Fiction logo

We're good kids

It snowed heavily on my birthday

By Parton BTangPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The day before yesterday, in order to search for an old data, I struggled to remove the box, open in the sun out of the wood peculiar smell of damp rot box almost carries all my memories of junior high school ugly blue and white school uniforms, color of the old graduation photos, those young smiling faces scattered in the ends of the earth, but still fresh memories. Colorful classmates on the childish handwriting, germinating oath...... There is a small MP3 at the bottom of the box. I tried to open it. In an instant, the sweet voice was exposed to the sun, "Open the window and look at the white bird on the horizon..."

Floating in the air voice let the heart of a small piece of memory gradually clear. The first time I met Colin was in the class of the second grade of junior high school. The sun was dazzling, there were no birds outside the window, and cicadas were chirping noisily. English teacher on the platform of the spit flying, suddenly push them into her wake up in class to make up for sleep I. Good-looking, timid face, no dodge when introducing himself. "Standard good student" I secretly defined, deeply bored I continued to sleep. Unexpectedly, she sat beside me, at that time I did not have a deskmate, the reason is very simple: I do not have a calm, agreeable character, not in the eyes of the teacher good student, although I have a very beautiful report card. My seat was in the corner of the last row. There was no blind spot for the teacher to notice. I guess I misjudged this "good student".

Colin's arrival made us instant friends. After contact, I found that this report card is more beautiful than my beautiful girl even worse than my rebellion. We slept leaning against each other in class, read a novel together, and drew various cartoon versions of math teachers. Cover up and skip class and go to the movies. Rampaging through school, never wearing uniforms we thought were ugly, dropping ponytails after school to reveal multicoloured hair underneath, parading through town in ripped jeans and jingling chains. Our parents turned a blind eye to us because of our good report cards, which made us even more brazen. We did everything bad kids do except fight.

She always laughs and says to me, "You know, we are all good kids, so am I, just forgotten." Every time I hear her say this, I always fake smile a few times, "Is this your new joke, so funny, haha..."

Colin glanced at me and began to hum the song "We Are All Good Boys". It was the first time since I knew her that I saw her devout expression, which was quite different from the careless expression before. Colin's voice is clean, but I always feel that there is a sadness in it.

I put this song on my phone, and I play it all day. The song hasn't been played a few times. Colin disappeared. She left with her parents and went to a city in the south where it doesn't snow. I didn't go to see her off the day she left. I was afraid I would cry. Colin said with his usual banter: Don't come, I'll beat you if you make me cry. She left the day I secretly followed, watching the youth of the most dedicated friend step by step away from my world, she wore a hat we bought together, wearing the same boots as my feet to leave firmly. Until I could no longer distinguish her from the crowd. I turned and left just as firmly. Our youth is in a hurry.

On my birthday, the snow came as expected. Colin sent me a small MP3. When I opened it, I heard the familiar sound, and the sound of flowers blossomed everywhere. We're good kids, and we always believe,

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.