Fiction logo

Two realities

the virtual reality and the showbiz reality

By Hareem NadeemPublished 3 years ago 24 min read
1

*this is an original story based on the style of numerous Chinese novels. the plot having any resemblance with a person, place, thing, or idea is merely a coincidence.*

Xia Mingfei was a girl who had seen it all in her short life of 22 years. she was someone who grew up an orphan, had no friends or family, had no money and no love life, she was completely miserable. Nevertheless, her optimistic outlook on life never let her give up and she always sought to do her best. However, what was the use of that when she was dead!!!

Suddenly Transmigrated to the body of an antagonist actress/singer with numerous anti-fans and a bad reputation she felt completely lost. She would not give up nonetheless and promptly adjusts to her new life, trying to rectify the errors of her previous host. The biggest mistake she is more than ever determined to fix, the enmity between her idol and the previous owner of this body!

'Hey, Shu Zinglu why did you live like there was no tomorrow!?! How am I supposed to fix your messes now!'

____________________________________________________

CHAPTER 1

"Shu Zinglou, I am warning you! If you come near me again I will not let you off so easily."

The individual whom I had loved and admired for so many years was now walking away from me. After seeing the resentment in eyes directed at me, I nearly thought I had wronged him. However, the undeniable reality is it was not me who his hostility was directed at. It was Shu Zinglu whose body I am presently in. The girl had so many foes in her life I am amazed no one has tried to me assassinate me already for the past two weeks that I have inhabited her body.

Well since you may be utterly perplexed at this opening scene let me go back to the true beginning of this story. In fact, let's go ahead and commence with the prologue. My name is Xia Mingfei, or at least it used to be before I perished in a tragic accident. I was a 22-year-old college student whose dream was to be a queen in the Entertainment industry. However, my inadequate background of an orphan with no money or connections had me barely getting by with the roles of an extra. In my opinion and a few kind-hearted colleagues as well I was a good actor stuck in a bad spot. I just need my one lucky change and I knew I'd hit it big. But life never goes the way you plan it.

One day after shooting the role of a maid in the drama, "Imperial Love," I was walking back to the hotel. Practically the whole duration of the trip I continuously felt a foreboding feeling as if someone was staring at me. I felt chills abruptly as I heard the breath of someone right behind me. As I was about to flee I was yanked from behind and whipped backward. As I knock down onto the ground I looked up at my predator to see a masked man holding a knife.

"W-why are you doing t-this?"

"Cause someone paid me to girlie, don't blame me, blame your bad luck."

As he finished his statement he swung his knife directly into my heart. Not even given a chance to scream or say my last words I died then and there. In the deserted streets of a foreign country with no one to mourn for me.

As I anticipated the afterlife the darkness enveloping me for what came off as years finally filled with light. I woke up in a sunlit room, hearing a beeping sound next to me. I soon realized due to the noticeable whiteness and medical equipment in the room I was hospitalized.

'Was I saved? Am I alive?'

Soon after that thought, a rushing headache took over me and I passed out again. Next, I awoke with the memory of my predecessor.

I was 19 years old, my name was Shu Zinglu and I am a B-Class actress in the entertainment industry. I have numerous anti-fans because of my numerous antagonist roles and my rich girl personality. I was the eldest daughter of the Shu family who owned Queen Enterprises. We were one of the top business families in the world with a noble background. However, I was an illegitimate daughter who was born before the marriage of my father from a one-night stand. My mother died giving birth to me and my father, although he took me in he never showed me love.  Although ignored by my father and his wife, I was very much adored by my grandfather and younger brother. He raised me with love and care and spoilt me with anything and everything. That was why the previous host had such an arrogant personality despite her origins. Shu Zinglu dreamed of entering the entertainment world and become the top due to her love for the famous top idol and actor, Yu Mingrui. He also happened to be my favorite celebrity whom I had followed since the beginning of his career. Ironically I was reborn into the body of the women whom everyone hated, especially God Yu's fans.

'How am I ever going to be able to be a fan of my idol if he hates me.'

As I thought this, the door of my hospital room opened and in came the nurse.

"Oh, you're finally awake. You have been unconscious for two days after you fell in the lake while shooting." A woman in her late 20s to early 30s said to the young girl sitting in a daze on the hospital bed.

