Fiction logo

The New Fantastic Reality

The Modern Age of Dragons

By Stephanie BuchmanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The New Fantastic Reality
Photo by Almos Bechtold on Unsplash

There weren’t always dragons in the Valley. Heck, there didn’t used to be dragons anywhere at all! It was all just fairytales and mythology, until now as I stand at my bedroom window staring at one looking in at me.

You know how when computers freeze up or are just not working properly they have to be restarted to fix it. Well, that’s what my brain was doing as I could not process what I was looking at. A dragon outside my window…WHAT!!!

When my brain started to function again I then had to use all of my will power not to freak out. They always say don’t make any sudden movements with wild animals, so I was trying to stay as still as I possibly could. The last thing that anyone would want to do is attract the attention of a predator, let alone a dragon. But what does one do when said dragon is already looking right at you.

As I was staring back at this thing out of a storybook one question popped into my mind. “Why has it not tried to kill me yet?” Then I noticed that it was actually laying down in my yard and it looked like it was trying not to hurt anything. That can’t be right, dragons are supposed to be mindlessly destructive. Right?

I then noticed its coloration. Its scales where a striking white that reminded me of shimmering pearls and its horns were the color of brass. That was unusual and quite beautiful. Oh Jeez Agnes, get a grip, I thought to myself, there is a DRAGON IN YOUR BACKYARD!

At that moment I heard a yelp from one of my neighbors and a door slam. The dragon turned its head to look in the direction of the sound. Oh no, I thought, and before I could stop myself I opened the window and yelled at the dragon. It swung its head back round towards me.

You’re probably wondering why I would do that. Well, I couldn’t just let my neighbor get trapped too. I hope they have enough sense to use the opportunity to escape.

As the dragon was looking at me again it tilted its head to one side like a confused dog would. It was strange, the more I stared at this dragon the calmer and more at ease I was getting. What was wrong with me?

I then heard faint sirens in the distance, the police were coming. Someone, or maybe a lot of someones, called them, but I have no idea what the police could do about this situation. I mean its a freaking dragon! I doubt shooting it would do any good.

The dragon heard the sirens at the same time I did and it started to get up. It was stepping very gingerly around my yard and started to climb on top of my house. I started to pray that the house wouldn’t collapse under its weight.

The sound of giant wings flapping filled the house and I realized that it was using my house as a platform to take off from. It seemed to have successfully taken off as the sound of beating wings faded.

I ran outside and saw that the dragon was flying towards the mountains, but that wasn’t the only thing I saw. It wasn’t the only dragon in the Valley and that they all seemed to be flying for the same mountains. They were coming up from everywhere in the Valley.

My legs finally gave out and I collapsed in my front yard. I was trembling from head to toe and feeling very dizzy. I wasn’t sure if I was going to throw up or pass out, but there was one feeling I had that I was very confident about. That dragon was going to come to me again and there was nothing I could do to escape it.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Stephanie Buchman

Hi, so I’m fairly new to this community. I am an amateur writer and I want to get better at it. I want to be able to get the stories in my head out there. I welcome any constructive feedback on any of my work. I would greatly appreciate it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Stephanie Buchman is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.