Fiction logo

The Stranger

Part 3 of The Rising of the Chosen

By Hailey Alexandria BaldwinPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

Sleeping in a deteriorating boat did not suit me well, but at least I had made it through the night alive. The morning sun peaked through the tiny holes in the blue tarp covering me in my shelter, and the warmth of the rays on my face let me know that I needed to make a move. I didn’t have time to waste resting any longer, the exoskeleton soldiers could have a trace on me.

Micah, my first and only love, had betrayed me by dying before telling me about his choice to believe in a “God.” A crummy letter had to break the news, and he’s not even here to tell me how or why he made this decision. The world has gone to absolute crap, and the family that I did have just vanished into thin air with half the population. I’m just left here by myself to “survive”completely and totally ALONE.

The safe house should only be about 30 miles further, but honestly, I could barely even use the gps on my phone for directions, I dang sure can’t use a real map. I always teased Micah on road trips and said,“I’m not Dora,” but all jokes aside, I would really love to be her right about now. Any company, even if it was a monkey wearing boots, would be great, and I could really use some navigation skills. Sadly, I was in the real world, with no cartoon map to jump out and tell me where to go.

My cheeks burned red with rage, and my eyes swelled in preparation for the heartache to show itself on my face.

“Stop it Miranda! You got it! Don’t be a tit!”

I slapped myself a little bit for crying, grabbed my sad excuse for a backpack, and took my best guess at which way I needed to go.

Walking didn’t bother me, it was the shivering silence of the forest, and the endless thoughts and “what if’s” running through my mind. With each step, my heart longed for this to all be a dream, and my stomach ached for a nice juicy steak fresh off the grill. I wanted to wake up tomorrow and get back to planning my wedding and playing with my nephews, but I was just hurting myself imagining what I wanted life to be like. I needed to “put my big girl panties on,” as Micah would say. He knew I could fight with my inner demons all day long, and sometimes, I let my emotions overcome me.

Traps set by the exo-soldiers, and the poisonous butterflies created by the government were the only thing more dangerous than my thoughts, but I hadn’t come across any since being on my own. Most of the traps were laid closer to the highways and on any dirt roads traveling through the forest, but the butterflies had no limitations as to where they could go. The stupid creatures killed Micah, and we hadn’t even been away from our secluded cabin for more than a day.

Blisters oozed on my ankles and in between my toes, and the undeniable amount of chaffing going on in between my legs was beginning to irritate me. My feet screamed for a break, and in order to please my body, I decided to collapse next to the nearest pine tree. The Swatch watch on my wrist that Micah had given me for our first anniversary says that I had been walking for 2 hours. “I’m not even halfway!!”

I knew I didn’t have time for this, but I couldn’t make my body get up. Maybe I’ll just lay here until I’m found. I could get lucky, and someone nice could find me and lead me to safety.

“Nice.” No one left on this planet is nice, and I knew that I wasn’t some princess with a knight coming to save her.

*snap*

What was that?! Am I being followed?

I cowered behind the tall pine and squatted myself low in the bushes. My knees cried out in agony with pops all the way down, and I could only pray that their moans didn’t reveal my location.

*Aaaahhhhh-choooo*

It’s a man..... he’s got to be a soldier.

The sound of leaves crunching beneath his feet grew louder and louder, but I couldn’t see anyone yet. My heart was beating out of my chest, and it longed for Micah more than ever. He could fight. He knew how to protect me. I could barely steady my breath let alone keep still, but I had to pull myself together. Whoever he is, he doesn’t seem one bit concerned about being quiet.

I wont see nightfall. I should’ve chanced it and...

“I see you, you can come out now.”

His voice resonated through my body, and his tone made me afraid to disobey. I have no idea how he even saw me, because I still couldn’t see him. I slowly stood up with my hands raised.

“Don’t shoot. I am unarmed.”

I tried to keep my confidence and composure as best I could. I didn’t want him to see that I was about to pee my pants, and I definitely didn’t want him to know about the 380 pistol in my bag.

“Who are you, and where are you going?”

“I can’t even see you, so why would I answer your questions,” I retorded with a little bit too much attitude. I shouldn’t have said that.

“Ooo fiesty, I like it.” He let out a deep belly chuckle, and stepped out from behind a tree about 5 feet to my left.

“Good enough for ya kitten,” he taunted.

The man was dressed in camo from head to toe, making it hard for me to see him, and his face was covered by a black bandana. He had to be at least six foot, and his arms reminded me of machine guns. His posture was millitary, and he had some of the weaponry of an exo-skeleton soldier.

“I allowed you to see me, so answer my questions.”

I didn’t want to give him my real name or straight answer, so I gave him my childhood nickname.

“I’m Mandy, and I am looking for food for my family.”

That stupid chuckle rang in my ears again he said, “Oh little kitten, I don’t think you’re the best choice to find food for your family. Didn’t you say you were unarmed?”

“Yes, but I have a fishing pole, and I can pick berries and fruit from trees.”

He shook his head in disbelief.

“You’re smarter than that. You’re lying. What are you really doing out here.”

“I told you the truth, and my family will be worried if I don’t get back to them soon.”

The bestial man stepped closer while digging his left hand deep into his pocket. I wanted to run, but my feet were glued to the muddy ground.

“Here, kitten,” he said. In his hand was a map, almost exactly like the one I had, but his had something circled.

I reached to grab it for a closer look, but he pulled away and said, “This is only for Rachel’s family, and I’m just not entirely sure that you are who I think you are.”

“Rachel is...was my mother-in-law.... Well almost mother-in-law... She's gone and my fiancé is now too.”

His entire demeanor softened, “So you're alone?”

“I guess I am.”

He finally handed me the map, and replied, “you won't be for long.”

My eyes immediately locked on the ciriceld location, and I knew in my heart it was the safe haven Micah and I had been moving towards. Oddly enough, he had even marked the map almost exactly where we were!

I turned to thank my fortuitous ally, but his existence seemed to have faded from the earth. I didn't hear him run away, and I couldn't see him or any signs of him.

Who the heck was that? Was he even real? Surely I didn't imagine the whole thing... I'm not that crazy...right?

I gripped the map tightly in my hands, feeling a little bit more secure in my journey to this supposedly safe house.

To be continued....

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.