"O-oh I see, um then when can I go home." Startled by Shu Zinglus mamager or jer manager I guess, she jumped in surprise before quickly regaining her composure. She couldnt let anyone catch on to her after all. The manager looked at the unusually quiet and calm girl in front of her with a raised eyebrow.

"I will call the doctor to do some final precautionary Checkups. after that, you can be discharged when your family fills the paperwork."

"Right my family, where are they?" Mingfei now Zinglu questioned her. Curious as to why no one showed up at the hospital room of the pampered young miss yet. She atleast had her grandfather and siblings in this life to love her. The manager gave her a small smile before replying,

"Your grandfather's secretary stopped by this morning. I will call to let him know you're awake. They will come to pick you up soon if your doctor allows you to discharge."

"Ok thank you so much Ran Jie,

––oh and before you go can I ask... if I could... Have anything to eat...?"  A blush crept onto her cheeks as she looked down in embarrassment. Holding the paper thin, flat stomach of Zinglu or what was now considered to be her body she sighed. It was really tough being an actress, we always had to be on a diet. A foodie like her could not stand the hardship.

"Pfft, of course, Zinglu, however not anything too heavy." The manager, Lu

Jingran, grinned at the rare cute Visage of the young miss. 

"Umm, then thanks."

"No problem miss."

Jingran and Zinglu exchanged there goodbyes before the ward was filled with silence again.

____________________________________________________

CHAPTER 2

In a private room of Yiliao Hospital, one of Beijings best hospitals, was an an old man with grey hair and a charismatic look unmatched for his age. He sat next to the bed the young girl was on. He held her hand and spoke to her with a concerned tone.

"Xiao Lu, your finally awake? are you feeling alright? if it hurt anywhere, tell grandpa. I told you that you don't have to work so hard, look at your condition. Your the Shu family's eldest daughter, what are you willingly facing hardships for?!" I rambled on making Zinglu chuckle. An orphan in her past life, she had only been thinking of the negative points of her current situation. One good thing that came out of it was a family. Although Shu Zinglu and her father weren't close to eachother, her grandfather and younger brother cared for her. She finally wasn't alone anymore. She felt grateful to the original Shu Zinglu for giving her this life, she would definitely make her life turn for the better.

"Grandpa, calm down. I'm fine, and I'm not only facing hardsiphs this was just a minor accident while filming. Being a top actor in the entertainment industry through my own efforts is my dream, you know. So suffering a little in my opinion is worth it." She smiled gently at the concerned old man, easing his worries. Convincing him with her rare expression of determination, he finally relaxed. Grandpa Shu sighed as he reminsced, "ugh you just had to get the same stubbornness from your father. Oh well, just do as you wish." He relented to his granddaughters stubborness to continue this career which made people look down on her continiously. However, since she was little he could never say no to her requests.

"love you grandpa, thanks so much." She leaned forward and hugged the man spoiltly, she had to act so if she didn't want others to be suspicious. Grandpa Shu patted the head of the young miss shu who was currently acting cute with him just like when she was young.

"alright, alright, don't strain yourself you just woke up."

She gave him a teasing salute while answering "ok."

The man soon left after making sure she had eaten and promised to come see her again after she was discharged if he had time.

Two days later, Zinglu was finally discharged and after a days rest at home she was back at work. Her manager giving her cautions, afraid of the original owners willful actions as a rich young miss these cautions and warnings were a daily thing for Jingran.

"Your going to be back to work now. You better be ready to take it all on Zinglou."

"ofcourse Ran jie, I can't wait. I'm getting all wrinkly lying in bed all day." She smiled at the worried woman next to her in the car. She knew that the old owner was a little troublemaker but she wasn't as stupid to continously ruin her reputation. After all it wasn't easy to get a second chance at her life and dreams. Surprised at this never before seen determination, her manager looked at her questionably.

"Oh maybe that head injury really was bad, it seemed to knock the laziness right out of you." She teased the unusually passionate girl before her.

"aiyaa Jie, only when you experience death can you realize the importance of life right." She said this in haste, sweating bullets secretly as she realized her passionaye demeanor was a problem too. Jingran jie smiled at her dramatics, giving her a final caution and encouragement.

"well i hope you keep up the attitude, cuz i only raise top stars alright."

"yes, ma'am!"

They walked in to the studio were the leads were shooting their scenes. The director sat and watched the monitor after the scene ended. She called out to him when she got close.

