Fiction logo

Warm and healing bedtime story "Mr. Brown Bear's Autumn

Autumn of Mr. Brown Bear

By Dylan M ParkinPublished 2 years ago 10 min read
Like

"You may not believe me when I tell you that I picked up a bird."

That was the first thing Mr. Brown Bear said when he sat down, and he was a little ruffled, probably because my delicate wicker chair was a little narrow for him.

I took a sip of tea withered leaves, poured a cup for Mr. Brown Bear, picked up the conversation and said, "So you're here today to consult me about raising birds?

"That's not true, miss." Mr. Brown Bear held up the tea and brewed for a while before speaking, "I picked up a bird at the beginning of this fall. I found him by a small river, the one not far from the canyon. He was all wet and dirty."

Mr. Brown Bear is notoriously clean in these woods, and I nodded sympathetically.

"There's not a single animal around there, not even a bird, it's really odd. Who would let such a small child in such a dangerous river? So I took him back home. Almost home he woke up, little eyes blinking and blinking, shining."

Mr. Brown Bear smiled a silly smile that reminded me of the smile he had when he stared at the beehive when spring came.

"I put him on the hay and at first he was a little scared, looking around warily. But it didn't take long for him to get sleepy, his little head pecking away little by little, like he was pecking rice... it was so cute! But after looking at it for a long time, I didn't recognize whose baby it was, let alone what kind of bird it was. I asked all the mothers the next day, but no one had lost their babies. I didn't know what to do anymore."

Mr. Brown Bear looked a little anxious, and the scar on his face was slightly red, which was said to have been scratched by a big wolf while protecting Miss Squirrel's family.

***

"As you know, how can a brown bear keep a small bird? Not to mention a little bird cub like that! I could have crushed him with a single roll over in my sleep."

Mr. Brown Bear took a sip of tea with dead leaves and paused for a moment.

"I wanted to visit you at that time, but I was busy at that time, so I couldn't find the time to come, so I had to take him out every day to pick something, and look for something the bird could eat."

I asked him if he had given the bird a name, Mr. Brown Bear scratched his head and said he was not very good at naming, for the time being, the bird was called Autumn, I smiled and said good name.

He went on to say: "Miss, you do not know ah, autumn is really a troublemaker! The first day I took him out, he almost broke Grandpa Owl's presbyopic glasses; I was looking for mushrooms that weren't poisonous, and he ran off to look at this and that, making a mess of the hay that Miss Rabbit had collected; I went to pick fruit, and he went to Miss Nightingale's house, scaring the children and making them cry; Miss Cuckoo was singing, and he had to go and join in the fun, messing up Miss Cuckoo's song ...... Alas, I dare not take him out now."

Mr. Brown Bear held his head, sad face sighed.

I reassured him that the child is still small, just a little naughty, you talk to him well, he will listen to your words.

"Yes, he is still small, but ......"

Mr. Brown Bear wanted to say something, and then sighed helplessly.

I looked at him and saw an expectation in the helplessness.

After sending Mr. Brown Bear away, I thoughtfully sat back on the wicker chair, the little bird called Autumn is probably Mr. Eagle's child, right?

When I picked up the pen, I remembered what Mr. Brown Bear said when he left.

"If you can ...... I hope you can help Autumn find his parents."

He hesitated for a long time before saying this, but he told me anyway, with hope and reluctance on his face, and a little satisfaction.

I stared at the feathers on the pen and fumed, and put the pen aside again, for the time being.

***

This matter took a turn for the worse in the early spring of the following year, a season of recovery.

The river broke the ice, singing a silver bell-like song, flowing happily, the forest animals also gradually woke up from hibernation.

On a sunny morning, Mr. Brown Bear found me in a hurry.

I noticed that Autumn on his shoulder seemed to have little strength.

Before Mr. Brown Bear could say anything, he tucked Autumn into my arms and said to me hand and foot, "What if Autumn can't fly?

I gestured for him to calm down, then invited him to his seat as usual and listened to him slowly say what happened.

"I was going to let Autumn learn how to fly from this spring, and he was interested, so I sent him to Mr. Swallow who had just returned. As you know, Mr. Swallow is very hardworking and strict, I was a little worried at first that Autumn would not be able to bear it, but he came home every night looking very happy, and I gradually put my mind at ease."

"But suddenly, one day, Mr. Swallow came back with Autumn on his back, which really scared me at that time. Mr. Swallow told me that Autumn was afraid that she would not be able to fly."

