Fiction logo

The Haunted Reflection

When Reality is Not What It Seems

By Manisha GargPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was as if I was looking at a different version of myself, one with sinister eyes and a twisted smile. My heart skipped a beat as I realized something was off, and the feeling of unease in the pit of my stomach only grew stronger. I couldn't look away from the mirror, even though I wanted to. It was as if the reflection was calling to me, tempting me to step through the glass and into its world.

I had always known that the antique mirror in my room was haunted, but I had never imagined that it would reveal an alternate reality. I had bought it at an estate sale a few months ago, and ever since then, strange things had been happening in my apartment. Doors would open and close on their own, and I would often hear footsteps in the hallway, even when I was alone. I had tried to ignore these occurrences, dismissing them as my imagination, but now I knew that something was truly amiss.

As I stared at the reflection, I noticed that the room behind me was different. The furniture was arranged in a different way, and the walls were painted a deep shade of red. I couldn't see any details beyond what was visible in the reflection, but I could feel that the atmosphere in the other room was dark and foreboding.

I took a step back, trying to distance myself from the mirror, but the reflection followed me. It was as if the mirror was a portal to another dimension, and the other me was trying to come through.

I tried to shake off the feeling of dread that was building inside me and turned away from the mirror. As I did so, I caught a glimpse of movement out of the corner of my eye. When I looked back at the mirror, I saw that the reflection was now moving on its own. The other me was beckoning to me, gesturing for me to come closer.

I took a deep breath and tried to rationalize what was happening. Perhaps I was just tired, and my mind was playing tricks on me. But I knew deep down that this was not the case. Something was trying to reach out to me from the other side of the mirror, and I didn't know if I was ready to face it.

I backed away from the mirror, feeling a chill run down my spine. I had to get out of my apartment, away from the haunted mirror, and the strange alternate reality it had revealed.

As I left my apartment and walked down the street, I couldn't shake off the feeling of unease that had settled over me. I knew that I couldn't ignore what I had seen in the mirror, and that I had to find a way to confront it.

Over the next few days, I became increasingly obsessed with the haunted mirror. I spent hours researching the history of the antique and trying to find out if anyone had experienced similar phenomena. I came across a few accounts of people who had claimed to have seen alternate realities in mirrors, but most of them seemed far-fetched and unreliable.

I decided to take matters into my own hands and contacted a paranormal investigator. He agreed to come to my apartment and examine the mirror, but warned me that the process would not be easy.

When the investigator arrived, he set up his equipment and began to scan the mirror. As he worked, he explained to me that mirrors had always been associated with the supernatural, and that they were often used as portals between worlds.

After a few hours, the investigator finally came to a conclusion. "The mirror is definitely haunted," he said, "but it's not just a simple case of a ghost. There's something else going on here, something more sinister. It's as if the mirror is a gateway to another dimension, one that is bleeding into our world."

I swallowed hard, feeling a knot form in my stomach. "What can we do?" I asked.

The investigator looked at me gravely. "There's only one way to close the gateway," he said. "We have to go through it and confront whatever is on the other side."

My heart raced at the thought of stepping into the mirror, but I knew that it was the only way to put an end to the supernatural occurrences in my apartment.

The investigator and I stood in front of the mirror, holding hands. We took a deep breath and stepped forward, our bodies passing through the glass as if it wasn't there.

On the other side, we found ourselves in a world that was both familiar and foreign. The room that we had seen in the reflection was now before us, but it was darker, more sinister. The furniture was old and decrepit, and the walls were stained with blood.

We moved slowly, cautiously, as if we were walking through a minefield. We could feel eyes watching us from the shadows, and we knew that we were not alone.

As we reached the center of the room, we saw the source of the darkness. It was a figure, draped in shadow, with glowing red eyes. It was as if the darkness had taken physical form, and it was now standing before us.

The investigator raised his equipment, trying to capture the entity's presence. But it was too late. The darkness was already seeping into our world, bleeding into our reality.

As we tried to back away, we realized that we were trapped. The gateway had closed behind us, and we were now stranded in this alternate reality, with no way back.

Days turned into weeks, and weeks turned into months. We were stuck in this other world, constantly on the run from the darkness that pursued us. We had to stay one step ahead, never letting our guard down, always looking over our shoulders.

But we were not alone. There were others, like us, trapped in this world, fighting to survive. We banded together, forming a resistance, trying to find a way back home.

We discovered that the darkness was not just a force of evil, but a sentient being. It had its own agenda, its own plans. It wanted to spread its darkness to other worlds, to conquer and rule.

And so, we fought. We fought for our survival, for the survival of our world. We fought to keep the darkness at bay, to protect the ones we loved.

In the end, we succeeded. We found a way back home, back to our own reality. But we were changed, scarred by what we had seen and experienced.

The haunted mirror was destroyed, shattered into a million pieces. But the darkness remained, always lurking in the shadows, waiting for its chance to strike again.

And so, I live my life, always on the lookout, always wary. I know that the darkness is out there, waiting, watching. And I know that one day, it will come for me again.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Manisha Garg

I have completed Bachelor's degree in Mass Communication, Advertisement & Journalism. I have worked at different industries (media, pictures, and performing arts) across India.The common key factor is I have excellent communication skills.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.