"director, im so sorry I missed the first week of shooting. I hope i didn't chase any serious delay in the schedule." She out on her most sincere apologetic expression to move to director to her good graces. The slightly surprised director was a little taken aback by the apology. Oh seems this miss doesn't like to apologize either. aiyaa its so hard to be a good person with her body.

"No, as long as your alright Miss Shu. I heard your injuries were pretty serious, is it OK to work for you now?" he cautiously questioned her, not wanting to cause any more accidents to the Young msis Shu and provoke her family.

"Ah yes, I'm completly fine now. I heard the assistant director tell me their was a change in the casting."

"Yes originally, Zhang wei was the second male lead for this drama but he had a schedule conflict so he pulled out and now the cast has been changed to Yu Mingrui." Wait, I must have heard that wrong for a second I thought I heard the director say that I was partnering with my idol for this drama.

"wait I'm sorry director can you repeat whst you just said?" She asked once more in anticipation to make sure she wasn't hallucinating.

"Yu mingrui is your partner for this drama, you two are the second leads." The director being aware that this spoiled girl in front of him had only joined the industry to chase God Yu only prayed there shooting days would be peaceful.

'Oh my God, I think I'm gonna be sent to the hospital again from this shock.' She dazedly staggered, trying to contain her excitement. 'but wait, doesn't My idol despise the original owner, even I know that she hass an obsessive one-sided crush on God yu and will do anythhing to get her way. She takes everything to the extreme! Oh my god, this has got to be the worst situation ever. So close and yet so far away.' She sighed, shaking her head in disappointment.

"Miss Shu?" The director confused by the dazed girl antics. This behavior was really unusual. He wondered if her brain was really hurt during the accident. Should he ask her manager to do a thorough checkup? Shinglu surprised by the voice of the director, jumped out of her daydreams.

"Ah-Ah! Yes I'm fine with that director, I'm absolutely, definitely fine with the new casting. No worries at all." She stuttered, trying to keep her cool.

"oookaay then." the director shook his head at the weird actress and walked away from her.

____________________________________________________

CHAPTER 3

"Hes here, omg."

"My god, he is even more handsome then on tv."

"Im going to faint, hold me."

"If only my boyfriend was half as good as God yu."

"You wish, there is no man that can efeat our God yu."

Zinglu listened to the crowd buzz in excitement inside and outside the studio. They people all stood up to greet the famous  Yu mingrui whose features were out of this world. He had a royal aura surrounding him but his cold untouchable atmosphere made him impossible to approach. The director was an opd accquitance of Yu mingrui so he had begged him for a favor to replace the second male lead who had canceled suddenly. Mingrui surprisingly agreed because contrary to everyone's expectations he really cherished those that were good to him. Those that offended him however, even hell was a better place for them than the living torture he would bring upon them. He walked into the room where the cast and main crew, the directors and writers were seated for the reading of the revised script. Zinglu stood up too her heart besting fast looking at her idol from so close. She had been a fan of his since he first debuted as a teen. His songs and enchanting voice captured her heart for some reason. As if he wasn't a stranger but a long lost friend, she had always cherished the man she believed to not know at all in her heart. Now in the body of the girl who her idol hated she did nto have the guts to confront him. She tried to hide her presence as much as possible. She backed up behind the crowd standing up to greet him. The greetings soon finished hoover and everyone settled in their seats. As they were both second leads in this drama, she had the misfortune of sitting next to him. As He coldly stared at her figure which she could feel burning into her back she shivered. Contemplating weather to greet him or not she decided it wws best to not be suspicous and greeted him in a bright tone like usual.

"Hi." He didn't even glance at her, in a monotone voice asking her,

"Your my partner?" Her heart almost leaped out of her chest and she didn't know if it was out of admiration for his lovely deep voice or out of fear for her life. She smiled, or atleadt tried to as naturally as possible.

"Yes, wonderful isn't it?" Sweat trickled down her back making her tremble a little. She tried to keep up her nonchalant front in the presence of the crew though.

"Who cast you?" Ok, she admitted his demeaning tone made her feel inferior. She didn't back down, Mingfei didn't even back down when she was acting as an extra in her previous life. So what if she was in front of her idol. That didn't give him the right to talk to her like that.

