Fiction logo

The War for Control: Part One

Can Atreyu regain control over his body?

By Thaman VenigallaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The War for Control: Part One
Photo by Hal Gatewood on Unsplash

Blue lights flickered around me. "What is this place?" I asked. The blue lights arranged themselves to form a message. "This is your brain," I read out loud. Then, I realized how nonsensical this was. "My brain?" I questioned. "How can I be in my brain?"

Suddenly, the landscape changed. I was looking at a king's throne room. "Is it done, Abaddon?"

"Yes, my majesty!" Abaddon responded. Abruptly, the person I was watching this memory from jumped out and threw a dagger toward the king. Quickly reacting, Abaddon took his sword and deflected it.

"So we did not use the apparatus of darkness on one of them! Take him away, Abaddon!" the king exclaimed.

I returned to the room with blue lights. "What was that?" I shouted. The lights rearranged themselves once more. "That was one of your memories," I read the words formed by the lights. "You seem to have gotten it back. It seems that you might have been taken over by another consciousness."

Just as I was about to ask another question, I found myself in a new place. "Welcome to Central Brain Hub!" a computer-automated voice rang out. "This must be the center of my brain!" I thought. There were maglev trains in small tubes, presumably my nerves.

"He is the one," I heard someone whisper from behind me.

"How do you know?" another person whispered.

"Don't doubt me, my liege," the first person exclaimed. One of the people walked up to me. "Come with us," they said.

"I don't even know who you are!" I exclaimed.

"It doesn't matter. What does is that we will explain what is happening to you!" they exclaimed.

"Oh, okay, I will come!" I shouted. A car appeared before me and both people hopped in.

"Come on!" the other one yelled. I hopped into the car.

Soon, we arrived at a giant castle. "Okay, first with introductions," the first person exclaimed. "I am Folia and this is Aaron, the chief executive of brain operations! Come on into the castle!"

As I walked in, a metal bar shot down from nowhere and blocked my path outside of the castle.

"What was that?" I asked.

"It's time, Aaron!" Folia exclaimed. "You can be the infinite ruler of his brain's universes!"

"Wait what?" I questioned.

"We are taking your power away and your body. You will cease existing!" Aaron exclaimed.

"Ummm, can I decline?" I asked hopefully.

"Nope!" Aaron shouted gleefully. A staff appeared at his hand. I screamed. Suddenly, the whole palace erupted.

"YOU ARE UNDER ARREST, AARON!" a booming voice announced. "STAND DOWN!"

"Oh, shoot! The surveillance cameras!" Aaron shrieked. A woman in tactical gear appeared out of thin air. She snapped handcuffs over Aaron and Folia.

"I bet you want to know what is going on," the woman stated.

"No tricks!" I shouted immediately.

------

"Your consciousness is somehow inside your brain. This is extremely weird!" a commander of the army exclaimed.

"I know! How do I get out?" I asked.

"Maybe the Great Sage knows the answer to your question!" the commander held my hand and teleported to the area of the Great Sage.

"Hello, one who controls the body, otherwise known as Atreyu," the Great Sage rasped.

"How do you know my name?" I asked. "Is that even my name? I don't know!"

"You want to know how to get out of here. There is only one way. Make your way to the top of your brain and defeat the person who has taken over," the Great Sage exclaimed. "Then only you can go back!"

Suddenly, an alarm blared and the light in the room turned off. "THE CRIMINAL AARON HAS ESCAPED! MONEY REWARD FOR THE PERSON WHO CATCHES HIM!"

Something zinged past my ear and lodged itself in the wall. The commander took out a flashlight. "A knife!" she exclaimed.

-----

If you like this story consider hearting it or even subscribing to me. Thanks!

SeriesFantasyAdventure
1

About the Creator

Thaman Venigalla

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rigved Vangaabout a year ago

    its really good, you had me intrigued the whole time😃

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.