Fiction logo

Turned for Love

He left her without a trace. He didn’t even take his things with him. When she decides it was time to move on, he comes back for her. But he doesn’t come back as the same man.

By Ireland Lorelei Published 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Turned for Love
Photo by Sammy Williams on Unsplash

Katie is sitting in her home office when she hears something outside. It sounded like a woman screaming. She gets up and looks out the window. It’s completely dark outside all except for the glow coming off of the moon and stars, but it’s not enough to really see anything in the distance, but there is nothing close up to the house. She decides it must be all in her imagination and heads upstairs to go to bed.

For the last month she had felt like someone had been watching her from the edge of the woods of her backyard. This was just probably another one of those silly feelings she was having that now had turned into her hearing things. It had all started after her finance; Todd had left without saying a word. He left all of his stuff and it was as if he had just vanished. She had filed a missing person’s report, but the police came up with no leads. They said they was no foul play, that he had left her and that she should move on with her life.

The next morning when she wakes up, she is still thinking about the noise from the night before. She was trying to make sense of what it was that she heard, or maybe trying to justify it. Maybe it was just the wind howling. It had to have been. There was no way she really heard someone screaming.

She got dressed and headed downstairs to fix her coffee and bagel. She looked out the kitchen window which faced the same backyard view as her home office and at first, she saw nothing. Then her eyes stopped on something that looked like red plastered paint on the old pear tree in the right corner about ten feet from where the woods started.

I have never noticed that there before. Or have I seen it before and now my mind is playing tricks on me?

I go through the rest of my day working in my office. I still have the same feeling that someone is watching me from the woods. But every time I look up, there is no one there. Maybe I do need to see someone about my grieve. Just because Todd didn’t die doesn’t mean that I am not grieving the relationship. Before I do that and put myself out there, let me call Marge and have a girl’s night.

I called my best friend Marge to see if she wanted to go out tomorrow night.

“Hey Marge,” I said. “Do you have plans for tomorrow night? I think I need a girl’s night out.”

“Hey, Katie!” Marge said when she answered the phone. “I am glad you finally decided to call. If you hadn’t called in another week, I was going to call you. I have been worried about you sitting in that house. Every time I call you don’t want to leave. I know you have been depressed and it is time for you to get out and start moving on with your life.”

“Marge, I have to admit that I think you are right. I have been depressed or maybe even grieving the relationship. It is obvious Todd isn’t coming back and that he just let because he didn’t love me or want to be here anymore. It’s time I move on,” I replied even a little sad into the phone.

“It’s okay. Getting over a heartbreak takes time. No one ever expects you to just jump right back into the game when you really loved someone. But at least get out of the house and live life. You cannot let him get the best of you. How about I come over after I get off work tomorrow and we can get dressed at your house?” Marge asked.

“That sounds like a great plan! Thanks Marge! I knew I could count on you,” I said.

“Always. See you then,” Marge replied.

(Something or someone listening from the woods says to themselves, ‘I have to make my move tonight. I can’t let her start over.’)

As we hang up the phone, I am already starting to feel a little better. At least I have something to look forward too.

I proceed on getting my work done for the day and stop around 5 o’clock. I go into the kitchen to start cooking me some dinner. Leftovers were a big thing these days. I would have food for tonight and tomorrow’s lunch and tomorrow’s dinner, but oh well, I had to eat.

After I finished, I set down with my plate in front of the TV to watch a movie and I heard another noise coming from outside. It was still daylight out, not quite dust yet. I decided to walk outside. I went out the back door and walked up to the old pear tree, and I swear that was not paint the closer I got to the tree. I started to run back to the house to call 911, when someone grabbed me and ran with me into the woods like the speed of light. I didn’t know what was going on. We were moving so fast. It was like I was watching a movie on fast forward. The trees didn’t even look like trees anymore, just colors of brown and green. I had no idea how long we had been running, or how far we had gone, maybe miles before we stopped. Before the hand came from holding my mouth, I heard his voice say, “Katie, it’s me, Todd, please don’t scream. No matter what, don’t scream. I will explain everything.”

He let go of my mouth and I turned around and immediately slapped him, but he caught my hand.

“You don’t want to do that. You will hurt yourself,” he said.

“No, I really want to do that and more. How could you just leave me? You said you loved me. We were getting married. And you just left with no explanation, nothing, no word, no note, no letter, nothing,” I said fighting back the tears.

“I didn’t have a choice. I had to make sure I could keep you safe. I know now that I can. You have to listen to me Katie. I didn’t leave by choice. I was taking out the trash when someone grabbed me, much like I did you tonight. I know this is going to be hard to believe, but she could have killed me, probably should have, but she showed me mercy and instead she turned me. I have a new outlook on life. It is very different. But I don’t want to spend eternity without you in it,” he said.

I interrupted him, “Wait, some woman over powered you, almost killed you, but let you live? Do I look stupid to you? And you want to pick up where we left off?”

“I didn’t have a choice in this life, but I am going to give you the choice. Even if it kills me to spend eternity without you. Katie, she was a vampire. She turned me into one and if you love me like I love you, then we can still spend the rest of our lives together, its just now that will be the rest of our immortal lives,” he said.

“What? A vampire? Are you serious? Are you saying they are real and that now you are one? Prove it,” I replied.

“Think about how fast we were running. That is one proof for you there. Second, watch..,” he said.

Then he jumped to the top of a tree and back down. Then he looked at me and said, “Don’t be afraid. I will never hurt you.” Then his eyes changed to blood red and he opened his mouth and fangs hung out.

I jumped back a few steps in shock. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Here is the man that I have loved since our junior year in high school, all through college, and we’ve been engaged for the last two years since we graduated, standing right in front of me still alive but not alive. He was asking me to join him in his immortality and still spend the rest our lives together, literally forever. Could I live that life with him? Could I live without him was the bigger question? I knew that I couldn’t and that I didn’t want to. My answer was easy.

“Todd, I have loved you for what feels like my entire life. I still want forever with you and it doesn’t matter to me how we do that. If that means that we both live an immortal life, then I am ready,” I said.

He leaned in and whispered in my ear and said, “I love you Katie, more than words can ever express.” Then he bit my neck and the rest of our forever began.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Ireland Lorelei

I am an erotic romance author. If you like what you are reading leave a tip! You can also buy my books on my website www.irelandlorelei.com, Kindle, Nook, Kobo and Apple Books. https://www.facebook.com/ireland.lorelei.7/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.