Fiction logo

The Platinum and Diamond Whistle

A whistleblower finds new meaning after a brush with death.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photograph by: Wicker Paradise

The luster of the statuette intrigued the viewer. It’s opulent design of mostly platinum and six carat diamonds stood out at the Mercier Hotel in Wilmington, Delaware. The recipient of this year’s Whistleblower of the Year Award went to Yeller Epps. He stood at the podium as the audience used stainless steel whistles without hand clapping or cheers.

“I’d like to thank anyone but God for this award. I just found some serious lapses in the ethics of the company Ustix I worked for just a few months ago. They wanted me to be selfless, sacrificial, unselfish, and altruistic. I abhor all of these traits. The moment they tried to include these ugly notions in the website copy, I had to call this. While it is completely unsavory for a corporation to include these ideals, it is completely legal. What is not legal is their intrusion into the private backgrounds of hundreds of employees and users. I had to speak out. It’s what animates me, and I am appreciative of this award. Thank you,” Epps said.

As he stepped down from the stage, someone rushed him and stabbed him in the chest with a poison-tipped pen. The security subdued the assailant, and Epps found himself in an ambulance, his life slipping away.

The attacker was arrested and discovered to be a nihilist who supported Ustix’s practices. Ralph Nottingham was charged with attempted murder as Epps lay in hishospital bed days later. He’d finally regained consciousness, and was strong enough to speak.

His wife, Claudette inched closer to him.

“If you can’t talk, Yel’, don’t force it.”

“It’s okay. I have to represent those who were targeted for doing the right thing.”

The Daily Delaware covered Epps’ recovery. The toxins had reached his extremities, and rendered him temporarily paralyzed, but he could still speak his mind.

Journalist Karre Jenley asked, “I understand you are moments away from rehabilitation, but may I ask a few questions?”

Epps cleared his throat, and spoke slowly.

“I’m ready for your questions.”

“Ustix is prepared to pay for your hospital bills. What is your position on this?”

“I will prohibit the company from providing any sort of comfort for me. They’ve done enough damage.”

“What do you think of your attacker, Nottingham? Do you forgive him?”

“I don’t forgive those who don’t deserve it. That’s part of the practices Ustix wanted to mandate. I do not approve of absolving my enemies. I hate him, objectively. I could never love him.”

“How do you feel about the people who are lined up to support you? The ones who advocated for you to win this award?”

“I am fortunate enough to keep going. I am neither blessed, nor lucky. I know my actions did not warrant my current condition, but it’s one of the risks of telling the truth. In a world full of lies and falsehoods, someone has to stand up to injustice. It just happened to be me. Now, what happened shouldn’t discourage others from speaking out against corruption. In fact, they should be emboldened, because as long as I’m alive, they will have an ally.”

“Final question. What will you do from here assuming you make a full recovery?”

“Once I get back to full power, I will speak, speak, and speak some more. I will spread the ideals of reason and selfishness. This world definitely needs a bandage. More than the medical care I may need, the citizens of America, and the world, ought to realize the way to a better world is for each individual to live rationally self-interested lives.”

“Thank you. Get better,” Jenley replied.

“Thanks.”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

Cash App: $SkylerSaunders1

PayPal: paypal.me/SkylerSaunders

Join Skyler’s 100 Club by contributing $100 a month to the page. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.