Fiction logo

Who knew chocolate cake would be my fate?

What is Fate?

By thewanderingseekerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It began this morning in the heart of the city as the snowflakes were welcoming my soft cheeks. The sky was grey, the pond frozen over, the winds dancing with my scarf. Walking the way I walk, being who I am, I knew it was time for a coffee. It was time to bring warmth to this brisk world that I had awoken to this morning.

Smiles of strangers inspired hope into my eyes as I walked along the path.

Does the day hold something new? I asked myself.

Yet somehow I already knew.

The sun seemed to shine a little brighter, the birds chirped a little louder, the ground a little more grounding, life a little lighter, the air a little wiser.

The closer I got to where I was going, oh my favourite coffee shop. The louder my soul sang with joy for it was time for my mourning splendour. The line a little bigger than usual, yet I remained content. Surely enough I was up. Without words I was known, a regular to this place, a home.

Pulled out some coins; call me old fashioned, exchanging them for my prize. Off to the table by the window to watch the mystery of life, I waited for my order contently full of joy.

People of all different shades passed by, different flavours of life. Some with dogs strolling towards the park, some in suits on their way to their all so serious jobs, some wearing the most absurd outfits; yes, I call them family. The buildings full of people, the secrets that they behold. Couples walking past that know nothing more than their love. The frowning and the smiling, ones at peace, ones searching for it. Oh, this place is strange, bewildered in the endless unfolding of it all.

"Oat Mocha, with a slice of chocolate cake?" The waitress interrupted.

Startled lost in my gaze, "Oh sorry, yes, thank you! Although I did not order any cake?"

"It's on us." She responded with a smile then walked away.

I knew today was special, a piece of chocolate cake! Oh, the mysteries of life are something I cannot mistake. Overflowing with grace and an inner smile, I embraced the gift of the day.

Suddenly I was interrupted again, "Excuse me, may I sit with you? All the tables are full and its much to cold to stand outside."

"Oh of course, go ahead! What is your name?" I asked.

"Grace". She responded.

"How is the cake? Looks delicious!" She asked.

"Oh I have not started yet, would you like to share it with me?" I responded.

"Thank you but unfortuantely I'm alergic to chocolate, I'm a stranger to chocolate I have never heard it's tale, can you tell me what it is like?" She asked.

I continued to take a bite, I chewed slowly, embracing everything it was, the richness of it, I swallowed.

I then sipped my coffee as the waitress placed hers on the table in the midst of us.

I looked into her eyes as she waited patiently to hear the comfort of my words, I said;

"It is like a warm summers daze, comforting like no other, from the breeze of discontent. It melts into nothing more than sweetness that fills my soul, it nourishes all desire like nothing else. It fulfills a place that cannot be fulfilled, it's greater than greatness and it comes with a cost. It leads me astray, I lose myself in it, yet I remain knowing of home because this is where it brings me to, this sensation that I share with you."

Then everything went silent, the whole universe stopped.

Derived from her lips, this is what followed:

"Who knew chocolate cake would be my fate, the meeting of my soul mate?"

Oh the day continued to unravel at such pace, without knowing anything, I knew lifes sweet taste.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

thewanderingseeker

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/thewanderingsweker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.