Fiction logo

The story of a skirt

It was many years ago, there is about a skirt ......

By Gloria TurnerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
The story of a skirt
Photo by Amelia Bartlett on Unsplash

Many years ago, I especially liked a skirt, long multi-layered chiffon. At that time I had just joined the workforce and my salary was very low. The skirt had been over three hundred dollars. And I looked at that skirt hanging there, very much like, also very much yearning, at that time secretly vowed to save money to buy it home.

But when I could not easily save enough money, the store was closed. At that time, I was very frustrated.

Then I walked all over the streets and looked for many stores, but I couldn't find the same dress. Then I tried to search for it countless times on major shopping sites, but I couldn't find that skirt either ......

Now I have a lot of skirts, but I always remember that skirt that I did not buy, I always think that skirt is the most beautiful.

I seldom wear jewelry, I am not a very delicate person, and I always feel that taking off jewelry is very troublesome. Many years ago a friend of mine came back from a trip abroad and brought me back a small jade pendant, I like it very much, simply tied a red rope hanging around the neck, lost when you go out to play. Later, I have been to many stores selling jewelry, and there have been similar pendants, but I always feel that the lost one is the most beautiful, other pendants can not attract me.

This is true, and so are people. People always say that first love is the most memorable. It was probably the time when we first faced love. Those confessions we didn't have time for, those loves we missed, slowly turned into our obsessions, engraved in our hearts.

Some people say that perseverance is something else, perhaps, if there is no more poise, those we missed in our hearts, because of regret, we will always forget his shortcomings, infinitely enlarge his advantages in the heart, slowly enlarge his advantages. He became the perfect lover in our hearts. We insist that we were wrong. Perhaps until the day, we can meet again, the memory of the tall, handsome elfin guy, turned into a middle-aged greasy man with a bare belly. The same sweet talk becomes mellow and smooth and can only be spun around easily in the eyes. As time goes on, we can slowly let go of our hearts.

We long for the things we can't have. Most of these things satisfy the fondest fantasies of our hearts. For example, what I long for most is to go on a trip. But there are always various reasons (I don't want to admit that the biggest reason is procrastination). I haven't gone yet, so my travels have become an obsession of mine. Every time I mention it, I bite the bullet. Travel-related tips are updated every once in a while, but I don't know when I'll let go of this obsession.

We miss what you've lost. Everyone should have nostalgic toys. I once worked hard for two years to save my pocket money to buy a whole set of books. Then my mom threw it away as scrap when she was tidying up her room. Every time I went to the bookstore, I would walk over to the shelf of novels and flip to that novel. Several times I wanted to buy a complete set, but each time I felt it was not as good as the one I had. On my twenty-fourth birthday, my cousin bought me a whole set, and I wrapped the book covers to each book in dark blue wrapping paper (the full set of that year was dark blue), and since then, I have never gone to the bookstore to look for it.

Everything you can't get, lost, whether or not it will become our obsession, should always let them pass.

Life is so long, let yourself go, and do not be obsessed.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Gloria Turner

Love to read and write

Like to travel, love life

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.