Fiction logo

The Tale of Hiroshi

A boy and his Kappa friend

By Tiggerish Eeyore (Aaron Wood)Published 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Hiroshi peeked out of the hole from behind a board in the storage hut, checking to make certain the coast was clear before leaving his current living quarters. While it wasn't the most comfortable of locations, it was warm and dry against the spring rains. Hiroshi adjusted his stolen robes that were a little big for him and made his way to the river that ran just outside of the sleepy village. Kneeling beside the river, the boy scooped the clear water up in his hands to wash his hands, face, and neck before drinking his fill. Standing and stretching, Hiroshi turned to look at the castle that sat on the hill.

“One of the human leaders lives in that place, right?” a voice spoke from the river behind the boy.

“Yes. I heard Lord Orima is the master of the castle, this village, and the surrounding lands,” Hiroshi answered. “Good morning to you as well, Hanri. Did you turn up any useful information like where food may be obtained? Without the theft please, I don't want to arouse suspicion again.”

“It wasn't easy for me to travel here from Hapori either I'll have you know,” Hanri returned. “As far as information goes, the town is called Tagago. I didn't hear anything about food, perhaps you can try asking one of your woodland friends for help.”

Turning to the impish green creature that looked like a turtle with an indention in his head filled with water, Hiroshi knelt by the riverbank under the pretense of washing up again. “You know full well you're my only friend Hanri.” With a fiendish grin, the kappa splashed back into the river as a group of women approached to begin their daily chores. Hiroshi slipped away from them quickly and quietly, trusting Hanri would hang about to listen to their gossip.

Wandering into the nearby forest, Hiroshi walked for a couple of minutes before stopping to lean again a tree and listen. The wind whistled through the leaves of the forest to make a mournful song, but beyond that was silence. Hiroshi pursed his lips and made an odd whistle, then waited patiently. Three chipmunks came tumbling over each other to Hiroshi's call and bid him good morning in high squeaky voices. “Can you tell me where I might find food in this region, please? I am more than willing to work for it if the work is honest.”

“The baker's wife is always griping about not having any help for the chores,” squeaked the first.

“The blacksmith is forever looking for an errand boy, apparently his apprentice is useless for fetching things,” offered the second.

“The tavern keeper may need help or may know who else might want help,” the third chirped.

“Thank you for the information, I guess I should go talk to these people and get myself sorted,” Hiroshi bowed his thanks to the chipmunks and left the forest to speak to the tavern keeper first, it was best to keep his options open after all. A few moments later Hiroshi entered the tavern and was greeted by the hard stare coming from the bear of a man behind the bar. His long black hair was wrapped up in a bun on top of his head and his stare was menacing with the two black coals that were his eyes felt like they burned through to your soul. “Excuse me, sir, I am hoping you might have information about odd jobs I might do,” Hiroshi started, not phased by this man or his demeanor.

“How old are you boy?” The keeper growled as he wiped a glass with a rag.

“I'll be ten in the spring,” Hiroshi replied, hoping the man didn't ask too many inquiring questions about him. It was always difficult to convince people he was fine on his own and Hiroshi hated dishonesty such as lying or stealing.

“What's your name and where are your parents that you must seek employment?” The man threw the questions at Hiroshi like a knife.

“Hiroshi is my name, missing and dead,” the boy returned defiantly. My mother succumbed to illness last Spring and I am told I am the illegitimate son of a lord, though I know not who nor do I much imagine he knows about me. Therefore, I am simply an orphan trying to survive until the day comes that I can buy land and decide which path I should take in life.”

Kaito grinned, crossing his arms in front of him. “Well met, Hiroshi. I am Kaito. I imagine you're living rough at the moment, if you'd like you can earn your room and board by doing chores around this place. I'll also pay you a silver coin a day, as long as you do the work. You can take one day for yourself a week should you so choose. Otherwise, you can pay for your keep around here as everyone else does, three silver coins a night and three per meal. Lord Orima demands his tithe, so it's either work or pay coin, it makes little difference to me.”

“I will accept your offer of work in exchange for shelter and food, so long as the contract can be broken at any time for any reason and the workload isn't excruciatingly difficult to do,” Hiroshi parried, living on his own for even so short of a time had taught him to be wary of accepting deals of any sort.

Kaito blinked, then threw his head back in laughter. “Sure kid, you can break the contract at any time for any reason.” The man grew more solemn, although he couldn't fully banish his smirk. “I would request however that if you chose to break the contract, that you give me notice, written or verbal. It's not surprising to me that you would have run into a situation that made you think of such things, but I don't want a slave. A little help is more than welcome, but I think you'll find that you're free to come and go as you please. A tab will be started for you, due at the end of the week for every day you don't work here except for the single day a week.”

