Fiction logo

World's End Island

A Moment at the End of the Earth

By SS ReedPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Stars 01 (MK) by Mathias Krumbholz, Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0

There’s a light sea breeze tonight.

Her sundress,

as golden as the great sandy shore beneath her feet,

ripples in the gentle wind.

She holds a hand atop her straw hat,

one as white as the full moon itself (and just as wide),

as to not be carried away in a gust.

She continues to study the cosmos,

and the plethora of twinkling stars it produces.

On this night, the young woman has experienced true beauty.

It’s not too often that we receive visitors here,

on our tiny little island at the end of the Earth.

My wife, bless her heart, is back at the house,

preparing a meal should our guest choose to stay for dinner.

Meanwhile, I found it best to check up on her.

Enjoying the scenery, miss?

I call out to her spot by her water.

I didn’t mean to snap her out of her moment,

but she seems almost startled by my appearance.

She’s quick to the realization, though,

and she answers with a smile as bright as the midnight sun.

It’s truly one of a kind!

I slowly make my way onto the beach to stand beside her.

It’s funny, really.

My wife and I had the exact same reactions

when we first saw the view on this island.

We knew right away that we would retire here,

and while we’re still in awe at the sights a decade later,

I guess we’ve just grown used to the whole deal.

Seeing someone like this,

reacting to it all for the first time,

really brings me back.

To think, one could go their entire life

without knowing this place even exists…

I’m not too clear on if she’s talking to herself or to me.

For now, I feel I should keep quiet and listen.

Had I known how gorgeous it would be,

I would’ve brought my camera.

I don’t think I’d ever want to leave!

Even with her talking,

it’s almost a quiet moment between us,

as we let our senses take it all in:

The smell of the salty sea air,

the sounds of the waves crashing ashore—

(Ka-cha!)

—and the feeling of cold metal handcuffs

being slapped onto my wrist.

Wait, wha…??

But, alas, I have a very important job to take care of.

I’m sure you understand…

She glances at me with a smile sly enough for a fox to envy.

…O’ So Great Phantom Thief, Sir!

…Well, there’s no use in keeping up this old man charade any longer.

I clear my throat and compose myself.

It sure feels great not having to hunch over like that anymore!

So, what gave me away this time?

She almost seems offended by my remarks.

How many disguises have you dawned now?

A hundred?

A thousand?

Do you honestly not expect me to see

through each and every single one of them?

It’s just like she promised me.

She would chase me to the ends of the Earth.

No wonder why everyone calls her The Most Special Agent.

Now c’mon.

The police boat’s waiting at the dock.

I’m taking you in.

Now having cuffed my hands together in front of me,

she wastes no time leading me across the shore.

Seeing Ms. Special Agent switch from casual to business so quickly,

it’s almost frightening.

Ah, wait, hold on!

I need to buy some time, and this is all I can think to do.

You’re not gonna take back what I stole tonight?

The agent stops. I knew my words would puzzle her.

You…you stole something?

On this island?

What could you have…?

Now’s my chance!

From the air, I summon a flower into my fingers.

A marigold.

Her namesake.

I bow down to her as I present the gift.

Realizing its meaning, as well as tonight’s events,

her face grows red enough to boil the waters.

And with my parting words as I vanish into the night…

Tonight, I have stolen…your heart.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

SS Reed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.