Fiction logo

Throwback Society

Ch 3: Dating Apps and Meeting People.

By Brittney MckinneyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Greetings people, I see you made it this far in my story, congrats to you, and I hope you enjoy what comes next; today we are going to talk about dating in the year 2031 and how the crash affected how people meet and fall in love. So I guess you may be wondering what happened to the dating apps if there was no more internet, well it’s simple, most of the app companies just closed up shop but a few decided to open a few of them in major cities. The big names thought it would be a great idea to open match-making shops around the country to still try to help people find love; I can’t lie I tried a few but they got so expensive that I had to quit. Just like with the apps the micro-transactions will get you, you have to pay to get a consultation, you have to pay to see potential matches, and you have to pay to get these matches information. Most people just gave up on the dating app stores and just decided to go back to doing things the pre-internet way, going out to bars and clubs to try to meet people; I tried that too but to no avail, so I just gave up on finding love for now.

Let’s go back to the dating apps for a second and talk about how they got these stores up and running after everything went down; people were unsure of how to go about looking for love in a world that has no way of finding out everything about the person before you meet. When the dating app companies realized that they were not going to make any money without the people who use the apps they devised a plan to open dating shops in an effort to get people back. These stores were everywhere at first but most of them closed up and only the more popular dating apps were able to hang on and keep people coming back with deals and promises. For a long time that did work but eventually, people realized they had a better shot of finding someone on their own and so dating shops are slowly starting to disappear from cities everywhere. I will admit that I thought the stores were a great idea at the time but when you are paying for stuff that you could get for free if you took the time to look for it, then the idea becomes a ridiculous idea that people will come to hate.

Moving on from the apps, let's get into how people are really meeting new people and falling in love without the help of other people and stores; as I said before, going to a bar or club is a great way to meet someone new the only problem is you don’t know what you are getting. I guess that is the luck of the draw sometimes, you could meet a really nice guy or girl and they be just that nice, or they could end up being a total nightmare of a person, you just don’t know. As much as I love to go out, I have found myself staying in most nights because I just don’t have the energy to deal with people and all the crazy that can happen when a group of people all go out for the same reason. The dating scene has become this vortex of insecure people who just want someone to like them enough to want to marry them and I just can’t get with any of it, I'd rather be single. However, people still go out to the bars and clubs and they have a good time which is not all that different from before the internet crashed, people were still handing out at places even with the threat of sickness in the air.

Dating apps and meeting new people can still be a positive experience, it’s just when you have certain people who are desperate and lonely, they make it harder for the others to want to participate if there is a chance they might go out with these people. Meeting new people has always been something that I loved to do and I can admit that I was a serial dater who moved on to the next as fast as I could, but as I have gotten older I realize that settling down may not be as bad as I thought. I want to find the person of my dreams one day, when I do I don’t want to have our story be that we met in a dating store like so many people of today are saying. Although dating stores are great if you really want to settle down right this second, you can still do things the old-fashioned way and just meet someone on the street, you can take all the time you want.

This concludes another chapter of throwback society, today we learned that dating apps turned into dating stores when the crash happened as a way to hold on to customers and the smaller apps were unable to compete with the more established companies. We also learned that going out to bars and clubs became more of a thing even though it was already a thing beforehand, more people are turning to old-school ways of meeting people and finding love. I hope that you all learned something new about the world that we live in because for the foreseeable future this is how things are going to have to go unless they figure out how to turn the internet back on. Once again I have been your guide into all things post-internet, I’m Aleasha and I hope to see you back here once again when we dive into a new aspect of life without the internet.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Brittney Mckinney

I know that I am not the best writer on here or any writing platform but I do have a unique to me point of view and I would like to share it with whoever is willing to read it, I mostly like writing fiction but will share my opinion too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.