Over the next few months, Hiroshi worked from sun up until sundown in the small inn as well as the various other shops but always took a single day for himself. He chopped wood, fetched water, tempered metals, swept floors, wrangled animals, weeded gardens, and anything else the villagers requested of him. On the days he took for himself, he always went into the forest with a small pack at dawn and returned at dusk. Hiroshi had found a small pool in his explorations where he and Hanri could relax and converse without the worry of being found. He had earned more than enough coins to take a small break, but the boy was happiest when he was working as well as learning skills and trades from the shop keeps. Hanri informed him of the gossip each week at the pool and helped Hiroshi where he was able during the night.

“Are you planning to stay here forever, Hiroshi? Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't mind since the river is right there but I am wanting to know what the plan is,” Hanri inquired one evening.

“I don't know, I am afraid of history repeating itself,” Hiroshi squeezed his eyes shut trying to rid his mind of the images of being chased from Hapori. “The people here in Tagago seem friendly enough, as long they don't learn my secrets...” With a sigh, Hiroshi handed over his day's earnings to his friend. “Just please keep the money safe, just in case.”

A year after arriving at the pub, Hiroshi was sweeping the floor while humming a tuneless song as the fire crackled in the fireplace to warm against the night's chill when a stranger entered and grabbed the boy without warning. “You! I have been searching for you!”

The man unexpectedly dropped Hiroshi as he went flying back into a table across the room. Kaito stood over the boy with his hand flat and his arm extended out towards the stranger, looking angrier than Hiroshi had ever seen him. “Are you alright, kid?” Kaito glanced down and a second stranger caught him off guard with a hard punch to the jaw, causing Kaito to roll on the floor before regaining his composure. Blood dripped from his mouth and Kaito looked even more fearsome than before as he spat on the floor in defiance. Hiroshi blinked and both men were approaching Kaito. He shut his eyes tight, hoping for the best but fearing the worst. Hiroshi opened his eyes just enough to squint and saw a flash of metal reflect the firelight. A grunt of pain caused Hiroshi's eyes to flash open and scream “KAITO!” and both men were sent sprawling on the floor from the dark energy blast Hiroshi released with his shout, groaning in pain while Kaito slumped down on a knee.

“Kaito! Hang on!” Without thinking, Hiroshi ran to Kaito's side and saw his broken tooth lying on the floor beside them and a small knife sticking out of his side. Kaito smiled weakly and collapsed from exhaustion to the floor, his breathing ragged. Hiroshi put both hands on Kaito's chest, closed his eyes tightly and a warm green light engulfed them for a few seconds before Hiroshi was grabbed from before behind by two of the town's guards.

“You're coming with us, you're gonna explain to his lordship what happened here and what you were doing to Kaito,” one of the guardsmen growled. “Grab those two and throw them in cells for causing violence.”

Hiroshi's protests were ignored as he was physically carried up the hill to the castle. The boy fell silent as they passed through the archways and entered the heavy iron-clad wooden doors. Thrown bodily to the floor, Hiroshi picked himself up as the doors closed behind him with a heavy THUD.

“Who are you? What was that green light my guards saw? Why have you brought misfortune to my village?” Lord Orima demanded, not waiting for an answer for any of them. “Why shouldn't I throw you in my dankest dungeon right now and be done with it?

“My name is Hiroshi. My mother died of illness two years past, my father I haven't ever known. The green light was a healing light, your men interrupted it so Kaito is as good as dead since he had a knife stuck into him. It was never my intention to bring misfortune here, but you can throw me in the dankest cell you have if it pleases you, I will be gone by morning at any rate,” Hiroshi fired back defiantly.

Lord Orima stared

at the boy in wonder for a moment, then asked “Was your mother's name Aiko by chance?”

“Yes,” Hiroshi replied, perplexed.

“Then that would make you my illegitimate heir and I'd hazard a guess you've come to claim my title and fortune. I won't allow it though. GUARDS! Throw this hooligan in my deepest cell, put him under constant surveillance, and prepare for his execution at dawn!” Lord Orima screamed frantically.

Close to midnight, the guards suddenly fell asleep outside of Hiroshi's cell. “Are you ready to get out of here then or did you want to leave me all alone in this world?” Hanri grinned, sliding between the bars with ease. Taking his friend into his big green arms, Hanri hugged Hiroshi tight as they fell through a puddle and popped out of the pond on the edge of the village.

“Thank you, my friend, somehow that was worse than Hapori,” Hiroshi said wistfully. It was bad enough when they feared me for my magic, but fearing that I was here to take a title? That man was deeply disturbed. The pair turned to start their journey West.

“Where exactly do you think you're going?” A gruff voice said behind them.

Turning back, Hiroshi and Hanri see the shimmering figure of Kaito with his arms crossed grinning at them. “Where exactly do you think you're going without me, your new guardian spirit?”

Hiroshi ran and tackled the laughing Kaito, proper introductions between Hanri and Kaito were made and the trio set forth from the sleeping village to find their place in the world once more, the bonds of their friendship tested and growing deeper with every adventure.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Tiggerish Eeyore (Aaron Wood)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.