I nodded my head, I expected this day would come.

Autumn was listless in my arms, Mr. Brown Bear said he was obviously a little bigger than he was in the fall, but seemed thinner than that, I checked Autumn's wings, there were a few scratches from scraping into branches, and a few small bruises on his body, none of them serious.

But fortunately, no broken wings.

I went to the cabinet and found a small greenish-purple bottle from the assortment of bottles and jars. I opened the cork and took out a few small dried snakes from it and fed them to Autumn.

After calming Mr. Brown Bear, I crossed my fingers and said seriously to Mr. Brown Bear that Autumn was not an ordinary bird, he was the lost youngest of Mr. Eagle.

Mr. Brown Bear dumbfounded, stammered for a long time, but could not say a word.

***

Mr. Eagle's letter was sent to me as early as halfway through the winter, and I only answered his letter at the beginning of this spring.

With it came the parting.

I left Autumn in my cabin, waiting for Mr. Eagle's arrival.

I made Autumn something delicious, but he was still sullen. Autumn asked me if he could stay, he didn't want to leave Mr. Brown Bear.

I gently stroked him and said I don't want Autumn to leave Mr. Brown Bear, but Autumn can no longer stay here, you will get sick if you stay here, and you don't want Mr. Brown Bear to be sad because of you, right?

Autumn did not speak again, buried his head in my arms, I gently patted him.

Autumn is a good boy.

During this period, Mr. Brown Bear often come to stay with Autumn, a very tacit understanding, no one mentioned the matter of leaving again, they both play as usual, only the eyes occasionally show the emotions of reluctance.

Three days later, did not wait for Mr. Eagle, only to wait for a letter.

I did not open the letter, the heart guessed a eight or nine, but still waiting for the arrival of Mr. Brown Bear, no matter what the result, we should all bear together.

Autumn has gained some weight in the past two days, squatting on the table to survey the envelope, he is much more spirited than when he first arrived, even the feathers look more shiny.

The midday sun was very strong, falling from the skylight on the roof, laying on my tall cabinet, dazzling light reflected from the dappled bottles.

The vintage clock ticked away, and Mr. Brown Bear, who usually feels like a frequent visitor, now felt so late to the party.

The expectant knock finally sounded at 12:43, followed by a fluffy head, smiling eyes, and a scar on his face.

***

At exactly one o'clock, all three of us stared unblinkingly at the envelope with a slight chill on the table.

I took out the shiny letter opener from the drawer and carefully scraped away the fire lacquer with cedar patterns. I must say, from the material of the envelope and the print on the fire lacquer, I could tell that Mr. Eagle was a man of honor.

But what kind of ending will this very fine letter bring us?

"Dear Miss: Although a little late, I am very glad that you replied to my letter. And I am very grateful to you for taking care of your canine son, but I still have to tell you a sorry news ......"

I didn't read the rest of the words after that, but quickly skimmed through the rest of it, and then let out a long sigh.

Mr. Brown Bear and Autumn saw that I was this reaction, very frustrated, also followed the sigh.

I face sad, then said in a sad tone, there are two news, a good one and a bad, you want to hear which one first?

A bear and a bird look at each other, not a sound.

All right then, listen to the bad first.

The general meaning of the letter is that Autumn has missed the golden period of development, even if now re-feeding the right food will be difficult to reach the standard of a normal hawk later, the law of nature is the survival of the strongest. Mr. Eagle has thought twice about asking me to keep taking Autumn in, because it is too dangerous to return to Mr. Eagle.

"So the bad news is that Autumn can't go back to Mr. Eagle. The good news is that Autumn can stay!"

I looked at a bear and a bird in front of me eyes bursting with sparks of disbelief, followed by elation.

"Miss you are so bad!"

Autumn chirped and complained about me, and Mr. Brown Bear glared at me.

I smiled playfully and the quiet cabin was filled with unprecedented joy.

Then Mr. Brown Bear began to worry about what Autumn would eat in the future or a problem. I said I could provide Autumn with suitable food, but, Autumn's honey should be shared with me.

I cleared my throat and said, I have one more request.

Two pairs of eyes looked at me in unison.

I went on to say, of course Autumn can not be pampered like this for life, my request is that after Autumn's body recovers, learn to fly with Mr. Swallow, and then, I am still missing a messenger.

I looked at them both, know what I mean, right?

A year later, there was a swift little eagle in this forest.

It is said that he is the exclusive letter eagle of the witch who lives in this forest.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.