"My talent." She proudly said her chin up in a haughty manner. The crew started at them conversing in a shocked manner. They didn't knoe Zinglu was so brave to talk to the ice prince like that. He scoffed at her reply, muttering under his breath.

"The director must have been blind." Hearing the downgrading insult made the admiration she felt for the man momentarily disperse from her heart. She dramatically held her hand to her heart. Showing a tearful expression.

"Ouch. You shouldn't talk to a lady like this you know." He only continued to not glance at her at all.

"Wheres the lady?" She almost lept at his throat in anger at his remarks. She took a deep breath calming herself. She couldn't lose control, she was a celebrity. Showing her anher meant he won, she wouldn't that happen. Putting on the front that she was the bigger person of the two she held her hands up in surrender.

"Ugh, ok I lose."

"Hmph." His unaffected persona made the rage in her heart rise again. She put a smile on her face, stunning the crowd with her beauty. Loud enough for everyone around them to her she said in a sincere tone of respect to the cold man before her,

"Anyways, just put of with my repulsive presence during this project, your highness. Lets be professional and put our past behind us. I promsie I won't bother you." She coldly replied to her sincere monolouge with a short but effective statement.

"Your not worthy enough to bother me anyway."

Her left eye twitched at his spiteful remark. She admit she had been deceived alongside the netizens. This man wasn't some God Yu or Angel, he was a devil. A wolf in sheeps clothing I tell you! They continued the rest of the reading and meeting for future plans as if the previous banter between the two didn't occur. The director started at the teo and thought that they were surprisingly a match. No one had the guts and wits like Shu Zinglu to argue with Yu Mingrui like that. Yu Mingrui didn't even bother speaking with those he didn't like. This time however he had continuously replied to her. There harmonious aura had made the director look forward to the future and their onscreen chemistry. After they were done with today's work Zinglu looked beside her only to see the man leaving without greeting anyone goodbye.

She watched him stride off in an arrogant manner and was left befuddled by his rudeness. Although she understood the reason as currently she was in the body of a women who had continously taken things to the extreme to chase after the gorgeous man. She sighed, just imagining future interactions with her idol made her dread  this shooting.

____________________________________________________

CHAPTER 4

AYunxeng court, the apartment building with the most security and a beautiful view. The girl in apartment 102 was our very own Miss Shu. Arriving at her new home, she looked around the fancy house. it was decorated surprisingly simple which was the complete opposite of the original owners personality. The apartment had a garden outside to veranda that held beautiful flowers. Shu Zinglu and Mingfei had a surprisingly common interest of growing flowers. A two bedroom, large kitchen and living room, modern design apartment really was a luxury for mingfei who had lived in a one room apartment in a cheap neighborhood. She went inside her bedroom and went into the walk-in closet that resembled a boutique rather than a personal space. She found her pajamas by memory and changed into it. It was a little past evening time and she was tired after a days hard work. A busy celebrity life was something she wasn't used too. She was rather free in her previous life. She wasn't good at studying, she didn't have outstanding talents either. With no family, no potential, and no support the only thing that kept her going was the scholarship money she received from an anonymous person every month. It helped her get by in life and not wanting to make the money go to waste she didn't give up in school. So ending up as a university student who worked part-time to makes end meets, she had a really boring lifestyle. She looked at the beautiful girl in the bathroom mirror. She had long black hair and enchanting lavender eyes that captured ones soul. The charming mole under her right eye standing out amongst her fair face. She was skinny and had an average height but she had decent curves atleast. Her personality of a spoiled brat that obsessed over her 'love' and didn't take her work seriously ruined her beauty though. Mingfei had a long way to go to improve her image, she thought while sighing. Getting to bed, she laid their on her phone. Scrolling through her personal info, or Zinglus personal info you could say. She went into her transactions, suprised by the enormously high balance and each transaction wasn't less than 1,000 yuan. Noticing an oddity in the transactions she clicked more info to get details. She had found that Zinglu sent someone around 30,000 yuan monthly. For some odd reason Mingfei had a nagging feeling looking at the seemingly familiar bank account number that the money was being sent too. After not being able to recall why she found the number familiar she gave up. Putting the phone on charging, she tucked herself in and went to sleep.

The next morning she woke up to her phone ringing. Grabbing it off the nightstand she opened her sleepy eyes to see the caller ID. It was her manager calling so she quickly picked up, knowing she was most likely late for a schedule.

