Fiction logo

Until We Close Our Eyes For Good

A story based on a song

By Jose SanchezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Until We Close Our Eyes For Good
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

A stroll in these parts of town is rarely just a stroll. Today that much was proven to me. After a long days haul I’m carryin my backpack. Its been a while since i hoped for rain. Nowadays I’m so tired of the hear ‘round here I’d settle for some sprinkles. As I made it to the next town over I see a pretty little lady making lots of eye contact with me.

“Howdy stranger,” she called out. “Haven't seen men big ‘n strong like you round these parts. You must be from out of town.”

Normally I wouldn't be enticed. Today was a different day.

“Why hello there, pretty lady. I reckon you’d be right. I’m from a little town southa hell no ones ever heard of,”

“Handsome and charming. You sure aren’t from around here. What brings you ‘round?”

“Just doin’ a little bit o’ business. Had some cleanin’ up to do in town,”

“So you’re a cleaner huh? My house is mighty dirty. You wouldn’t mind stoppin’ by to clean it up now would ya? Only thing is… I ain't got money. I’m sure we can fix that now can’t we?”

As she laid a paw on my chest I pulled out a portion of my earnins from work.

“You’re such a sweet young thing. Why do you do this to yourself?”

She snatched the money and hissed back.

“I got bills to pay! I got mouths to feed. You ever thought of that?! No. Men like you just know… hpmh!”

And just like that. Stormed off. I had just grabbed my bag and got back on the road when I noticed a shady figure followin’ me around. Normally I wouldnt pay mind but this young man was literally in my foot steps. As man turns as I took he took about five or six steps away. I ducked into an alley way and just as I thought thought I had lost them, I hear the click of a revolver. I put my bag down and put my hands up.

He said “Give me all you’ve got, I want your money not your life. Make a single move and I won’t think twice to send ya to the pearly gates.”

I saw a glimmer in his eye that let me know this wasnt what he wanted to be doin’. I had seen that glimmer before once and I felt for the man.

I told him “You can have my cash but first you know I gotta ask… what made you wanna live this kind of life?”

“Not that it matters to ya. But I been like this long as I can remember. What’s that thing they always say? Ain’t no rest…”

As i pulled out the cash I completed his phrase. “For the wicked,”

Hours had passed before I made it to my little safe haven empty handed. I flipped my tv to the 6 o’clock and what I heard shook my foundation. There was a preacher on the news. Caught shoveling church goin’ money into his own pockets. Strange that a righteous man like that could be caught doin’ somethin’ so selfish. But to be honest I can’t say much. Sittin’ in a room filled with money I’ve stolen from bank after bank, town after town, I guess I can say I understand we all seek out to satisfy our thrills.

It hurts to see simple townsfolk in so much trouble they have to resort to bein a criminal. The crazy thing is I was one of them. And now? I’m a criminal because I like it.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Jose Sanchez

Howdy! I’ve been writing for about 9 years now. Everything from plays to graphic novels to short stories to haiku’s about hating retail. Thanks for the support! Feel free to follow me on social media. Enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.