Fiction logo

The Last Drops

Fictional Story

By AntiqueDollyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
The Last Drops
Photo by Ergita Sela on Unsplash

The color red always was my favorite, not for the fact of love which everyone associated it with but due to the fact of passion in all senses. You know what they say about men, beasts programmed to hunt and provide, red is a fitting color. When I met you, you could say I was on the hunt for the perfect woman. You stood out in a crowd, petite with fine curves and a dazzling smile. Your laugh filled the room with an upbeat sound that was contagious amongst your friends. I couldn’t hold back from introducing myself, I approached you right away; maybe my intentions were clear because of how direct I was? I extended a hand out in your direction put on my own best smile and tried to hold a conversation with you. You had a charming view on the simple things in life, you loved art and music and a good glass of rum in the morning (you had an excellent sense of humor.) It wasn’t challenging in the least to get along with you so I made it a point to shower you with affections to win you over.

It seemed I had my own sense of charm I was unaware of because in time you return my affection with your own. We would snuggle close together in the nights watching some action movie about robots taking over the world or kung fu fighters. In the daytime we’d share lunch and you’d talk about visiting some museums or concerts. I loved you with all of my being, and still do to this day. Our life was simple, we just learned about each other over time I liked not having to explain everything to you. We both just moved along with the flow of the wind like two lovebirds in an endless flight.

A letter came in the mail one afternoon when you were out buying some instrument. I read over it though it was addressed to you. It stated that your mother had passed away, and you were formally given an invite to attend. I mulled over how heartbroken you would be. I even at one point in time debated if I wanted to show you the letter. As I held these thoughts to myself, you entered the room behind me covering my eyes with your hands. “Guess who?” You playfully hummed. I just moved your hands, the moment to tell you of the letter had come. Slowly I handed the thin piece of paper over to you and waited. Those beautiful sky blue eyes softened at the words on the page. You put the piece of paper down “I won’t go.” You suddenly announced in a strong defiant voice I had never heard from you. “Why?” It was the first I ever questioned you.

You didn’t reply, at the time I was clueless your silence intrigued me. I had to know more about why you didn’t seem upset or panicked so I pressed the matter you just grew defensive and retreated back to the room. Three days of silence fell over the house as I was held up on this one letter and you just couldn’t find give me the answers I wanted to hear. Being stubborn I decided to sneak about to figure out where the location of the funeral was to be held when I figured it out all that was left to do was take you there.

It wasn’t a good idea, I know now to have tricked you into going but I thought at the time it would be for the best. Who doesn’t visit their parents? I told you we were going on a date, but when we got to the location it was beyond my understanding. A grand mansion lay in front of us at the time, and I saw fear in your eyes. You gave no sweet laugh like the day I met you no instead you quickly threw a punch at my shoulder. “WHY ARE WE HERE!?” Such a strong voice again but it was shaky. I pulled you into my arms trying to comfort and convince you it was a good thing we were here. Skeptical as you were you followed me inside and I met your parents for the first time…. both of them who were alive and well.

Seeing as how we never asked any questions of our lives in details we only learned things going with the flow I had no clue about the personalities of your parents. I also never learned much of anything of your past. You had lived a very luxurious life in the past and your parents weren’t fond of where you ended up. It made sense to me now why you had chosen to be so defiant about returning home. It was already too late to return to our own home. “I see this was all just a clever ploy to get me home, however I am not staying. As you can tell I have better things and people to associate with.” Your beautiful eyes looked in my direction; you had a lot of courage, I was completely at a loss.

Your parents just smugly looked me over and then laughed in our direction. “Dear do you think we will truly accept this?” She pointed to the entrance of where we were standing behind us was a man in fine clothes wielding a sword. “This is your fiancé; this is the man you will love.” Your father threw a sword in my direction. “If you want our blessing stranger duel him.” I never thought I would be in this situation but here I was fighting for my life and my future with you. The “fiancé” was fierce, he was passionate. The inner beast in me kicked in, I couldn’t lose this even if I was inexperienced I had passion as well. We locked blades; slicing back and forth it was like one of those strange movies the two of us always watched at night with the action. Your eyes were focused solely on me. I was lost in the fight, and when it was over all I could see was redness an ocean of crimson drops. We had both dealt final blows; I heard your soft whimpers and felt your warmth in the ocean of crimson. “Darling we will make it through this, just hold on to me.” I closed my eyes and felt a smile across my lips; red always was my favorite color.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

AntiqueDolly

Photo was drawn of my OC from Gaia Online by User -Picatin

I am just here to enjoy stories, and maybe introduce my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.