Fiction logo

The sentiment of the grassroots

fiction

By BlossomParkerPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Giaokou is a pearl on the south gate of my hometown, Zhaogun's hometown, and I love this land where I was born and raised. I have been teaching for decades, and I have never put fame and fortune at heart. I have always carried with me the sentiment of a naked child when I first started on the podium, and always pursued my work as a career. No matter how others perceive, I always think I am engaged in the most noble profession under the sun.

  Since graduating from secondary school, I am in awe of the podium, because the podium is a poetic habitat for students' lives; I keep growing, although in the snail's pace of groping, the process of growth is arduous and long.

  When I went to work, I found that I am not a scholar, I cannot think about my value with deep thoughts; I am not a poet, I cannot eulogize my profession with beautiful poems. But I am a teacher, a worker engaged in education. I can think deeply about the most basic mathematical theory, and I can pick up the words like flowers, and build the most beautiful poetry in my heart - I love my ordinary but extraordinary career, and I would like to warm this holy land for the rest of my life!

  It is said that children are a book. Although it is not easy to read this book, but to become a great grassroots teacher you must read it and insist on reading it for a lifetime.

  It has been said that children are flowers and teachers are gardeners, and that gardeners take care of the flowers. In reality, children are much more complex than flowers, and the work of a teacher is much more complex than the work of a gardener.

  The business of flowers is honorable, the business of fruits is sweet, let us do the business of leaves, for the business of leaves is plain and humble. Whenever I face my students, I feel sacred and proud because I am engaged in the cause of the green leaves, I am the people's teacher!

  After many years of trials and tribulations, and after tasting all the flavors of being a teacher, I feel more and more that I cannot leave this profession, and this profession needs me. In ancient times, the great educator Confucius dedicated himself to the spirit of teaching and educating me; modern educator Mr. Tao Xingchi has been teaching for decades, always resting in the "chalk career" dedication, dedication to the noble sentiment inspired me.

  I love my ordinary but sacred profession. I would like to be a red candle, I am willing to be a ladder, I would like to work in this job, silent, hard work altar.

  As the old saying goes, "A year's plan is like a tree valley; a decade's plan is like a forest; a lifetime plan is like a tree man." The sacred mission of shaping souls is beyond the measure of money, and I am grateful that fate has given me this profession.

  Teachers' love and respect are the candlelight that illuminates the windows of students' hearts, and the beginning of students' beautiful lives is in their hands.

  If my students are bees, I am willing to be the honey flowers; if my students are flowers, I must do a good job of protecting the green leaves; if my students are seedlings, I must be a competent gardener.

  Zhou Qi, a left-behind child, lives with her grandmother in the neighborhood next to the school. When he first transferred to school, he encountered bullying from his classmates: one student instigated another to spit on his desk. He had just turned over and the students who saw him didn't know what to do, and I wasn't in the classroom yet. When I heard about the situation, I severely criticized the two students and informed the parents of the situation. Although he had just transferred to the school, he was full of love. While the student who was bullying was criticized and educated, I also hoped that other students would learn from this mistake and not make similar mistakes again.

  The students in the class are very active in the classroom and always compete to raise their hands to speak in class. But Zhou Qi, who came from a different school, never raised his hand, so I was very surprised. Or is it because he simply doesn't know how to do it? I would never give up as long as he was a student in our class. I called him out after class, held his little hand and asked him why. He lowered his voice and said, "Teacher, it's not that I don't raise my hand, it's because I have a shadow in my heart." I was surprised. How could he have a shadow at such a young age? What was going on? He went on to tell me why. When he was in the second grade, the teacher once asked a question, and since he had the same answer as the others, the teacher said, "The first one who answers this way is smart and good, the second one who answers this way is an imitation, and the third one is a fool, and he, the third student." From then on, he lost all his energy to study and never raised his hand in class. When he said these words, he kept his head down, lest others should hear or see him. As for what the problem is, there is no need to ask more questions, and there is no need to test why the teacher said that, now the most critical thing is how to transform him. Seeing that look on his face, I held his hand and said, "Zhou Qi, maybe that teacher is using a provocative method to make you learn to think, so that you can study harder." Seeing that he was slightly enlightened, I continued, "The fact that you were able to explain the truth to your teacher means that you are honest. You should show your actions and prove it to yourself and to the teacher who motivated you in another way. I know you are smart and I know you are good, and I believe you can do it! Raise your hand boldly to speak, okay?" Hearing my words, he lifted his head which had been hanging low. I could read him, he was making up his mind. From then on, he was like a different person, every time he would enthusiastically raise his hand to speak, and his learning progress was particularly great.

  In March of that year, the school held a speech contest to protect the ecology and asked each senior class to submit three contestants to participate. I was so excited that I gently patted him and said, "Of course you can. That's the kind of you I want to see!" He laughed heartily at my words and eventually won the first prize. There is a small sense of accomplishment in seeing the changes in Zhou Qi and watching him thrive.

  With the initial heart, do what will always be done. This is me, a grassroots sentiment.

  If someone asks: In the road of life, if you could have another chance to choose again, what career would you choose? I will definitely answer loudly: teaching - the most glorious profession under the sun. Because this is the choice I have no regrets and no complaints in this life and in this world! Although we are poor, our spiritual world is rich. Because we are the people who sow the seeds in spring, we have the expectation of autumn harvest in our hearts; we are also a ray of sunshine in the morning, we have the spirit of keeping up with the times, which cannot be stopped by any dark clouds; we are also the stars of enlightenment in the night sky, we have the persistence of running to the light!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

BlossomParker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.