Fiction logo

The mountain at the end of the world.

They ran down the mountain in fear, they didn't want to leave the place they had made home. Trent and Zed had already lost enough.

By Jessica JoycePublished 2 years ago 10 min read
1

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. Were the words I was screaming in my head, I was trying to scream out loud, but no words were coming out.

These were the first words that Luna read in the dairy she found. It was wedged under a rock, near the lake side. It had the name Trent Elrod engraved into the front cover. Her eyes narrowed. Luna knew it was none of her business, and she shouldn't continue reading another person's persnal journal, but she couldn’t help but open the dairy and start reading random pages- She continues reading……

Diary 27/11/1982

I was being shaken, hard. to hard! I could heard the words ‘Wake up Trent, wake up now” There was fear in his voice. I opened my eyes to discover Zed standing right above me. I still haven’t woken enough from my slumber to piece together what was happening. I closed my eyes and shook my head partially in denial and the other part was to wake myself up. Zed was still holding my shoulders and gave one last hard shake.

“Trent, we have to go” Zed repeated one more time.

“Okay okay” I said, as I scrambled to my feet in one swift movement. I could see the panic in Zeds face and realized it was urgent, we had to go... and now!

I realized it was a dream about not being able to scream. I don’t know why I keep dreaming this ridiculous dream over and over. Maybe it was just feeling like I have no say over being in this place. I miss home. I guess the vacuum of space reference was just my brain trying to process the fact that other life form exists.

looking around in a panic I grabbed the backpack, the only thing I own and threw it over my right shoulder. Together, Zed and I started to run down the large green mountain, the place we had called home for the last four months. I didn’t want to leave here….

The mountain was steep and, with sharp ridged rocks. Zed was a few steps ahead of me, when he went tumbling over, he slipped on the lose gravely dirt and rocks beneath his feet. He rolled for a meter or so by the time I got to him, and almost tripped over him myself. They were both lucky enough not to do any damage as Trent lent down to help his younger brother back on his feet.

Breathless I asked if he was okay- to which he nodded and we continued down the mountain, Zed holding his right shoulder, obviously in pain. I knew we needed a safe place to hide for the meantime for us to catch our breath. “To the Cave”, I demanded. I knew it was the only immediate safety haven.

Luna looked up in shock, as she slammed the book shut. Who were these boys? Why was Trent’s dairy out here? And what were they running from? Luna had so many questions and knew she must continue reading, but it was getting dark, and she needed to get back to the ship. Luna had been out here for a few weeks; she had found shelter in an old space wreck. She decided to grab the dairy and bring it with her. When back at her site, she lit a fire and cooked small crap that she had found under the rocks, near the lake. After her meal of crab and selection of dandelion and pennycres, she packed away her rock that she used as a plate, cleaned her hands as best she could, then sat back down near the fire. Luna grabbed the diary and continued reading.

Story continues....

They continued down the mountain where they found the safety of a cave, in the side of the mountain. The boys were lucky enough to know the area well as they had explored their surroundings, it was kind of a requirement, since they had made it home for the past 4 months. The cave was protected by sharp rocks and many shrubs and a large tree, but the main hiding factor was a huge boulder. Zed had found it accidentally one day while examining the area. They had already pre noted where the cave was, in case of emergency. In which case, had finally presented itself.

They both flung down to the ground and started crawling into the small opening of the cave. Luck was on their side as from the outside unless you knew where to look, you couldn’t see there was the cave.

Diary- 28/11/1982

We found solitude in the cave, trying to escape the new species we encountered last night. Choosing not to light a fire, even in the cave because we feared them finding us. It was cold and we needed to hug for body warmth. One of the worst nights we’ve had here. I still felt lucky that the cave is out of sight to the human eye, so for now we are safe.

Story

The cave was mostly dark and misty, though enough light shone through a small hole at the top of the cave for them to see enough to have a quick look for safety. There was nothing else in the cave, that they could see. They could clearly see a tunnel that led further into the mountain but didn’t know how far it went. They weren’t about to go exploring either.

Trent looked over at Zed, then asked

“What did you see, Zed?... That was INSANE”

Zed, looking terrified and clearly full of adrenaline looked up at Trent. Still holding his shoulder, he winced in pain when he replied. “I don’t know what there one’s were Trent, but they were different.” Trent’s eyes widened, what could possibly be worse Zed?

