Fiction logo

Toni's Papa Noel Letter

A Christmas Short Story

By Matthew PrimousPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Toni's Papa Noel Letter
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Today class, its that time of year. That time to be joyous, that time to be happy and loving our friends, neighbors and family. Before you leave for this weekend I want you to write a letter to Papa Noel. Let him know what you would like for Christmas. Heart counts and being honest, thankful and caring counts too. Let him know what you are feeling about life and your hopes and dreams. All letters will be going to Papa Noel. Class Dismissed.

All the students without thinking ran from their last class to enjoy the weekend except Toni. For this time of the year, Toni was not happy and she did not understand why the other kids were. She remembered all the awful things that happen to her around this time. While she slowly gather her things and put them into her backpack. Mrs. Taylor questioned her, well Toni, you're the last one in class again. Girl you got to enjoy the little things in life. Maybe Papa Noel may bring you some joy. Maybe he will bring you new toys or maybe he will bring you delight and goodies. Toni what are you thinking about so hard girl?

Toni replied, Mrs. Taylor I don't have many friends. And I don't like this time of season. My mom struggled to make ends meet. She cook this big dinner that doesn't always come out right. My father left around this time. I'm struggled with grades around this time. I'm hoping to not get a Christmas whipping and a coal in my stocking. Christmas just seems like a big distraction like my other relatives say. People got to work and do things.

Mrs. Taylor answered with a hug, Toni I know you got problems but don't act too grown. Let the adults worry about adult things. Stay a child. You know when I was your age. Christmas was a happy time. My cousins and aunts and uncles and grandparents and parents would all come together and be in each other's business. The food was great, nobody cared about healthy food just food that tastes great. And the gifts were surprises, some liked and some you learned to like. Nobody got what they always wanted everytime but there were those days that it happened magically. Papa Noel would give you that gift that you never expected. That toy that made your whole year worth it. Even if you were raised in the ghetto, so was I. My grandma inspired me to be good and expecting even baking cookies for Papa Noel. I can't tell you the whole story because you got to believe it on your own. It is getting kind of late Toni. You missed the bus, I will give you a ride.

Mrs. Taylor gathered her things and turned off the classroom lights ushering Toni out. As they walked through the quiet hallways out of the front door. Mrs. Taylor hummed then sing her favorite Christmas songs. Toni kept telling Mrs. Taylor that it is not Christmas yet and covered her ears but Mrs.Taylor kept singing and she was very in tune with her singing soulfully as she finished Deck The Halls. She stared back at Toni. Toni looked very upset and reluctantly came toward her. Mrs. Taylor stunt and shocked said Child you got to be expecting. You got to be hoping. You got to be cheerful. You got to be happy. And your grades aren't that bad. I might be saying something special about your writing however I will tell your mother when I see her.

Toni came back to herself and begin questioning Mrs. Taylor. Mrs. Taylor ignored and told her to hurry before its too late. Mrs. Taylor took the long way home showing the Christmas lights of neighbors. Mrs. Taylor exclaimed these neighbors done decked out the halls, lights up to the roof and down to the lawn. Papa Noel is gonna love this. What about you Toni?

Toni was delighted and joyous. She did not want to go back home to the ghetto, back home to her house with a half lit Christmas tree. Mrs. Taylor was almost to Toni's family house explained to her. I did not take you to these houses to down your hardworking mother but to believe. Believe you can be somebody. Believe you can do something. Believe that this ghetto is just a point in your life and not your end. Papa Noel is there to help kids believe that's the magic. Inspiring kids to be good and spread love and hope. I'm telling you this because I want you to be something. Love your mother, cherish the parent in your life as long as you can and Papa Noel will give you what you want. You have everything you need.

As Mrs. Taylor was walking Toni into the house, she cried, But I just want to have somethings and its hard being the oldest. I am a child and I don't know if I can stay like this. Mrs.Taylor objected Dried your tears child, straighten your back and don't let your mother hear you like this.

Toni's mother answered the door, well what Toni do now Mrs. Taylor. I cook her favorite food but she ain't happy. I worked and slave for forty hours a week and she disrespect me. It must be time for a whipping. Mrs. Taylor objected None of that will be necessary. Toni is a gifted writer. I was asking her to use her voice for purpose and trying to bring the Christmas' Spirit into her and everyone in the community. I respect you as Toni's sole parent. She needs you and I am willing to help this child, that's why I am a teacher. An assistant to the parents, I would like Toni's Papa Noel Assignment letter to be given directly to Papa Noel. She whispered, Papa Noel this year is one of the richest men in the town.

Toni quietly walked in as if it was stranger's house. She ate her semi-cold dinner and played with her two brothers. They watched some television and they re-enacted the shows by pushing mute on the television remote box and placing caption in a game to see who can read the line before the next line came in. Toni fell asleep on the couch and her mother carried her up the stairs.

Toni forgot all about her homework that weekend, she played hopscotch and double dutch with her friends all afternoon and she helped her mother with groceries. She was so tired that she could not play anymore. The next day she loved church with her family, well the singing at least and begin to daydream about Papa Noel during the sermon. Toni's mother suddenly remembered her daughter's assignment and she ordered Toni to do the letter to Papa Noel before she played with her brothers.

Toni wrote, Dear Papa Noel, if you really are there I wish for the joy to stay in my home. I wish that we all do better. I wish for more play and less fighting. I wish for hope for every child. And while toys are nice, they aren't always necessary. As children need to know that they are loved. I hope for those who have little no matter where they are to be freed inside and outside. To become somebody on this earth. To help others and make this world a better place. And for all the mommas and daddies struggling that they find peace, love, faith, and hope. Now I've been good to the best of my ability, thank you for teachers like Mrs. Taylor who loves in spite of issues.Give me teachers like her to make me as good as I can get. Not just for fastastic gifts but also for helping me to know my place. Love you Papa Noel.

The next day, Mrs. Taylor brought a guest to her classroom, it was Papa Noel. She proclaimed, This is the last week before Christmas. I wanted you all to believe. This is a special time in your lives that you gonna remembered. I used to be like you. Hurt, crying and just messed up but Christmas brought the ioy to my family and I know it will do the same for yours.

With that she handed Toni's letter to Papa Noel first and he cried asking to see Toni. Toni shyed stood up and walk carefully toward him. He sat her upon his knee and told her he would like this letter personally to put in the paper and he would give her family whatever they wanted. Toni smiled the happiest she had been as a child and Mrs. Taylor took a picture for her mother giving it to her after taking Toni home again.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.