Fiction logo

The Mysterious Fog

I wait....

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

January 28th

My white silk gown turned crimson red as I ran through the dark, moonless woods frantically searching for a way out. In the distance I could see a warm and inviting light, I ran toward it. I could see a man kneeled on the ground within the warmth, somehow, I knew that he was waiting there for me. I knew that I was dying and only this stranger could save me. As I approached the glimmering light, I reached for him as I fell helplessly to the cool, numbing ground. “Help me” I whispered with my last and final breath. He vanished before me, the light faded and the warmth eluded me. I sank deeper and deeper into the twilight shadows until there was only darkness.

I began writing down the details of the dream before they evaded my memory. As I peered from the window, I could see that the dense fog had still not lifted. It had been like this for weeks, day and night the sweeping fog lingered. I could see no further than the window sill in front of me. A shiver made its way down my spine. I had felt ill and unwell ever since the fog arrived.

As I walked through the somber, quiet house I wondered where my family had gone. I feared that they were lost in the fog, unable to find their way. I placed candles in each window in hopes that the light would guide them home.

March 29th

Months have now passed and the fog still surrounds me. I have lost all sense of time as I am unable to tell if it is day or night. I mark the days off on the calendar as it is my only direction. I tried to go outside but the fog was overwhelming. The dense mist sent shards of ice through my veins, the sensation was painful and agonizing. I am trapped within the walls of this house.

I am unable to go outside and search for my loved ones. It feels as if the fog has life within it, a force that is holding me inside of this house. I decided to search the pantry for supplies, I cannot remember the last time that I ate a warm meal. I have no appetite, yet surely, I am sustaining myself somehow. Is my memory failing? Why can’t I remember yesterday? I flip through the pages of my journal; I see the written words yet they are foreign to me. I fear that my loved ones are dead, consumed by the fog.

I found a suspicious package wrapped in brown paper. The wrapping is brittle and frail, it appears to be old and long-lived. It is sealed with tape and dried flowers. Where did it come from? I can’t remember ever seeing it before. I felt as if the package was calling to me in an unexplainable, haunting way that I was unable to comprehend.

As I traced my fingers across the delicate string wrapped around it, an ominous feeling of dread swept through my body. I slowly tore away the frangible paper revealing a photograph. It was a photograph of me. My body was submerged in water, just beneath the surface. I appear peaceful and serene beneath the tranquil water. I am dead. I struggle to catch my breath as reality sinks in. I stare at the image in my trembling hand. My loved ones are not lost within the fog, I am the one who is misplaced and missing.

I fixate on the rolling fog which is my tomb. I am forever trapped within this house, lost, cold, and alone. I wait here for the day when my family joins me in the hazy mist. Will there be light? Will there be warmth? I mournfully extinguish the candles waiting hopefully in the window sills. I know now that their incandescent light will not lead them home to me; only time can bring about their destiny. I wait.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.