"Xiaolu are you still asleep? we have a photoshoot for 

Guardian Magazines summer edition today. It wasn't easy for the president to get that job for you using hi connections so we can't be late."

"Im so sorry Ran jei, Don't worry I defneimtly won't be late. I'm coming down right now!"

"you better hurry!"

she hung up the phone quickly flying off the bed towards the bathroom. quickly washing her hair she changed her clothes and took her makeup bag and purse with her downstairs to the parking lot where her manager was waiting for her. Running towards the black van while putting on her heels she hopped into the backseat.

"Told you I'd make it." she sighed loudly sprawled in the back seat panting tiredly. Jingran looked at her with a raised eyebrow through the back mirror while starting the car.

"Wow you really threw your image out the window. We have to be grateful your family is rich enough to give you this secure place otherwise paparazzi would be capturing images of your disgracrful appearance everyday."

"I don't appreciate that prickly tone of yours Ran Jie." she outed towards the older women.

"Oh I apologize young miss." Zinglu laughed at her Managers behavior and their banter. She had unknowingly become comfortable in this body to interact normally.

"are we almost their?" she drawled to her manager

"Yes we will stop at the next intersection, the studio is on the right side." Jingran said in a serious manner while driving.

"Im the only one shooting for their edition?" she asked her.

"No honey your sharing the cover with Popular idol Yang Yang from the group Z.one" she said lightly as if it wasn't a big deal to Zinglu.

"What really?" she almost screamed. She was a huge fan of their music or Mingfei was atleast.

"Yes please behave in front of him." Jimgran turned around to glaring at the girl with strictness.

"I will jeez, just what do you think of me." She scoffed getting of the car her appearance from this morning changed into an elegant young star.

____________________________________________________

CHAPTER 5

The photoshoot went well but the meeting with Yang Yang was surprisingly weird. I thought he was a gentleman but the man's gentleman demeanor was only in front of the staff! I couldn't believe it first devil Yu and now Yang Yang. Are all celebrities two faced. But then again maybe I am too? Ugh anyways not only did he not stop flirting with me, he kept winking at me to distract me from the photoshoot. I got scolded by the director becuase of him. I angrily got in my managers car and complained to Rain jie about my woes. "Ran jie why are all handsome men so deceitful." She shook her head while glancing at me through the rear view mirror. "Maybe becuase women dig it?" She rolled her eyes, "Women digging bad boys is just a cliche stereotype ok. I'm so not into those type of guys." Jingran scoffed raising her eyebrows without even turning around the glance at the girl. "Oh really? Then why is it the every celebrity you stan turns out to be a devil in sheep's clothing everytime." She said calmly while driving into her apartments parking lot. "Hey its not my fault its their fault for tricking me." Ran jie laughed at her reply as she waved bye to the girl. "Your schedule for today is free, the photoshoot was the only thing we had to do." She nodded at her manager, responding with a question. "What about tomorrow?" We have another meeting with the movie staff for the poster shoot." She sighed "great another meeting with that devil yu." Ran jie shook her head at the girls nickname for the idol everyone knows she adores. "Bye, have a good evening and don't go out ok. If you do keep you mask and hat on and try not to cause trouble." Ran jie said her winal precautions before leaving.

Zinglu sighed while in the elevator, "why does the jiejie always think I'm going to cause trouble?" But then again the previous owner always did cause trouble everytime she went out. So Ran Jie's precautions weren't totally unwarranted.

She sprawled onto her bed after changing clothes and eating dinnee. She went through her wiebo and messages for a while and when she looked at her clock it was 10pm. She decided to go to sleep early for the photoshoot tomorrow. Just as she was about the turn the lights of her phone dinged letting her know of a message. She opened it and it was from a contact titled  MinMin.

"Its been a while since the funeral. Are you not going to visit her grave? I'm sure your grandfather won't be mad."

Zinglu was confused, who was this Aunt min and what was her relationship with the previous owner? What was that message about whose grave should she visit? How was her grandpa involved?"

She had so many questions including the previous question on those mysterious monthly transactions to that oddly familiar bank account number. She didn't understand how the seemingly innocent young miss had so many secrets. How was it she had memories of this body's life after waking up but she was discovering secrets she didn't know about Shu Zinglu at every turn. What kind of game was the heavens playing with her?

VOLUME ONE END!

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Hareem Nadeem

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.