl. Whatever you saw, you saw, but he wasn't cheating."

"He was too busy to come see me this weekend and yet he had a girl in his apartment, drinking and dancing with her!!" Mekayla's voice became louder, "He never dances with me."

"Did he try to explain anything to you?"

"I didn't give him a chance to."

The cabby chuckled again, "Yeah I kinda figured as much by how fast you darted down those steps. I barely had enough time to put your fare in my wallet. You shoulda stayed and talked to him. I'm sure he had an explanation."

"Figures a man would say that." Mekayla snapped.

"No,” he said matter of fact, "Not just a man, but a wise man that has seen this situation before, many times."

"You really don't know anything about my situation." Mekayla sighed and glared at the pleasant looking cabby through the rear-view mirror.

"I know more than you think. You guys have been in a long- distance relationship, I know because I picked you up from the train station. It's serious, because you took out your key to his place before you even paid me my money. And you aren't exactly guilt free yourself." He said now locking eyes with Mekayla through the mirror.

Mekayla frowned at him. "What makes you think I'm guilty of something?"

He smiled widely, "Why else would you come unannounced in the wee hours of the morning, with hardly any luggage?"

Mekayla's mouth dropped open. He had her. Read her like a three-day-old newspaper, quickly and without concern. She sighed but did not take her focus off of his smirking face. "I'm sorry what was your name?"

"I never gave it to you, “he said smiling, "but it's Ebon."

"Well Ebon,” she huffed sarcastically, "I'm not paying you for your advice. I'm paying you to drive the cab. So no disrespect, but drive the cab."

"Okay lady," Ebon said, "but you ain't payin for this cab ride."

"And why is that?" Mekayla snapped.

"Because I am doing you a favor. I could tell by the way that man damn near fell down those steps that he loves you. And no matter what it is you think you saw, it can be worked out. Shit she could’ve been teachin him how to dance so he can dance with you for all you know."

Mekayla was now feeling he face become flush with anger, "And what exactly does that have to do with me paying for this cab ride?"

Ebon smiled "Everything. That man will be at that train station within ten minutes after I drop you off. You all will argue make up and you will be in another cab on his way back to his place for some great make up sex and breakfast. I'm just savin you the extra fare."

Mekayla now rolled her eyes, "Whateva." She had to smile at him. "What if you are wrong?"

Ebon cleared his throat, "I'm not. But to humor you, I never take money from women in distress. That includes pregnant women, drunk women, women coming back from the police station, and women I pick up in the wee hours of the morning that think they catch their men cheating on them. So if I am wrong, at least I'm charitable."

Mekayla's expression softened as she looked out the window, "Let's hope you are right Ebon," she said softly, "Let's hope you are completely right.”

Love
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.