Fiction logo

The micro fiction near miss

I sincerely apologise for what is to come, but I couldn't help myself

By Phil FlanneryPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
8
The micro fiction near miss
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The other day I walked into a bar; my shin still hurts. I noticed a horse serving behind the counter and asked. “Why the long face?” He said, “this piece of string was in earlier trying to buy a drink, and though I told him no, over and over, he kept coming back. The last time he came to me all tied up and frizzled and I just gave up and served him.”

I asked the horse what he ordered. He hung his big sad head and told me his tale. “The string asked for a flaming shot of vodka. In his excitement, he threw it down, lit himself on fire and in a flash, went up like a sparkler. We only just cleaned up all the water, after the sprinklers went off.”

I haven’t had a drink since.

If I have offended any horse lovers or those who have recently lost a treasured bit of twine, I am so very sorry.

Humor
8

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Gave me a chuckle, thank you!

  • Love it! Just what I needed tonight! :) PS ... thanks for subscribing!

  • Lilly Cooper11 months ago

    This is my kind of humour! 😆 I love it!

  • Omg❗Great Writing 📝 ❤️‍🔥😉

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Yes! More puns!

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Sup Aussie Bud ~ I'll drink to this! Jay

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This is spectacular...just so funny from start to finish. Love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.