Fiction logo

Tomorrow Never Knows, part eight

Neala and Saoirse Meet Up for Wine

By Shelley CarrollPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
1
Tomorrow Never Knows, part eight
Photo by ilya gorborukov on Unsplash

Well now,” sighed Saoirse with a smile. “It certainly took you two long enough! But that’s good news, Neala. I’m glad you’re getting back on the horse, so to speak. I’m only surprised it didn’t happen sooner.

Neala nodded and grinned, lifting her glass of cabernet and tipping it towards Saoirse’s in cheers. “Yes, here’s to getting back on the horse,” she offered. “I’m looking forward to our date, but I can’t believe how nervous I feel about it”, she confessed.

Likely because he’s not some random bozo like those other gems you’ve grown accustomed to bumping uglies with,” comforted Saoirse. “Fergus is a good guy and you’ve been friends forever. You care about him so I guess it’s only natural for you to be a little bit anxious. Especially if you start thinking about what might happen after supper… like if things get hot and heavy… it’s been awhile since you’ve done the nasty, eh? Sure, even more reason to be nervous. Sheesh, just sitting here thinking about it makes me nervous for you…

Now, aren’t you a delight!” snapped Neala, slightly annoyed but also newly anxious. It really HAD been awhile since she’d “bumped uglies”, as her kind-hearted confidante had so graciously put it. She quietly hoped her long-neglected lady parts still worked properly. “I wasn’t worried about THAT until now. Thanks, Saoirse. Thanks a lot. Christ.

That’s just one of the many reasons why you keep me around, girl - to point out the obvious and keep you firmly grounded in reality. Speaking of which, I wonder if he’ll do any man-scaping? Like if he’ll cut back the brush along his nether regions and maybe even shave his back or chest? I hear all the fellows are doing that now, old and young alike. You should likely consider doing a little bit of an overhaul yourself…” shared Saoirse.

Jesus, woman! How would you even know or care about a man’s personal grooming habits anyway? You’re into women, for crying out loud!” exclaimed Neala with a chuckle. Saiorse was always a pro at sharing information, whether solicited or not.

I work with a bunch of dudes, my friend. I learn about all this stuff through osmosis whether I need to know it or not. And that knowledge, I proudly impart upon you - free of charge, I might add…

Oh, I’m so blessed,” laughed Neala. “You’re too good to me. But you’re not exactly making me any less nervous.

Seriously though,” Saoirse leaned in to underline the seriousness. “You should really give yourself a trim down there. It’s been awhile and Heaven only knows what kind of mess you’ve got going on in your drawers. So you’d best tidy that up. A lot of the gals these days just clear the field altogether.

Well I’ll hardly be shaving myself bald, Saoirse!”, guffawed Neala. “I may do a little bit of snipping here and there, but I’ll want to leave some trace that I went through puberty!

Aren’t you cute?”, chided Saoirse. “You’ve delivered two big babies, Neala. The subsequent stretch marks and the fact that you just about pee yourself every time you sneeze ought to be proof enough that you’re long passed puberty, my dear. But by all means, do what you need to do. Leave yourself a little landing strip or a wee goatee or some kind of braille message to help him find his way around down there…

Saoirse, you’re incorrigible!” scolded Neala, laughing as she spoke. “I get it, alright. I’ll shave my legs and my bird. Happy?

Oh yes, I’m ecstatic,” said Saoirse, rolling her eyes. “I’m just looking out for your benefit is all. I want you to have optimum results! And don’t necessarily leave it to the day of your date, either. Once shorn, that area may be left feeling a little bit exposed and sensitive. So be careful.

Thank you. You’ve given me lots to think about,” replied Neala, realizing that she hadn’t considered the state of Fergus’ private parts, much less her own, until this evening. No, she’d been more concerned about her tummy and not bloating between now and Friday night. “So much to think about…”, she sighed.

Anyway,” asserted Saoirse, “I’m sure it will all be lovely. Whether anything major happens or not, you’ll be game-time ready!” They laughed and drained their glasses, nodding to their server for the check.

I’ll get this,” offered Neala, paying the bill. “It’s my way of thanking you for your advice.

Yes, a small price to pay for my services,” Saoirse gratefully conceded, smiling.

Saoirse drove Neala home, dropping her off in the drive way. “Text me when you get home from your date. Or after breakfast the next morning, if you’re alone, that is. And remember to use protection! I know you’re in no danger of getting pregnant at your age, but be sure to glove up against the STDs and such,” Saoirse said in farewell to her friend.

Yes, thank you, I will.” replied Neala, shaking her head and exiting the vehicle. She stood in her driveway and waved goodbye as Saoirse pulled away.

With Saoirse gone, Neala gazed up the road towards Fergus’ house, noticing the light on in his kitchen. Perhaps it was the slight buzz from the red wine, but figuring that Fergus was still awake, she decided to venture over to say goodnight.

She knocked at the door and thought she heard somewhat of a commotion on the other side. She paused a moment more before knocking again. This time the commotion subsided and she saw a sweaty and red-faced Fergus approaching, wearing a blue terry cloth bathrobe, his hands in his pockets, a look of confusion in his eyes. Opening the main door, but not the screen, he sheepishly greeted her with a “Oh hello Neala, it’s you!” Keeping his hands in his pockets and fumbling them, he made no effort to open the screen door and invite her in.

Um… is everything alright? I was out with Saoirse and I just got home. I saw your light was on. Thought I’d come say goodnight. You ok?

Oh yes, oh yes,” he said nodding his head and stammering. “Best kind, yes sir. Just heading to bed, I am,” looking uncomfortable and slightly taken aback.

Oh ok, I’ll not keep you,” she said, slightly deflated and confused. She’d thought he’d be happy to see her. Perhaps it was just bad timing.

No worries, I’d better rush off. Goodnight, Neala,” he said quickly, backing away, hands still in his pockets, and closed the inside door.

Disappointed, Neala headed back home, regretting that she’d gone to see him. Maybe she’d woken him up or startled him. He certainly looked caught off guard. She’d try not to over think it. Tomorrow would be another day. Perhaps tonight she’d soak in the tub and take a stab at some personal grooming, as Saoirse had suggested.

Meanwhile, Fergus stood behind his closed door feeling both horny and embarrassed, having gotten caught nursing his ample pill-induced erection.

*******

Thanks for reading!

If you want to start from the beginning of Neala & Fergus’ story, follow this link to read Part One:

https://vocal.media/fiction/tomorrow-never-knows-coq8uj0i7e

To find out what happens next… follow this link:

https://vocal.media/fiction/tomorrow-never-knows-part-nine

HumorLoveShort Story
1

About the Creator

Shelley Carroll

Ms. Carroll is a 50-something year-old retired public servant and mother of three adult children. She and her partner Hal live in Amherst NS with a sweet, anxiety-ridden rescue dog. Shelley loves reading, running and red wine.

She/Her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.