Fiction logo

The Old Lighthouse

Juno West Series #5: Death By Chocolate

By Nettie BPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Online Art Gallery: www.nbphotoart.net

He stands out in front of my car arms spread out, a smile wide across his face, "well?" He asks. "Are you impressed or are you really impressed?" Then turns and looks up at the building behind him.

I shake my head slightly and look beyond him at the tall building behind him that resembles a rocket on its launch pad. An abandoned lighthouse, once white as snow, is now grey with paint peeling on all sides. The ocean waves crash against the rocks below and tall sprays hit the side of the lighthouse. He turns back towards me, "Juno?"

My eyes drift down to meet his, "Dave?"

He shrugs his shoulders slightly as if asking, "well?"

I nod, "okay. I'm impressed."

"I knew you would be. Come on, I can't wait for you to see the inside." He turns and begins walking towards the entrance.

Diego lets out a low bark and looks up at me, I look down at him and shrug. What can I say, the man still charms me. I adjust the camera around my neck and begin taking a few shots before walking up to the entrance. Dark, thick clouds are starting to form on the horizon, the rainy season in Oregon, I should have known he would have us here in a setting like this. The bite in the air tells me Fall is coming.

There is a slight climb up a hill to the main entrance of the lighthouse which was also the living quarters for the lighthouse keepers. At one time, this was the only building within a seventy-five-mile radius. It has since been filled with coastal homes but the locals have kept this peninsula free from builders and are working on making it a historical site. David was able to get us in to see it before construction began to restore it.

He is leaning against the frame waiting patiently for Diego and me to catch up. I pause for a moment and take in the image, even now, I still can't help but be attracted to him. How things change so quickly. Our eyes meet and a half-smile slowly forms on his face, he can still read me like a book.

I let out a sigh and continue walking up towards him and stop short in front of him. "So, there is a history here."

I roll my eyes, "of course there is."

Diego gives a howl and bark mix and we both laugh, "I think he's saying get to the point."

Dave chuckles, "well, soon enough. But first, do you hear it?"

I frown, look around, and ask, "here what?"

He leans in and lowers his voice, "the song."

I purse my lips and squint my eyes, "are you making fun?"

He leans back, "no, I'm just asking."

"No. I don't hear it."

He nods, "good because I want to try something. Before I tell you about the place I want you to go in, look around, and take photos, then let me know if and when you hear it."

I raise an eyebrow at him. He tilts his head slightly, "trust me." He turns in and extends his arm, motioning me to go first. I look down at Diego who looks up at me, for a moment I hesitate, but finally, let my curiosity lead the way.

We step in and the entrance is small and tight, a stove off to the right for heating, hooks on the wall in front, and an entranceway off to the left. I lift my camera and begin taking photos. A creak of the floor startles me and I look over to see Diego is ready to move on to the next room, Dave motions me to continue.

I follow in and we're in a sitting area, a fireplace, and a couple of old chairs, with a small table between them. Dust and mold tickle my nose, paint is peeling from the walls, the floor is uneven and the windows are covered with dust, dirt, and cobwebs. Water damage shows in the corners of the walls. I snap a few more photos and turn to see another entrance off to our right.

Diego continues to lead into the next room and as I step over the threshold I hear the beginning notes and the voice quickly follows, "Welcome To The Hotel California. Such A Lovely Place."

"I hear it," I whisper. Dave quickly comes up behind me, "okay. I'm right here, keep going and let me know if you see, hear, or feel anything."

I look back at him, our eyes lock, I hesitate for a moment as my body begins to tremble slightly. The energy is changing, the past is waking up I can feel it rumble through my body. I nod slightly before turning back and taking a step inside the next room. A kitchen.

In the middle of the room is a small table with two chairs. White cabinets along the floor and ceiling fill the room, making it feel even smaller. A farmhouse sink filled with rust sits underneath another dusty window. A gas stove is off to the right with a coffee pot still sitting on one of its burners. The uneven floor is even more acute than in the living room. I take a shaky breath, lift the camera, and begin taking photos.

I position myself to capture the table with the stove in the background and when I look through the lens I notice something on the table. I frown slightly and pull the camera down, nothing. I raise it again and the objects reappear. The image is a bit fuzzy and I adjust the lens to make it clearer, it is a chocolate cake in the middle of the table.

I adjust the lens again and two plates appear in front of the chairs sitting opposite of each other, one is clean and empty, and the other has a slice of chocolate cake on it. A fork lies on the plate next to it and a large bite has been taken out of it. I drop the camera and step back.

"What?! What did you see?"

I try to wet my dry throat, blinking my eyes several times before answering. "There are two plates and chocolate cake on the table, but only when I look through the camera. And this one," I point to the left chair, "has a slice on it with a bite taken out of it. The other one is empty."

Dave smiles and walks over to me, "it's part of the history."

I look up at him, Diego walks over and nudges him slightly, he reaches down and pats him on the head. "A husband and wife used to work this lighthouse when it was active. The wife's sister came for a visit and during her visit, she and the husband had an affair. It is believed that the wife walked in on them, without their knowledge, and after she left she made her husband his favorite dessert."

"Chocolate cake," I whisper.

"With just a smidgen of a secret ingredient."

I close my eyes and shake my head slightly. "She served him up a slice of chocolate cake and he died after the first big bite. He was found days later by a routine check-in from the coast guard."

I open my eyes, "and the wife?"

He shrugs, "gone. Years later people claim to see her walk out of the main entrance and towards the rocky edge, disappearing over the side."

I shake my head slightly before continuing throughout the lighthouse, taking photos as I go. Once I'm done, we step outside and walk back to the car, lean up against it and face the lighthouse. "You've always had the gift Juno but now you have a tell."

"Must be the Gypsy blood that's in me."

He smiles, "must be." Then takes my hand in his and raises it to his lips. I look over at him, our eyes hold each other for a moment.

"So, now what?" I ask.

He lowers my hand and smiles, "we see what the spirits have to say."

I look back to the lighthouse, "are we the new Ghost Adventures because I have to say, I'm not a fan of their dramatic reactions."

He leans his head back and laughs, "good because I'd hate to lose you to the leader."

I smile and shake my head. "How about Spirit Advocators? Speaking up for those who can no longer speak."

A slow smile forms on my face and I look back at him, "I can do that."

***Enjoying Juno West? Send me a gift below to support my Juno West Paranormal Adventures Series.***

Series
2

About the Creator

Nettie B

Welcome! Thanks for stopping by, if you like my posts, show your support with a tip, pledge, or subscribe. Also, check out my website at www.ko-fi.com/nbphotoart for more of my photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.