Fiction logo

The sandwich

love my sammie

By Kia T Cooper-ErbstPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I sat writing and my stomach growled then growled again reminding me that it had been more than six hours since we had last eaten. Sighing, I saved pages written having gotten over my block and walked into the kitchen.

Muttering about the wasted time having to cook, I pondered my quick options: a bowl of cereal or a simple sandwich, both requiring the least of amount of time to fix, eat, and clean up. Heading to the cupboard where i kept several boxes of cereal and opened it to find emptiness except for a plastic spoon that somehow made it's way in there.

Turning away I reached for one of the many different loaves of bread and choosing one of the potato variety that I keep on hand and wondered what toppings would grace my sandwich tonight. After toasting my bread, I searched the fridge finding an almost empty squeeze jar of mayo( just enough for both slices) a packet of pepper jack cheese( my favorite) a small jar of pickle juice ( with one lone pickle slice), a small tomato, a small bag of raw spinach leaves( just enough) and a hard dry salami sausage.

Moving my booty over to a counter, I pulled out a cutting board and one of my favorite knives to slice up the tomato and then the salami. Music playing in the background as I first scooped up then slathered the mayo across both toasted slices of bread then added the spinach leaves along with the slices of tomato and the one pickle slice.

Stopping there, i thought needs something before reaching for the salt and pepper shakers, adding a sprinkle of salt and several liberal dashes of pepper before putting them away. Then reaching for the cheese, placing one slice on top of the seasoned mess before adding the salami slices then the last slice of cheese and bread.

After smashing the sandwich together, I grabbed my knife and sliced it in half before hunting up a forgotten bag of chips. Placing both on a paper plate and setting it aside to start on my cleanup. The knife, and cutting board were quickly washed and put away , counter tops wiped down and dried. My sandwich calling to me as i pulled out one of the chilled bottles of seltzer water and setting it on the table beside the remote.

The rarely used television replacing the soothing sounds of the soft music as i picked up one half of my sandwich and said my blessings. Taking a bite letting the different flavors of each ingredient meld in my mouth, my thoughts elsewhere half on the background show and mostly on the story. Thoughts of the new predicament that the new girl gets in to permeated my brain as I slowly ate my dinner then washing it down with sips of my berry flavored water.

Midway through putting thoughts of the story aside as i nibbled on my chips and ate my sammie. Looking down and realizing that more than three quarters had been eaten before i paused my show and reflected on my eating habits. Sandwiches and cereal are not considered to be what adults should eat but for a distracted writer, we don't care unless it is filling..... so i laughed and stuffed the last bit of my sammie into my mouth chewing carefully before wiping my hands off to finish my water.

Tummy full, I waited till the end of the show before welcoming the soft soothing music that helped pull me back into the world that i was crafting with my words and visions.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Kia T Cooper-Erbst

Writer, poet, author. submissive. Mom of three wonderful human beings. These are the first things that come to mind when I think of myself besides being the obvious.... which is daughter, wife,etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.