Fiction logo

Working in Opposite Directions

Working in opposite directions

By Mohandas YorkPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

When I started my career, the company hired three interns at the same time, me, Amy and Lao Zhu.

As assistants, each of us worked on a minor project, and all we did was take calls, pass on work orders, sit in on meetings and take minutes.

The three of us often complain about the boredom of work, the hardships of life, and occasionally talk about our ideals. Yes, as a foreigner struggling alone in Shanghai, if there is no ideal support, how can you survive the initial difficult years?

A few months later, the project that Lao Zhu served fired our company. The company reorganized and distributed the important personnel, and dismissed the less important personnel such as Lao Zhu.

The three of us had dinner together and Lao Zhu said he was going to leave even if the company didn't fire him. Because in such a precarious small company, no future!

I listened to what Lao Zhu said. After carefully "doing the math" on my income and expenses and finding that I couldn't make a difference by staying with the company for two years, I quit the following spring and moved to a larger company that featured overtime.

Amie stayed at the same company, but moved from planning to sales.

In the following two years, I worked on seven projects by myself and worked overtime for seven days a week. My professional ability and salary increased gradually, and I was able to live in a good house, eat good food and have a slight surplus in monthly salary.

However, the most serious consequence of the endless overtime was my physical condition, dizziness, ringing in my ears and, for a time, hearing voices.

One day I was so tired that I fell down a flight of stairs. It was nothing serious, but I spent a whole week in a hospital bed.

I thought I could have a rest, but my leader said: the project is with you, others can not take it. You broke your leg now, not your hand. As soon as you can sit up, take your laptop to the hospital and keep doing it.

Naturally, I refused, and cried bitterly for it. The leader thought about it, decided to give me another two thousand salary. For the $2,000, I went to the.

After coming out of the hospital, I thought a lot, think the most is, what do I want?

For the first time, I thought carefully about the business I was in. In this industry, if you want to do well, you have to work ten times harder than anyone else. I am a traditional woman, before marriage can focus on work, but after marriage will certainly give most of the time to family. To continue in this profession, the family will not be able to juggle. This is not what I want, and besides, this industry is not my only one. That said, I need to give myself more options.

After resigning, I found a company ranked in the industry and became a supervisor based on my previous work experience, and then gradually promoted to project manager and department manager.

In these years of time, I learned psychology, took an examination of the national secondary psychological consultant, and successively through friends to undertake some business. In his spare time, he also writes articles, writing columns for his friend's magazine and co-writing scripts with screenwriters.

It can be said that several lines are developing at the same time, and the time is evenly distributed. Although it is not very good, it can also be considered proficient. With such efforts, I am more confident and no longer confused, and think that I have found the life I want at this stage -- with my own efforts, do specific things in a specific stage of life, do not blindly seek fast, do not be greedy, do not rush or slow, and promise myself a future step by step.

In the past few years, Ami has married a man, a house in Shanghai, a husband by her side, and a baby on the way. Lao Zhu became the director of a company.

If I call again, Amie will complain to me that my husband works too hard, so that she won't worry. Lao Zhu would complain to me that it was the post-90s generation, a group that often didn't communicate well.

But instead of complaining, we talked more about houses, cars and stress.

I never asked them what they went through in the process. I know, want to get, must pay ten times the effort, their hardships in this process, not less than me.

Maybe some people will say, I have tried very hard, but the results are too far away. All I can say is that either you're setting the wrong goals, or you're working in the wrong posture, or you're not working hard enough.

"How hard we have to work to look effortless." The hardships in this process, only the people who have worked hard know. And only when you climb to the top, the whole mountain will depend on you.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Mohandas York

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.