Fiction logo

The Zodiac Signs, a Day at the Beach

A short story showcasing each signs personality

By Jocelyn Joy ThomasPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Photo by John McArthur on Unsplash

It was a sunny day in August and Leo decided it would be a perfect beach day.

He got on his phone and called 11 of his closest friends to the nearby beach. He gathered some blankets and sunblock to protect his gorgeous face and headed to the beach.

The first to arrive was Virgo, punctual to a fault. Virgo trekked, slightly awkwardly in the sand over to Leo a frown on her face.

“I don’t like the beach, there’s too much, sand.”

“You like the fresh air, you said it’s healthy remember?”

“Of course it is.” Virgo scanned the beach, “Where is everyone you said 2:00, it’s three minutes past.”

“They’ll get here,” Leo said as he lounged in the warm sun, his hair long and beautiful.

Virgo brought a beach chair; she went about setting it up.

“Do you need some help? Leo asked after watching his friend struggle with the chair.

“No, I have it now, ouch!”

“What happened?”

“I pinched myself.”

As Virgo tended to her injury a new arrival appeared, Capricorn. Stocky, and strong looking. She brought her dog, a yellow lab to enjoy the sunny day.

“There you are, we’ve been looking all over for you,” Cap said sitting down, she held an orange frisbee.

“I just got here.” Leo said casually, “I bet you were early.”

“I was checking out the beach, making sure it’s safe for Lucy, she likes to run without her leash on.”

“Are dogs allowed to do that here?” Virgo asked. As she did her gaze went past Capricorn and Leo to a graphic display of a couple entwined in one another, oblivious that they were in public. Why did she always see things she didn’t want to? Despite this, she kept staring.

Capricorn and Leo didn’t notice, they were chatting about the no leash rule on the beach.

Scorpio joined them setting her bag down in between Capricorn and Leo. She wore a red bathing suit and fashionable sunglasses, her black hair tied up in a bun.

“Hi guys, great idea for a day at the beach Leo. I see I made it before most. I was almost late, this lady tried to cut me off in traffic. I showed her.”

“You are a great driver Scorp,” Leo said squinting up at her, the sun was bright.

“Move over, I want to sit down.”

Leo did so, Capricorn got up to play frisbee with Lucy, she didn’t like crowds.

Scorpio pulled out her oracle cards and looked over at Virgo who was staring at something, then back to Leo.

“Want me to do a reading for you?”

“Yes, I want to know if I’ll meet my one and only,” Leo said with a large smile.

“Love, again? Why don’t you ever ask about your career or life purpose?”

“Those things are boring, I want to know about love, that’s where the excitement is.”

“If you say so.”

On the other side of the beach Pisces arrived, she couldn’t see her friends anywhere, she began to walk along the shore daydreaming.

Back on the other end of the beach, Taurus was just joining the others, carrying a large bag in each hand and a beach umbrella under her arm.

“Taurus, what is all this?” Virgo asked distracted by her arrival.

“I brought a few things, some snacks, drinks, a couple of blankets, and some suntan lotion, in case anyone forgot.”

“Did you pack a first aid kit? I injured myself.” Virgo complained.

“No, I forgot that. I thought you carried one around?”

“I normally do.

“There you are! You guys ready to party?!” Aries yelled loudly, he held up two six-packs of beer.

“Do you have to yell so loudly?” Virgo asked him with a frown.

“I’m not yelling this is how I always talk.” He sat down on the sand, not thinking of a blanket.

“Look at Capricorn, every time we go somewhere she brings her dog and never talks to anyone,” Scorpio observed.

“She’s here, isn’t she?” Leo defended his friend.

“I’ll go say hi,” Aries said jumping up and trotting off.

Cancer came up so quietly no one heard her at first, she sat near Virgo, laying out a towel. Virgo felt the gentle breeze of the towel and turned, “Cancer, I didn’t know you were here.”

“Oh, yes I just got here.” She said shyly.

“It’s good to see you, I like your bathing suit,” Scorpio said admiring it.

“Thank you, it’s new, I sewed it myself.”

“I’m glad you came this time, we missed you at the baseball game,” Leo said.

“I wasn’t sure how to get to the stadium.” Cancer said honestly.

“I’ll give you a ride next time.” Scorpio offered.

“I brought some sandwiches; in case we get hungry.” Cancer held up a small ice chest.

“Good.” Taurus looked at the ice chest, “Perfect, I brought chips and drinks, did you remember napkins?”

Their friend Sagittarius ran up kicking sand all over all of them.

“Sag! Watch it!!”

“Sorry, did you guys know they have live music at the other end of the beach? It’s a free show, let’s go on that side.”

“We have to wait for everyone to get here before we move,” Taurus said practically.

“Fine, I’ll see you later!” He ran away as quickly as he had arrived.

“So, what do my cards say Scorpio?” Leo asked impatiently.

“Sorry, no love in the near future, it says to focus on finances.”

“I’m terrible with finances.”

“That’s why you need to focus on them.”

Aquarius and Libra sat down on Leo’s blanket, “We just saw Sag at the other end of the beach, there’s a band playing.” Libra said.

“We heard, we can go there as soon as Pisces and Gemini show up,” Leo said feeling a little put out by his reading.

“There are more people at the other end of the beach, I like this better.” Aquarius stretched out his legs.

“I can’t decide which I like better.” Libra looked off at the waves, checking out.

Aries came back from the water, dripping on Virgo and Cancer as he did.

“Get a towel!” Virgo yelled at him.

“I didn’t bring one, the sun will dry me off.”

“Here.” Taurus had brought extra towels.

“Thanks, Taurus. You don’t need to be so critical Virgo; you always do that.” Aries said half-jokingly.

“I do not.”

“Yes, you do.” He said knowing it would get a rise out of her.

“Hey, be nice you two, we’re at the beach,” Libra said with a smile.

Gemini called out waving his arm at them.

“He is always late,” Virgo said.

“Better late than never, hey!” Aries said back.

Gemini arrived, wearing a skimpy bathing suit and a floppy beach hat.

“I couldn’t find you guys; it’s really crowded today.” He sat next to Cancer, squeezing in on her towel.

“Have something to drink.” Taurus held out a bag, Gemini took a soda.

“Oh my god, so I was on my over here and I saw that they were having a sale on beach hats.”

“Who?” Virgo asked.

“Who what?” Gemini took a drink of his soda.

“Who was having a sale?”

“The store! Anyway, so I went inside to get one, I thought it would be a perfect look for the beach, you know what I mean? Then I remembered I was supposed to watch my nephew today, so I had to hurry and buy my hat. Then go outside to call my brother, the service was like nil in the store, cement building I don’t know…”

As Gemini recounted his adventures to Cancer and a bored-looking Virgo, Sagittarius returned with a bewildered-looking Pisces.

“Look who I found, she got lost looking for you.”

“I was not lost, I was contemplating.” Pisces corrected.

“No, you were lost.” Sagittarius said, “So, can we go to the other side of the beach now? I want to hear the band; they are SO amazing!”

“I know they are, but we can hear them from here.” Aquarius pointed out. He and Libra were building a sandcastle.

“He has a point, and we just got here,” Libra added.

“I’m fine here,” Taurus said getting comfortable under her umbrella.

Sagittarius gave up and sat down.

“Want me to do a reading for you?” Scorpio asked a forlorn-looking Sag.

“Sure, why not?

And so went the day at the beach.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Jocelyn Joy Thomas

Writer, spiritual teacher, and travel enthusiast. Enjoying the journey! Join my mailing list and receive a free guide on How to Meet Your Guides in Three Steps!

https://joysnewsletter.weebly.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.