Diary-

We've seen many things since being in this place, ranging from animals with two heads and out of place features- The worst probably being a huge mountain lion with its mouth and gaping teeth on top of a head, with big saggy infected eyes popping out underneath the mouth. Nothing made sense here, clearly something had affected, what was left of the planet and we don’t know if it would eventually affect us too. we have nowhere else to go. Our ship crashed into the side of the mountain when trying to escape the universal war.

Luna; She couldn’t believe what she was reading… Luna looked up in shock, as she slammed the book shut. It couldn’t possibly be the same shipwreck that she had found and using for safety. There’s just no way. Luna felt sic and decided that was enough of Trent’s diary for this day. She pulled her jacket up nice and tight as she looked through the broken window, wondering what had happened here. What was the story of this ship and this place?

Their home village was burnt to a crisp in a matter of minutes. Everything they knew was gone. Their parents had died in the fire, while trying to run for safety when they see the Alien ship come overhead, but they just didn’t have enough time.

The boys had been on the edge of the village, looking for wood for their fire. Their grand pa had managed to make it out because he was already on the outskirts of town. He was a scientist, so was often plotting around, doing something unusual. Many people judged and if the boys were being completely honest, they were sometimes embarrassed of their crazy grandpa. But in the moment of finding him they were relived. Their grandpa took them deep into the woods and shown them the huge flying ship he had been building for months, in secret.

They didn’t know how he knew, but he’s known all along that they were coming. Grandpa hadn’t survived the ship crashing into the side of the mountain, in their great escape. The two brothers truly wished that they had listened to that crazy old man, because he knew a lot. Now they were alone, with a crashed ship and a backpack of basic things to survive in the wilderness. Lucky Grandpa knew or they would have died along with everyone else in the village.

So that’s the story of how the boys got here, on the mountain and now hiding in the cave, but there’s so much more to tell.

-The day we crashed- 27/07/1982

Written by Zed

I know this is Trent’s diary, I just need to write it down.

I woke up first, there was hazy smoke surrounding us. I didn’t even realize what had happened or where he was when I woke up. Looking around- I could see Trent was outside the ship, he had been flung through the window, and lay motionless on the dirt floor. I looked over to the left and there was grandpa. It was obvious he was dead and had been for a while. His grey hair was the only thing moving in the breeze that was coming in through the smashed window.

I took a big gasp, the shock was all too much, I tried standing, but was so weak.

My head was thudding as blood ran down my face and the side of my neck.

Falling in and out of consciousness for what would have been about an hour until finally I was able to sit up straight.

Crawling out of the ship, I fell to the ground, then managed to crawl over to Trend, who lay on the ground covered in dust. My heart was in my chest. “Was he dead?” was all I could think. I needed my brother.

I slapped his motionless body and screamed for him to wake up “Trent’ Trent wake up”. I need you, please don’t leave me” I begged.

Trent did eventually wake, he groaned first and coughed loudly. I had been laying next to Trent for a couple of hours I screamed out loud as warm tears started to fall from my face. My brother was alive and nothing else mattered.

I wasn’t completely alone in this world or the next. Of course, I threw his arms around Trent, who still wasn’t completely alert yet. Trent opened his eyes looked up at me, all he could mutter was “Grand pa?”. I knew what he meant and simply shook my head. Trent understood and looked down towards the ground. There wasn’t a lot to say.

After a couple of hours Trent was able to get up with support. We needed to find somewhere to sleep, with about an hour till it got dark. helping him get up, amazingly Trent didn’t have any broken bones. I don’t know how but his head and face were all bruised up. We still needed rest. Finding safety under some bushy trees until morning, at least.

It had been a few days since Luna had opened the diary. She had been too nervous to find out what was to come, as she read the pages tears pored down her face. The fear that Zed must have felt thinking he may have lost his brother and knowing his grandpa was already gone. Knowing their parents and entire village were obliterated and they didn’t get a chance to say goodbye. Luna finally understands what happened to the window in the ship. Trent, the beloved owner of the dairy had gone straight threw it, when they crashed. She cried of happiness that he was still alive. Luna wanted to know more…… She felt guilt of reading their personal feelings, experiences, fears and heartbreaks... but for some reason she couldn't stop.

Luna turned the page with anticipation, when she realized that the past few pages were missing. It looked like they had been ripped out.. Was she ever going to find out what happened to those boys, what they were running form, or why Trent's diary was down near the lake tha day.

To be continued............

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Jessica Joyce

Always happy for constructive criticism and advice. Please comment what you think :)

I'm new to writing and am enjoying the journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Great story, you area a skilled writer. Had fun reading this story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.