Fiction logo

We met on the train

A fiction based on dialogues between two strangers

By Mofrad MuntasirPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
We met on the train
Photo by Andrew Haimerl on Unsplash

Which MRT should I take to go to Esplanade?

The Yellow line should take you there. You can follow me, I am taking the same route too.

Thank you, are you going to Esplanade as well?

No, I am going to Marina Bay.

Great! I love MRT, they are so fast and easy to use.

Yeah, they are a blessing. What’s taking you to Esplanade? Are you going to catch a music show?

Not really, I love the ambiance. I like taking a book and reading it by the bay in the amphitheater.

Really! Wow, I have never heard of anyone doing that.

I know, but sometimes I like slowing the pace of life.

I don’t follow…

We live in such a busy and fast-paced time. A world where we hardly have time for ourselves. Whenever I get the chance, I try to slow things down by doing activities like reading, watching a performance, talking, or just soaking in life.

That’s an interesting point of view. I can relate to what you meant by a fast pace. I have hardly had a breather in the last few months. I am always running, running from one place to another. I don’t know how life became so busy.

Do you enjoy it?

I guess….I guess I do to some extent. Otherwise, why would I keep doing it? There’s so much to do.

That’s fair. Indeed, there’s so much to do. I attended an art class last weekend with strangers and it was super fun.

Do you paint as well?

Not really, but I thought what’s the harm in trying. And it was indeed fun!

Wow, most of the people I know are by-the-book kind of people. If I mention you to them, I know they are going to say that your way of living sounds risky.

You know, I would have said that too two years ago. But two summers ago, I met someone when I was flying out to Jakarta. At first, I was trying to keep the conversation as I had a lot in mind. Then she mentioned something that stayed with me and changed me forever.

What did she say?

Everything you lose, you can get back. But not time. You get older, and the time of your life keeps seeping away. Life teaches us through dark & harsh lessons. Yet after those lessons, we find ourselves in a better place. Please don’t allow those lessons to take up more time of your life than necessary. Fight back to get the time of your life back.

…Wow! I, I can’t believe it.

Yes, I was going through a tough time back then. I lost my job and was having trouble dealing with it. Everything seemed bleak to me. And the girl probably realized that. She showed me kindness and her words helped me get back on track. I realized by being occupied with what happened, I was putting my life in limbo.

I don’t know what to say.

You don’t have to. But let me say what I couldn’t that day. Thank you for being that person that day on the plane. You have no idea how much your kindness has helped me.

I have a question for you.

Sure, what is it?

This is not the first time you are going to Esplanade, are you?

….no, I go there frequently.

Then why did you ask me which train to take?

I was entering the station when I saw and recognized you. I was coming to say hi but then I overheard you. You were finishing a call saying “fine, I am coming to Marina Bay station” and you started crying. I could come up and still say hi. But I was not sure if that would help you. I wanted to return the favor.

….My boyfriend has been cheating on me. He is not even denying it. I tried to change things but nothing worked. I am going to break up with him today.

May I make a suggestion?

Yes, please. Although I think I know what you are going to say.

Fight back and regain the time of your life. If you are to break up, do it over the phone or text. You don’t have to waste any more time on this life lesson.

You know what? That doesn’t sound like a bad idea. I don’t have to ruin my afternoon in that way. Then what can I do with this extra time?

There’s a good ice cream place in Esplanade. To get to Esplanade, we will need to change the train at the next stop.

________________

Will you? Will you change your train?

Ask yourself, if the train you are taking is going to take you to your desired destination. If not, why are you still on it?

First published in Medium

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Mofrad Muntasir

Start

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.