Fiction logo

This is also a kind of love

What is love? Perhaps many people have asked the same question, what exactly is the love I was too young to know, but now, I understand.

By Angela R BillipsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
This is also a kind of love
Photo by Azrul Aziz on Unsplash

  What is love? Perhaps many people have asked the same question, what exactly is the love I was too young to know, but now, I understand.

  When I was very young, my parents divorced and I lived with my father, grandfather, and grandmother. I grew up not knowing what a mother's love was, I didn't even know what my own mother's name was or what she looked like. I didn't even know what my mother's name was or what she looked like. I only saw my mother's name on my account book once in elementary school when I had to bring it. Because I grew up without a mother's care, my father and grandparents were especially good to me, and never scolded me, I also when there was never a mother in my life, the most loving is the three people - father, grandfather, and grandmother.

  After entering junior high school, learning is becoming more and more intense, the first semester of the first year, I do not know whether it is not adaptable or not serious, the first monthly examination of the language, mathematics, and English three subjects almost two hundred.

  When I got home, my mood was mixed with a little worry, because although they had never scolded me, I was afraid that they were not mentally prepared for such a poor result. I carefully took the test papers out of my bag and handed them to them, and my dad was the first to say, "What was your rank this time?" I was scared to say the ranking, he looked at the test paper again, I looked at him very carefully, his brow was all wrinkled, not a trace of relaxed eyes.

  After a long time, he expressionlessly shoved the test paper into my hand and said, "Go and summarize for yourself why you got such a bad test and then correct it properly." I was already not very happy, only the first test, why ask me so soon, as if I was to blame. I picked up a pen and slowly began to summarize, just a few minutes after writing, my father began to call me again, I walked out, followed by nearly half an hour of education, the last few sentences is the only thing I heard: "now do not learn well, the future examination can not be a middle school how to do? This is for your good, now the competition is so fierce, if you get into a very poor school, you will have to suffer in the future." I didn't say anything, but I kept thinking about how they used to buy me things when I was a kid, but now I can never go back.

  I don't know how many days it took for me to realize that without those words, how could I have maintained good grades in elementary school? True love is not coddling, but showing you the right path when you do something wrong.

  Being strict is also a kind of love.

I choose to be tough

  It was a cold morning, the thick quilt blocked the cold wind coming from the window.

  At this moment, I am lying in a hotel at the foot of Mount Tai to sleep, who said that this hotel is very luxurious, but the open window, the room is still cold.

  In the blink of an eye, the morning light from Mount Tai slowly sprinkled on us, soon we reached the foot of Mount Tai temperature dropped, the wind began to whoosh, and the jacket was blown up and down.

  The warm morning light shone on our bodies, and I braced myself to head for the top of Mount Tai.

  Although it is not as high as Mount Huashan, it is not as dangerous to climb as Mount Huashan, especially the eighteenth tray, which is a high and dangerous place.

  By noon, I saw this heavenly staircase of more than 1,630 steps, which is almost vertical and daunting. Looking up from the bottom of the hill, I saw a tiny man standing with his arms crossed in a unified movement.

  I struggled to climb up, and my partner, Xixi, who came with me this time, was panting behind me, shouting: "Hey! I can't climb anymore, come and help me! I turned around, only to see Xixi behind slowly creeping on the ground, looks so painful, that I reached out to pull him, let him take a short rest, pulled him up, and continue to climb the top ......

  Soon, we reached the eighteenth plate of this terrible trail, 80 degrees of slope for me is not easy, not to mention the Xixi that fat and white little fat pier. I took the plunge and headed for the summit, and Xixi was not far behind, also headed for the summit. We scampered through the crowd, and many people stopped and stared at us, probably in silent amazement at how the two boys were so fast ...... Many people were walking down from the halfway point of the mountain, some hanging their heads in dismay. Some of them saw such a high mountain, they were shocked and hurried back ......

  After climbing to the top, looking down from above, only to find that the road they walked is not long, long is the fear in their hearts. There is nothing to be afraid of, the important thing is that you have a tough heart.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Angela R Billips

Reading is the best learning

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.