Fiction logo

The One

If only you knew.

By AlexPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I always knew this day would come.

Samantha.

I watch her as she walks down the aisle. She looks beautiful, as always. She's holding a bouquet of white roses, they've always been her favourite. She's clutching the bouquet as she tries to contain her excitement. Everything about her is stunning. The way her hair sits right on her shoulders. The lace of the dress wrapping her arms so delicately. The bottom of her dress dragging along the wooden floor behind her.

She already had her wedding planned in high school. She loved the idea of marriage. After seeing her sister get married, she claimed it was the most magical thing she'd ever seen.

Everything's turned out the way she had expected. Church, dream dress, favourite song, and of course the love of her life.

Her birthday party was something I'd never forget. I remember seeing the biggest smile on her face, followed by tears as she nodded frantically, saying the word "yes" over and over. She would always talk about that day, how it was the best birthday present she had ever received.

I first met her in high school. Art class, to be specific. I tried painting a bird and it turned out terrible, but she told me it was amazing. She showed me her painting of a cat. It was also terrible, but I told her it was amazing. We both laughed and didn't believe each other. We talked about everything during those art classes.

That was when I knew that I was in love with her.

Nothing was ever complicated, we agreed on almost everything. We never told any lies, everything was always the straight truth. Trust was everything to her, it still is. She showed me that I could trust her and I did the same. That trust has never been broken, maybe a little bent and twisted, but never broken.

My love for her only grew as we got older, and it continues to grow. Watching her walk towards the front of the church makes my stomach flip. I love seeing her happy, it makes me happy.

I look out into the crowd of guests, their heads turned to look at the beautiful bride. I notice her mum quickly wipe away a tear that escaped her eye. Samantha's family life got a bit complicated after we graduated high school. Her mum found out she was pregnant, she wanted to keep the baby but Samantha's dad did not. They argued about it for weeks until they settled on getting a divorce.

She ended up having a miscarriage.

Samantha wanted to hate her dad, but she loved him too much. She didn't talk to him anymore after the divorce. I wonder if he even knows she's getting married.

She's had a hard life but she knows how to make the best of it. So much positivity almost makes me sick, but without it I wouldn't be here.

I watch as she walks up the two steps, she smiles at me. It all seems to stop for a moment. I know everything about her, and I love every bit of it. I wish she knew how much I loved her.

Time comes back as she walks past me and stands in front of her future husband.

I glance down at my light pink bridesmaid dress, wishing I was the one in the tuxedo. The one who put the ring on her finger at her birthday party. The one she wakes up to every morning. The one who makes her smile.

I wish I was the person she loved.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.